We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At last a proper Indian Restaurant.”
Review of Raaz Indian Grill - CLOSED

Raaz Indian Grill
Price range: US$19 - US$26
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Jarze, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“At last a proper Indian Restaurant.”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

At last a proper Indian Restaurant.
Chose this place for a get-together with friends on a flying visit to the UK.
EXCELLENT decision!
Food exceptional. Service excellent. All in all had a very pleasant evening. 18 people had a great meal and lovely evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    30
    16
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Fantastic foods, not your average Indian restaurant. The good was exquisite with excellent service too, very impressed,

Helpful?
Thank Gareth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Thought it was going to be something different”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Having tried this Indian we were a little disappointed
On entering we were shown all their awards they had won and was told you had to book up to 2 weeks in advance and also told us their food was different, well we managed to get a table
We started of with the house wine which was nice
Starters were nice
The main we ordered were Achar chicken which said to have onions and tomatoes in it, mushroom rice and a peshwari nan
Me and my partner wasn't very impressed with the main as there wasn't onions and tomatoes in it, maybe it was us expecting chunky onions , chicken and tomatoes in it but it was no different to many other Indians we've been to and it was a bit oily (we are not saying the main wasn't nice , as it tasted ok and it was the right heat) we found the peshwari naan to have very little flavour compared to a plain nan
The waiter seems to be hovering over us, as soon as we had emptied our main dish the waiter was there removing our dish while we were still eating which seemed a bit rude
The final price was very reasonable but we just expected better and something different

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mark180tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umar z, Owner at Raaz Indian Grill, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
We use fresh tomatoes which are cooked into the sauce with the onions, If you have any Indian friends go and look at a real dish they cook, you never have big chunks of onions or tomatoes. I think you wanted a British Indian dish, we don't sell them hear. Our dishes are cooked with all the ingredients stated in the menu every dish has onions its the main base of every curry dish.

On a Saturday the restaurant is full and we do recommend to book. All our breads are cooked fresh in the clay oven and the peshwari naan is one of our best. We use the minimal oil we can in every dish.

We don't hover over our customers. its only a small restaurant with five waiters working around looking to see if customers are comfortable.

We have never cleared a table until everyone has eaten or if we have been asked to clear the table.

Very disappointed about this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“False advert of afternoon opening from March 2014”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We went for the afternoon Thali that has been advertised to have started from March 2014. Found it displayed on the shop as well, but sadly it was closed even on a Saturday. I rang the contact number but went straight to voice mail. Guys please avoid taking the risk which I had, as this place is closed in the afternoon as all others. It spoiled our day and hopes.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umar z, Owner at Raaz Indian Grill, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Please accept our sincere apology due to personnel problems the day time staff have not been able to open. The banner is coming down. At present we are still opening in the evening but have to re-schedule the day time opening to a later date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHESTERFIELD
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Girls night out”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Excellent menu service excellent very attentive staff they were a little upset as we didn't eat all the food but we were full would go back again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChesterfieldBoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Raaz Indian Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing