We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bank Holiday Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
GreenLeadersBronze level
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Bank Holiday Stay”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stayed here Easter Weekend for a night out in Chesterfield.On arrival we checked in and were given a voucher for the car park(to prove we were staying at the hotel).We were staying in room 207 & our friends in 205.The rooms were a very clean & a good size with a double bed & double sofa bed;small area to hang clothes,writing desk with TV(chanels,radio & mp3 plug in),internet is available(not WIFI),extra pillows & blankets were in the room;the bathroom was clean & bright,had a walk in shower,toilet,sink & and a great mirror.The only downside to the room was the lighting in the bedroom wasnt very bright(not good for applying make-up,but the bathroom mirror made up for it) & there was some noise coming from the busy dual-carriage way behind the hotel.The hotel is set with a busy roundabout infront & a dual carriage-way behind so i suppose some noise will be heard from any of the rooms,but it's less than a 5 minute walk into town for Shopping,Bars,Restaurants.I thought it was great that the automatic doors lock at night(to stop drunks wandering in i guess),you just swipe your key at the door and it opens.
All in all,great value for money & friendly staff!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheryl_jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISCHESTERFIELDCTR, General Manager at Ibis Chesterfield Centre, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Sheryl Jayne

Thank you for posting your thoughts on Trip Advisor, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Chesterfield Centre in the near future.

Kind regards,

Janet Cummings
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    309
    168
    63
    39
See reviews for
122
302
78
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I went to Chesterfield with my husband to visit family. We arrived at the hotel at about 9pm on the friday evening and were greeted by a friendly welcoming face at the front desk, who asked us about out journey then gave us a brief but informative run down of the facilitles.. We were given our key and went to our room, which was bright, clean and very comfortable. Cannot fault it in any way. The bed was wonderful and very comfortable.
Food is available 24 hours and as we arrived late it was nice to order a hot meal at the hotel rather than having to go find a restaurant.
We were situated at the rear of the hotel overlooking the bypass, but despite reviews about he traffic noise, it really wasn't that bad.
Breakfast was fine, a fair choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, and cooked breakfast with staff regularly bringing out fresh food.
We only stayed for two nights but will definitely return-excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Apparently rooms at the rear are supposed to be noisy but they do have triple glazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam_67_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISCHESTERFIELDCTR, General Manager at Ibis Chesterfield Centre, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Sam

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Ibis Chesterfield Centre I will pass your comments on to the team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Janet Cummings, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We had a night planned in Chesterfield and were going to spend £75 - 100 on a hotel. I'm really glad we didn't because the Ibis was £35 for the night and absolutely fine. The reception staff were really efficient and helpful (thanks especially for the marmite on toast!) and the room was light, well equipped and clean. Not spotless, but nothing to complain about. It's about a 5 minute walk in to the centre (over a busy roundabout so be careful!) and we also had a gorgeous meal at Lombardi's Italian (reviewed separately). I wouldn't stay here for a special occasion, but it was surprisingly good for the price, and I would happily go to another Ibis - maybe I was being a snob!!!

Room Tip: We had a room at the front which looks out on to the roundabout. The windows are double glazed so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISCHESTERFIELDCTR, Manager at Ibis Chesterfield Centre, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Janet Cummings
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Hotel ibis is very much a budget hotel except the prices don't reflect just how budget it is.

The room was big except there was no furniture. The tv and hairdryer did not work and the staff did not fix either despite saying they would.

Wouldn't recommend at all.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller10015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISCHESTERFIELDCTR, Manager at Ibis Chesterfield Centre, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Guest

I was sorry to learn that your stay on this occasion fell short of your expectations and I apologise for any discomfort or inconvenience caused. • Thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to my attention as guest feedback is invaluable to our efforts to continually improve the quality of our service. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Ibis in the future. Kind regards, Janet Cummings, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chesterfield hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesterfield hotels
6.5 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ibis Chesterfield North
#1 of 1 in Barlborough
539 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,372 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sandpiper Hotel
Sandpiper Hotel
#8 of 15 in Chesterfield
295 reviews
4.9 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
222 reviews
3.8 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Chesterfield Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Chesterfield Centre

Property: Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Address: Lordsmill Street, Chesterfield S41 7RW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Chesterfield Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Chesterfield is located a short walk from the town centre and just 500 m from the railway station. Numerous attractions are within close proximity including theatres, museums, bars and restaurants. Visit the stately Chatsworth House located 15 minutes drive from the hotel. Book one of our 86 rooms with all the necessary amenities and benefit from use of our 4 meeting rooms, free private parking and cafe concept bar open 24 hours. WiFi Internet access available in the lounge and in some rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Chesterfield Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Chesterfield Centre Hotel Chesterfield
Ibis Chesterfield Centre Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing