We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable value but not without issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
GreenLeadersBronze level
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Reasonable value but not without issues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Good points: good sized rooms, comfy beds and choice of pillows. Good and reasonably priced buffet breakfast.
Not so good: very annoying door keys which can need 20 scans or more before your room door will open. Car park can fill up mid week. Pathetic lift, with very intrusive "doors opening...doors closing" voices all night if your room is nearby. Soap container in shower left empty by maid all week. Low prices attract noisy louts at 3:00AM and smelly builders at breakfast. Noisy road location if you open your window (but double glazing effective if closed). Left luggage room tiny and they'd lost the keys when I returned. Lethal pedestrian access to town via busy roundabout/dual carriageway.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank dlight42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISCHESTERFIELDCTR, General Manager at Ibis Chesterfield Centre, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear dlight42,I am really sorry to hear that your stay at Ibis Chesterfied Centre wasn’t up to expectations. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating your points of concern. Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback as this will enable me to continually improve on the customer care service we provide.Kind regards, Janet Cummings General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    298
    161
    59
    38
See reviews for
117
287
77
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heckmondwike, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

The room was clean and tidy with everything you would need for your stay, Its only mintues walk from the town centre which is a bonus,the only problem was crossing the round on a large roundabout,we did have problems getting into our room, twice the key card didnt work, and it was annoying having to go up and down the stairs,has we could never get the lift with it been busy, we were told by the hotel staff that it happens all the time,but all in all a good value hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank happy469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISCHESTERFIELDCTR, General Manager at Ibis Chesterfield Centre, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear happy 469Thanks for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us at Ibis Chesterfield Centre and I hope to see you on your next trip. Kind regards, Janet Cummings, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Ok for an overnight stay for us. Room clean but very hot even when turned heating off, couldnt open window on a roundabout and noisy!
Staff fine not the most helpful but ok didnt stay for breakfast as was only a continental one offered.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poshpawsSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISCHESTERFIELDCTR, General Manager at Ibis Chesterfield Centre, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your thoughts on Tripadvisor, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Chesterfield Centre Kind regards, Janet Cummings, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen
Level Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

Great hotel very clean good value money my only gripe is that cant get drink at bar after midnight which is bizzare for a hotel in today's world overall good clean budget room in centre close to centre

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebeeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISCHESTERFIELDCTR, General Manager at Ibis Chesterfield Centre, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Mr Beeson, Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Chesterfield Centre. I look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Janet Cummings, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

I was in Chesterfield for 3 nights a family wedding. The hotel suited me very well and I found all the staff very pleasant and helpful. As I am in my late 70's it can be quite daunting staying on my own but in this case I had no worries. The breakfast was very adequate for my needs.

I also stayed for one night at the beginning of the month in another room. Unfortunately there was a lot of draught from the window, making the room very cold. i mentioned this at reception and they offered to move me. I declined as I'd already unpacked my bits and was only there 1 night. Once I pulled the curtains and turned up the heat I was warm. it did happen to be on one of the coldest days, I was given a different room the second time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISCHESTERFIELDCTR, General Manager at Ibis Chesterfield Centre, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Mary , Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Ibis Chesterfield Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Janet Cummings, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

This is my second stay at the Ibis in Chesterfield. Again I can't fault the service or the value. The man on reception upon arrival was very friendly and helpful, the check in process was fast and easy. The room did look a little more 'tired' than my last room here, however as before it was clean and had everything that you need for a night away. The best thing by far though is the bed, its so comfortable. I really did not want to get up in the morning :)
I will defiantly be booking here for my next trip to Chesterfield :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank jdogg76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISCHESTERFIELDCTR, General Manager at Ibis Chesterfield Centre, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Jdogg,Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Ibis Chesterfield Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Janet Cummings, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed here for one night as we were attending a wedding and just really wanted a room for the night. We got a great price and were stunned when we saw what we got for our money. Really stylish room which was anything but "budget" standard. Spotlessly clean and furnished to a very high standard with a very comfortable bed. We chose room only so I can't speak for the standard of the food but it was perfect for our needs and we would definitely choose Ibis again in the same circumstances. Our deal was cheaper than Travelodge but the hotel was far superior. Easy walking distance into town and plenty of parking at the hotel make it a perfect location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artisanSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISCHESTERFIELDCTR, General Manager at Ibis Chesterfield Centre, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear artisansheffield, Thank you for posting your thoughts on Tripadvisor, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Chesterfield Centre Kind regards, Janet Cummings, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesterfield hotels
6.5 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ibis Chesterfield North
#1 of 1 in Barlborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chesterfield North Hotel
3.1 mi away
Sandpiper Hotel
Sandpiper Hotel
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Chesterfield West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Chesterfield Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Chesterfield Centre

Property: Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Address: Lordsmill Street, Chesterfield S41 7RW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Chesterfield Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Chesterfield is located a short walk from the town centre and just 500 m from the railway station. Numerous attractions are within close proximity including theatres, museums, bars and restaurants. Visit the stately Chatsworth House located 15 minutes drive from the hotel. Book one of our 86 rooms with all the necessary amenities and benefit from use of our 4 meeting rooms, free private parking and cafe concept bar open 24 hours. WiFi Internet access available in the lounge and in some rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Chesterfield Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Chesterfield Centre Hotel Chesterfield
Ibis Chesterfield Centre Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing