We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people, great food, good experience”
Review of Raaz Indian Grill - CLOSED

Raaz Indian Grill
Price range: US$19 - US$25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
1 review
“Great people, great food, good experience”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We experienced eating at Raaz for the first time last night. We enquirer prior to going if they could cater for a gluten/wheat free diet, they responded yes, "just inform your server when you are seated". The staff are friendly and helpful, the food is superb, nothing was too much trouble for them. On asking what the house dry wine was like, the waiter brought a taster or both the dry & medium. Tap water by the jug. As I take a gluten free diet we asked if they had ever tried Peshawar rice instead of nan bread, they said "no, but we can try it, what do you want in it?" The dish was made and it was fabulous. The main meals have plenty of choices for the vegetarian, so my hubby was happy.
The staff are all warm and friendly, the food is the best tasting Indian food around. Not only would we go again we would recommend anyone to give them a try.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Netty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    30
    16
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best traditional Indian food in Chesterfield”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have been here 5 or 6 times and have had take-aways from them as well, there was 8 of us to-night and all food was enjoyed by us all.
Great friendly staff who made our visit a pleasure to be there, will will be visiting again soon!!!
Go and ENJOY..............

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fujigirlholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I've eaten here a few times now with different friends. The food is fantastic - really fresh & clean tasting. The staff are really knowledgeable and will help you choose if you request it. They encourage you to try REAL Indian dishes instead of the British "Indian" offered by so many restaurants. They are also very friendly (but we have been once when they were a little too attentive and were whisking plates away before we'd barely put our forks down!).

I've also had a few takeaways from here. It's beautifully packaged and presented and is the same high quality as the restaurant. A bit pricey and delivery was a little slow. Well worth the wait though...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our 3rd visit over a couple of years. Went back because or current recomendations. Our first vist was excelant food and good value for money. Second brilliant food but slow service.
We went on friday night aftyer booking a table. it would appear they are trying to go up market? Food was exceptional. Very tasty and well presented. Wheras i dont like rushing and enjoy a brak between courses the service even though only moderately busy was exceedingly slow. as a regular Indian eater i various areas from leeds to London I believe they are far to expensive.
Also for a busy outlet was suprised to find they do not take payment by card. One that will be off my visiting list for now.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umar z, Owner at Raaz Indian Grill, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your review. Raaz has never tried to be up market we have set our standards and kept that level of service. We don't get groups of rowdy men or swearing or drunk customers, It's a lovely relaxed environment for families and genuine customers to enjoy a nice meal. I can't understand about customers going on about a bit pricey for many years Indian restaurants have given this image of being cheap. You can go to an Italian, French and pay £30 per head, at Raaz it's around £23 including drinks. I have said time after time you pay for what you get, we use Lamb not mutton like 90% of Indian restaurants who use mutton we also use fresh chicken breast not frozen packaged from new Zealand. Please understand we use fresh spices and our costs are very high. If you want a cheap Indian then sorry Raaz is not for you. The food will take a bit longer because we use fresh ingredients garlic, ginger, onions and much more and it takes longer to cook, but it's worth that extra wait. We stopped taking credit cards because the costs are so high we can pay an extra bill end of the month. Prices of gas, electric business rates are rising all the time, we are in the city centre Lloyds bank is next door and many more a stone throw away. It shouldn't really matter if you pay cash or card end of the day your still paying.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarze, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“At last a proper Indian Restaurant.”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

At last a proper Indian Restaurant.
Chose this place for a get-together with friends on a flying visit to the UK.
EXCELLENT decision!
Food exceptional. Service excellent. All in all had a very pleasant evening. 18 people had a great meal and lovely evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Raaz Indian Grill also viewed

Ashover, Chesterfield
Ashover, Chesterfield
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing