We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely! Recommend it!”
Review of Abbeydale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abbeydale Hotel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We love this place! Stayed for a couple of nights when wanting to stay somewhere near the countryside. Finn and Else, the owners, are the kindest people ever and went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. They lent us rain ponchos (luckily it was sunny but you never know with English weather!), walking books, printed us bus timetables, recommended restaurants and Finn even detoured his car journey on the way to see his son so he could drop us in Chatsworth! I have never come across kinder hotel owners. We even bought them chocs and a card to say thankyou which we have certainly never done before!

In terms of the accom itself, rooms were lovely and clean, nice shower, tea and coffee making facilities, big comfy bed, friendly atmosphere. Breakfast is delicious. If you don't have a car like us, this place is well located and in walking distance from buses, the coach station and the rail station.

Overall I could not recommend this place enough -
If you're looking for somewhere clean, homely, affordable and most of all friendly... Book now!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenCentralLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeydalehotel, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Hi Helen

Many thanks for your lovely chocolate and the lovely card, you had not needed to do that, it was a pleasure to have a nice couple like you staying with us and I hope the stage and the finance world will treat you well.
Thank you for taking the time to make your lovely review public.

Take care
Best regards

Else & Finn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
There are newer reviews for Abbeydale Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at Abbeydale Hotel just for 2 nights but would have loved to stay longer. Finn and Else are amazing hosts; full of great suggestions for local things to do and places to eat and they always made me feel welcome. I had a fantastic room, great full-english for brekky and was minutes away from the beautiful Derbyshire countryside. 100% recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALeese1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeydalehotel, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear ALees

It is very kind of you to take time out to write a review of our little hotel, and many thanks for the kind words, we hope to see you again, when you feel ready to explore some more of the lovely Peak District.

Best regards

Else & Finn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed two nights while visiting the area. The owners, Finn and Else and the staff are very welcoming and helpful. The room was well furnished, the bedding was very nice and there were lots of spare power points. The shower room was warm and the towels were really soft. Water is provided free of charge, also had biscuits and hot choc! The wifi reception was good. Breakfast was extensive. Thanks for the Calabria restaurant suggestion Finn, it was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NathalieFlore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeydalehotel, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Nathalie

It is lovely to hear that you had a nice stay with us here at Abbeydale Hotel, and we are very grateful
that you have taken time out to give us your review of your stay.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Once again many thanks for your kind words.

Best regards

Else & Finn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is quite a small hotel, run by a very friendly couple. The food is very good, although I have only had breakfast there. The place itself is really clean, as are the bedrooms. They are more in line with a boutique hotel. My room had an en-suite that was down a few stairs - as I have recently suffered a bad back through a car accident, this caused a few problems. I will definitely stay at this hotel when next in Chesterfield but will ask for a bathroom on the same level as the bathroom. g in Chesterfield this will be the first hotel I try.

Room Tip: My room was at the side of the hotel, overlooking the car park - I had no problems there.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeydalehotel, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Nichella

Many thanks for you taking the time and for giving us such a nice review.
We are just a small hotel but all of us working here trying our best to give our
guest a pleasant stay with us.
Once again thanks for giving us your lovely review.

Best regards
Else & Finn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I stayed at the Abbeydale Hotel on 29th August and found the owners very friendly, nothing at all like "Telecommute Traveller" says. The room I was in was no 16 and was immaculate, although there were a few bloodstains on the duvet cover and 1 light bulb not working on the ceiling chandelier, some shades on the chandelier would have made the room look more cosy when the lights were on. The breakfast was good and the tables were set very professionally. I would certainly stay there again and would recommend this hotel to anyone planning a visit to Chesterfield

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corusgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeydalehotel, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Many thanks for your kind review.
We normally make sure that everything is in order in our rooms, so we are sorry that
a light bulb was missed and more so that there was spots on the duvet cover.
All bedding is changed on a daily basis and we cannot apologize enough for not having spotted
the marks on the duvet.
We do hope to see you again in the near future.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review and for pointing out things that should not have been there.

Best regards
Else & Finn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I have stayed here a number of times during July 2013. The rooms are very comfortable, if a bit on the small side. Everything is very well maintained and clean. The proprietors are exceptionally friendly and it seems that after a couple of visits they are on first name terms with everyone.

The breakfast is delicious and the evening meals excellent. If you do intend to eat in the evening, let them know as soon as possible as the kitchen may not be open if they don't have any bookings. (Though that's not a problem as there are plenty of places to eat within walking distance.)

When I'm working in Chesterfield this will be the first hotel I try.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabes19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeydalehotel, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Sorry for the late response to your very kind review of our hotel.
Yes we do have a lot of business people and weekenders that comes again and again, and
we do then get on first name with them, they become more than just guests.
Being a small hotel we try to make sure that our guests are more than a room number, they are our personal guest.
We hope to see you soon again in the near future.

Best regards

Else & Finn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We loved and enjoyed our stay. The hotel is central to Chesterfield (10 minute walk from town centre) and the M1 motorway. Hotel and room was spotlessly clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. We stayed for 4 nights. Breakfast was very good though we didn't have the opportunity to experience an evening meal. We would recommend that you book evening meal with staff at breakfast. Hotel also has a fairly large car park for its size though there is on street parking just across the street which is free. The hotel has free wifi. Make sure you ask for the code on check in.

Room Tip: Go for an upstairs room which is quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gste816352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeydalehotel, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you ever so much for your kind review, hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards

Else & Finn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesterfield hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#13 of 15 in Chesterfield
248 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,433 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sandpiper Hotel
Sandpiper Hotel
#10 of 15 in Chesterfield
309 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeydale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeydale Hotel

Address: Cross Street, Chesterfield S40 4TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chesterfield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chesterfield
Price Range: £44 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbeydale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality homely accommodation and restaurant five minutes from Chesterfield Town Centre with free private parking and free WiFi. The Abbeydale Hotel is located in a quiet part of the town, but still only 5 minutes walk away from the bustling town centre, with its famous market and Crooked Spire. Evening meals available but must be booked in advance. served from 6pm-8pm, Mon, Tues, weds, Thurs & Sat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Abbeydale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeydale Hotel Chesterfield, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing