We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”

Chesterfield Parish Church/Crooked Spire
Certificate of Excellence
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Standing there looking at the historical crooked spire was great, lovely church also. If you ever go it is well worth the walk

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGriffins3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    145
    22
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
233 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“what a treat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Having waited for some time to visit
Chesterfield and the 'Crooked Spire' church our only disappointment was the lack of visible 'staff' or anyone at all to ask about the tours and the history of this amazing church.
The church itself is rather lovely, warm atmosphere and some striking stained glass windows.
We would have purchased items at the 'shop' but,
again, no sign of anyone to help or ask.
Would we revisit? Absolutely!

k.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank OakwoodUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful inside & out parish church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

This church is amazing, the spire is worth a visit, I didn't go up the stairs but the view must be worth it! The stain glass windows are worth seeing you can feel the history inside this church.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristolian
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unexpected gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Attracted initially by the twisted spire which is clearly visible as you enter the town. The church is very attractive and interesting but the real gem is the tour of the tower which is a must-do fascinating experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anniemalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely little church spoilt by disinterest of volunteers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

An interesting church, just missed the tower tour which was apparently very good. Lots of smaller chapels within, some lovely Victorian windows. It was a shame that the volunteers were not friendly and informative, perhaps we caught them on an off day. We will return on, hopefully, a better day.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LincolnLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chesterfield Parish Church/Crooked Spire also viewed

Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to Chesterfield Parish Church/Crooked Spire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing