We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good small hotel.”
Review of Abbeydale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abbeydale Hotel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My wife and I recently have returned from a long weekend at the Abbeydale. Our hosts were extremely friendly and helpful and did their best to make our stay enjoyable.

Food and service were excellent. Our room, while not the most spacious we have stayed in, was comfortable, very clean and well decorated.

The hotel is situated within a 10 minute walk of Chesterfield town centre. Here there is a market and good selection of shops, together with ample eating establishments. Despite being so close to the town centre, it is in a quiet residential area and has ample free parking. Being situated on the edge of the Peak District, it provides easy access to a number of attractions, e.g. Bakewell, Chatsworth and Haddon Hall.

If we take a break in this area again we will certainly stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harryburrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeydalehotel, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Harry & Wife, many thanks for the nice review of our little hotel and thank you for taking the time to write it.
We hope to see you again perhaps in the summertime when the weather hopefully is warm and sunny.
Take care and have a lovely Christmas and a happy New Year.

Best regards
Else & Finn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

My family stayed at the Abbeydale Hotel last July and the owner acted very rude and inhospitable towards us. The owner overcharged us and was extremely sarcastic about even little things like obtaining the WiFi code or a parking spot. We skipped the free breakfast as we had enough of this torment. I would strongly recommend seeking alternative accommodations.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
14  Thank TelecommuteTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeydalehotel, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

We do not know who you are and what your agenda is, but at no point in our 13 years ownership of Abbeydale Hotel, has we been accused of over charging, intimidating guests or in other ways not taking care of our guests
Looking at our record with Tripadvisor we have never been behaving as described by you, bringing us to the assumption that you are a person that has nothing better to do that send evil messages to other people.
It is strange that after 6 month you suddenly comes out of the wood work accusing us of all sorts of things.
If you are genuine please do not hesitate to contact us.
We have asked Tripadvisor to remove this in our opinion and so in many other of our regular customers absolutely false accusations from the Tripadvisor website but this without any success hence this response.
Best regards

Else & Finn Abbeydale Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I returned to the Abbeydale as I was running a course over the weekend and had enjoyed an overnight stay there earlier in the year. To repeat what others have said, welcoming, warm, friendly, spotlessly clean and a good breakfast. I would be happy to return if the need arises.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeydalehotel, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Geoff, Many thanks for your kind review.
We hope to see you again in the new year, and we wish you and family a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
Best regards Else & Finn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We loved this hotel, owners very welcoming and helpfull. Even drawing a very detailed map for us, to avoid the busy road to Chatswort Christmas Market. Lovely full English breakfast. Rooms were tastefully decorated and comfortable. If we ever go back to this area, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pazzbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeydalehotel, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Many thanks for taking the time out to write a review of our hotel, and many thanks for the
kind and positive review.
We hope to see you again, and perhaps this time in the summer time.
Take care.

Best regards

Else & Finn
PS Merry Christmas & Happy New Year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Welcoming, warm friendly and spotlessly clean, what more could you want. We liked it so much on our way up to North Yorkshire that we stayed again on our way back home. Lovely hosts and good breakfast too..........

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeydalehotel, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Mark & Mrs, Thank you for giving us such a nice review, and we do hope to see you again next time you are passing by Chesterfield.
It was good to meet you on the way down as we were away on your way up.

Take care.

Best regards
Else & Finn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My husband and I met up with some friends from Shrewsbury and had a most enjoyable weekend with them at the Abbeydale Hotel. We had a warm welcome from Else and Finn, they are a charming couple. Everything was just perfect, the hotel was so tastefully decorated, the beds were most comfortable, the breakfast was excellent - all-in-all a very good weekend.

Sheila and Rick Henderson
Darlington

Room Tip: Our room, 17, was lovely and had a full bathroom instead of an en-suite. Beautifully appointed, fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeydalehotel, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Sheila & Rick, thank you ever so much for taking time to write a review of your stay, and a very kind one as well.
We hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards

Else & Finn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Second time at the hotel, got to meet the owners this time and weren't disappointed, they are every bit as warm and friendly as the reviews say.
Excellent location, easy walking distance into town, spotlessly clean, top notch food.
Could not recommend it highly enough.
Will definitely be back and thinks you for that wonderful, homely feeling the hotel has.

Room Tip: Single room 12 is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeydalehotel, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Diane, thank you very much for the kind review and for taking the time out to write one.
We hope to see you again in the new year.

Best regards

Else & Finn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesterfield hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
851 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sandpiper Hotel
Sandpiper Hotel
#10 of 15 in Chesterfield
323 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#15 of 15 in Chesterfield
249 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeydale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeydale Hotel

Address: Cross Street, Chesterfield S40 4TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chesterfield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chesterfield
Price Range: £45 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbeydale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality homely accommodation and restaurant five minutes from Chesterfield Town Centre with free private parking and free WiFi. The Abbeydale Hotel is located in a quiet part of the town, but still only 5 minutes walk away from the bustling town centre, with its famous market and Crooked Spire. Evening meals available but must be booked in advance. served from 6pm-8pm, Mon, Tues, weds, Thurs & Sat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Abbeydale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeydale Hotel Chesterfield, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing