We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abbeydale Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Buckingham's Hotel(Chesterfield)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Portland Hotel(Chesterfield)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Hotel(Chesterfield)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Sandpiper Hotel(Chesterfield)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peak Edge Hotel(Stonedge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
160
50
15
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
160
50
15
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall hotelwarm welcomefresh fruitfriendly hoteltown centreb brooms are niceshort walkmarmaladestay there againsingle roomwithin easy walking distancean evening mealcar parkquiet locationbooked this hotelbiscuits
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Stayed at the Abbeydale for 5 nights at the end of July. Clean, lovely room for a single, hosts very forthcoming and sociable. Good dinner first night, the co-owner, Finn, is a great chef. Breakfast was also excellent. Location wise: its about 15 minutes walk to the centre of town, a bit more to the station.
By the way: The mattress in my room was much too soft - not great for the back.

It would be great if it had seating outside which for me is always a sign of luxury in a hotel.
Many thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark_davie_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed for 10 nigths. What a lovely small hotel, the rooms were immaculate (very clean and well decorated) and had everything you needed including mineral water, tea, coffee,... The owners (Else and Finn) were amazing: very welcoming, friendly and helpful. This made a refreshing change from the majority of impersonal hotels that seem to be the norm these days. Breakfasts were freshly cooked, there was also a lovely selection of fresh fruit, juices and cereals. The food is excellent. Hotel is also lovely & quiet at night and is very well located being a short walk to Chesterfield town centre.

Room Tip: Room number 4 was excellent
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlaMarkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeydalehotel, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

many thanks for your kind comments, hope everything will go well for you, and hope to see you soon, cheers Else & Finn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Stayed at The Abbeydale Hotel for 2 nights . What a lovely small hotel, the rooms were immaculate & had everything you needed including mineral water . The owners were very welcoming & made you feel that nothing was too much bother. This made a refreshing change from the majority of impersonal hotels that seem to be the norm these days. Breakfasts were freshly cooked , there was also a lovely selection of fresh fruit , juices & cereals.
Unfortunately I didn't sample the evening meals , but the menu looked great & I would certainly eat there next time. The Hotel is also lovely & quiet at nights as it is a few minutes from the town centre , yet still conveniently placed for travelling to all the local attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suewho50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeydalehotel, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

we very much appreciate your nice comments, see you for dinner next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We had a 1 night stay at the Abbeydale Hotel Chesterfield. We had 2
double rooms booked as we stayed with some friends. We had a very
warm welcome and after unpacking in our clean fresh rooms we went
into the small lounge for gin & tonics. We had a very enjoyable evening
meal. Food was of a very high standard with freshly baked bread.
Chesterfield only a 10 minute walk away where we enjoyed going round the flea market.

Room Tip: Room no. 11 very nice.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roy_dutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed for three nights with a couple of friends, our room was clean and well equipped but a little bit small. The owners are very welcoming, friendly and helpful the food is excellent. A very good location being a short walk to Chesterfield town centre and a short drive to the attractions of the Peak District.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peters101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeydalehotel, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Thank you very much for your kind word

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews