We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cracking small museum”

Chesterfield Museum & Art Gallery
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Cracking small museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Warmly welcomed and staff full of information. It is a small museum, much more "of the people" which we enjoyed. Spent over an hour there for free, although we did give a voluntary donation. A new area for us to visit, so this was very hellpful

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    27
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Went in to pass some time on with my partners 7 year old son he had a really good time there and loved all the old stuff of chesterfield and bygone times ,great info on the crooked spire (st Mary's and all saints parish church ) including the man powered winch that helped build the church . A good way to spend a spare hour , lots more ww1 stuff coming in 2014

Helpful?
1 Thank slavdieon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton in Ashfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Free Museum to visit whilst viewing the Crooked Spire!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We visited the museum whilst touring the town and visiting the crooked spire church. It was free entry, very informative about life in Chesterfield, and had spotless facilities.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
207 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“A pleasant way to spend an hour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

The museum is free. It shows lots of interesting things that have happened in Chesterfield. There are some exhibits that are worth a careful look. There was also a nice video (about 10 minutes) of a local photographer who gave a little potted history of his time in Chesterfield. There were also a couple of special exhibitions where the exhibits were provided by locals and gave a feel for how everyday people lived. The art gallery wasn't my particular preference for pictures but it was ok.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“An excellent free museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

I've been bringing my daughter since she was 5 and she's now 15. It's a must for younger kids to learn all about the local town esp the building of the crooked spire and every so many months new exhibitions are focused on.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank qualitygirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chesterfield Museum & Art Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Chesterfield Museum & Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing