We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're a foodie stay here and have dinner”
Review of Buckingham's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Buckingham's Hotel
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed here 1 night and had dinner. There is no menu just tell them your food likes & dislikes and you will be very well fed. The breakfast is also excellent. If we pass through Chesterfield again we will look to stay at Buckinghamshire again - and I hope we do!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MRMouse59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed here for a night as we were at the Real Ale festival. Friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was amazing with a good choice. Home made jams and marmalade were amongst some of the best we've ever tried. Even purchased some to take home. A short 5 minute walk from the city centre and easy to find.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laney252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Stayed one night, bed and breakfast. We also stayed at the top of the house in room 9 and we actually found it to be somewhat small and a bit odd. The tea making facilities were under the eaves and only accessible on your hands and knees. The velux window came complete with instructions on how to open it, however to reach it you would have to have been eight foot tall. The pillows were very hard and we weren't offered an alternative.
Breakfast was good with home cured bacon, home made sausage and black pudding all tasty and well cooked.
However, if you have a phobia of Clowns, being surrounded by pottery and glass figurines is a little disturbing.
All that said, it is a pleasant enough family run establishment, close enough to the town that you can walk in and it was clean warm and cosy.
Would I stay again? Yes, as actually, I'd rather have quirky and off beat any day over corporate and anodyne.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank markfairweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Very comfortable room and finally we found a really top quality dining experience thanks to Nick's talents. A very welcoming family who made every effort to look after us. Parking easy and ten minute walk to centre of Chesterfield, so all very simple. Hope we will have the chance to return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Really mafde to feel welcome. All good with service first class. Can safely say the breakfast was one of the best and the whole dining room experience is unique. Just a walk to the centre of Chesterfield this hotel is well placed. As a business stop over or a base to explore from I think you will not be disappointed. Just one last point... Get there early to ensure you get a prime parking spot.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnbarrymacleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We look forward to our annual family visit and are never disappointed. The welcome and accomodation are lovely and the vegans - including Lorna at 18 months - really appreciate Nick's delicious and inventive cooking. (The omivores do too! ). Perfect location for the combination of popping up to the snooker in Sheffield and walking in the Peak District.
Thank you again Nick, Tina, Vicci and everyone! Can we move in please?

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Had a lovely weekend. Hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable, location only a few minutes walk from the centre of Chesterfield and very handy for the Peak District and Chatsworth which is well worth a visit. Breakfast very good and the hotel sells an excellent range of homemade jams, marmalade and chutney. Will visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 562PaulD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesterfield
0.7 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,463 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
813 reviews
3.9 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
235 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
1,029 reviews
10.2 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckingham's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckingham's Hotel

Address: 85 Newbold Road | Newbold, Chesterfield S41 7PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chesterfield
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chesterfield
Price Range: £78 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buckingham's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Hotel and Restaurant situated in the centre of Chesterfield, the gateway to the Peak District and close to the M1 Motorway. All bedrooms offer luxury en-suite with free Wifi. The Buckingham family are well known for their warm and friendly hotel. The restaurant is unusual in the fact that there are no menus, which means meals are prepared to your personal requirements with the emphasis on quality and freshness. All bedrooms refurbished to increase space and quality of each room. Some bedrooms are designated superior these are particularly spacious and include their own seating area. Each bedroom boasts many facilities such as colour television with tele-text, freeview box, clock radio, hot drink facilities, stationary set, water and mints, direct dial telephone, controlled central heating, accessible computer modem points, WiFi, and hairdryer.Buckingham's is well known for The Restaurant with One Table and the Clowns Conservatory, the concept of the restaurants was conceived out of frustration and a desire to develop food that does not conform to normal paradigms. At this cosy Derbyshire restaurant, there is no compromise on quality, ingredients or taste, and excellence comes as standard.Amongst its many accolades, the hotel has gained an award for 'Best Breakfast of the Year' and ‘Best Restaurant of the Year’ from Derbyshire Food and Drink Awards. The Hotel has also been recommended by QIT and Best Loved Hotels.Chesterfield town centre is five minutes’ walk away; here you can find the famous Crooked Spire of its parish church. Chesterfield is also home to one of the largest open-air markets in the country. Chesterfield is situated on the edge of the Peak National Park with some of the most spectacular and beautiful coutryside in England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Buckingham's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckinghams Hotel Chesterfield
Buckingham's Hotel Chesterfield, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing