We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice clean hotel with a warm friendly welcome”
Review of Buckingham's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buckingham's Hotel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Glossop, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice clean hotel with a warm friendly welcome”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The buckingham in chesterfield is a nice friendly hotel,you are met with a warm and very friendly greating, the beds are nice ,the room are tidy,the whole place is exellent,the breakfast was outstanding with quallity service

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    48
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
24
107
13
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

After a long and exciting day at Alton Towers, we recently has the pleasure to stay at Buckingham's Hotel in Chesterfield. The hotel is in a good location, however parking is limited.

The first thing that struck me was all their culinary awards, including the best restaurant in Derbyshire (in 2006 I think) numerous other breakfast awards.

This is a family run hotel and has a couple of unique selling points.

Including the restaurant with only one table (which we didn't use) and their other restaurant where there are no menu's.

You tell the staff any allergies or dislikes and then they come up with a suitable surprise. I'm the most fussiest eater in the world and listed off a load of ingredients that I don't like (cheese, egg, fish, cream, game and mustard to name a few) to my surprise the starter was a spinach soufflé in a saffron creamy sauce (or a cheesy creamy omelette as I rudely referred to it) don't get me wrong my girlfriend thought it was delicious. but it certainly wasn't my cup of tea. The main course was a combination of duck (game meat to best of my knowledge) and pork loin with vegetables. Despite my reluctance for game meat this was actually very nice. To be fair to the hotel they did knock the cost of the starter off my bill and they did enquire whether I could eat things with egg in or it was just egg on its own I didn't like. I thought they meant things like cake or pastries. Not omelettes, soufflés etc. So it was just a break down in communications.

The staff were all very friendly and attentive. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. I would happily recommend this hotel / boutique guesthouse to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

What I require from a hotel is good food, a comfortable room, good service and parking on site.
Unfortunately, this hotel did not meet that criteria.

The food was excellent, the service good, parking almost non-existent (only 4 parking spaces, 1 of which was taken up with the owner's car), which mean parking in a side street. The room was comfortable as it goes, with MDF furniture and heating that didn't kick in until 7:30, which meant that if you like to shower before you have breakfast, you either have to wait until the heating kicks in to warm the bedroom or have a hot shower then get dressed in a cold room.
As my room was at the top of the house, I had to go on my knees to sort out my coffee as the table holding everything was under the beams.

I will probably not stay here again.

Room Tip: Keep away from rooms at the top of the house - go for the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Reading the reviews I was intrigued by a dining experience with no menus. We were greeted by the owner of this family run hotel Nick a Jovial chatty chap in a chefs jacket. We booked in, gave our preferred time for dinner and were asked for two pieces of information, "what food do you dislike and any allergies".Following a conversation on food and being answers to a couple of cooking questions we went to our room tastefully furnished with a very comfortable double bed. In the dining room we were greeted by Tina (congratulations on your new grandson) who showed us to our table. Main course was brought in, we had no idea what it would be but medallion of beef and duck thigh with accompaniments described in detail by Master Chef Nick Buckingham took dining to a whole new level. Dessert followed which again was described and equally as exciting to the pallet all washed down with an excellent Cabernet. We adjourned to the lounge for coffee and truffles then a restful night of sleep. There is a breakfast menu and the full English with hand made sausages maintains the highest standards. A couple of vegetarians were well impressed as Nick had already prepared an alternative breakfast which they said was delicious. The hall is full off accolades for Master Chef Nick Buckingham Justly deserved an amazing meal, a warm and friendly hotel and a great place to stay Thanks we will see you again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoodySnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Very good 2 night stay. Hosts were excellent in their efforts to make sure that every thing was catered for. Meals were very good in fact so good we ate there both nights which considering my fussiness on what I eat was a recommendation in its own right. Next time there will be no other place to stay

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eltelstb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2013

As a family birthday celebration we took our mum for a meal at this lovely hotel. The family who run it could not have done it any better, they prepared a seperate room for us, laid a lovely table out with music in the backgrond. Upon arrival they greeted us at the door and took us through to our room, where we were given drinks. The food is based upon a variety of different dishes taken into consideration of any allergies or dislikes as opposed to a set menu. The Chef brings each dish to the table explaining what and how the food is prepared, all of which is fresh and done to perfection. The courses were delicious and had time to settle before the next course arrived to the table. Nothing was too much trouble for them, the family very polite and friendly, and once we had each course at the table they shut the doors behind them and left us to enjoy the celebration. I would definately recommend this hotel, and wish them all the very best :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I went to hotel for a work trip. It is run by a family...It is very central so that is a bonus. The food was great (some of my colleagues argued that the portion were too small but as I prefer quality than quantity fro me it was perfect). However, did not like the room. The duvet smelled sweat...you could tell it had not been washed for a while...I had to leave on a side. To me cleanness is the first thing, therefore I have not come back to that hotel despite having been in Chesterfield many times thereafter. They allow dogs so who knows how many dogs have slept on that duvet. Also you can hear people on the room above... For what they charge per night you better go to another hotel, even if you have to take a taxi it is cheaper and much much quality if you go to CASA Hotel or to the Ringwood Hall.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anonimous A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesterfield hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,372 reviews
3.9 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
757 reviews
5.5 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#10 of 15 in Chesterfield
779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abbeydale Hotel
Abbeydale Hotel
#11 of 15 in Chesterfield
209 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckingham's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckingham's Hotel

Property: Buckingham's Hotel
Address: 85 Newbold Road | Newbold, Chesterfield S41 7PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chesterfield
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Buckingham's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Hotel and Restaurant situated in the centre of Chesterfield, the gateway to the Peak District and close to the M1 Motorway. All bedrooms offer luxury en-suite with free Wifi. The Buckingham family are well known for their warm and friendly hotel. The restaurant is unusual in the fact that there are no menus, which means meals are prepared to your personal requirements with the emphasis on quality and freshness. All bedrooms refurbished to increase space and quality of each room. Some bedrooms are designated superior these are particularly spacious and include their own seating area. Each bedroom boasts many facilities such as colour television with tele-text, freeview box, clock radio, hot drink facilities, stationary set, water and mints, direct dial telephone, controlled central heating, accessible computer modem points, WiFi, and hairdryer.Buckingham's is well known for The Restaurant with One Table and the Clowns Conservatory, the concept of the restaurants was conceived out of frustration and a desire to develop food that does not conform to normal paradigms. At this cosy Derbyshire restaurant, there is no compromise on quality, ingredients or taste, and excellence comes as standard.Amongst its many accolades, the hotel has gained an award for 'Best Breakfast of the Year' and ‘Best Restaurant of the Year’ from Derbyshire Food and Drink Awards. The Hotel has also been recommended by QIT and Best Loved Hotels.Chesterfield town centre is five minutes’ walk away; here you can find the famous Crooked Spire of its parish church. Chesterfield is also home to one of the largest open-air markets in the country. Chesterfield is situated on the edge of the Peak National Park with some of the most spectacular and beautiful coutryside in England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Buckingham's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckinghams Hotel Chesterfield
Buckingham's Hotel Chesterfield, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing