We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some weeks in that special hotel...”
Review of Abbeydale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abbeydale Hotel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Some weeks in that special hotel...”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Hi all,
My name is Aitor Oliveras, I am a Spanish engineer who currently works and lives in Chesterfield. I moved to this city in December 2013 and while I was looking for a house the city I was in this delightful hotel three weeks in that month, and one in January 2014. Tell whoever the deal is very nice and staff really kind, very cozy and warm rooms, food is delicious and varied, a surprise I did not expect and that helped me to land in this country so different from mine . Whether for a short business trip, a weekend of relaxation, or a few weeks as I was, it is highly recommended.Oh, and is very close to city center!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aitor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    45
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
74
20
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Just an overnight stay but a warm welcome from the owner and a pleasant room made for a very nice stay. I had looked for somewhere closer to the centre of Chesterfield but happily alighted on the Abbeydale. The walk into town is very quick, even into the face of gale-force winds (as I experienced). Breakfast was really delicious. If and when I'm next in the area, I'll happily return, perhaps for a longer period next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank localhero13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

What a find, a lovely family run hotel, rooms beautifully decorated, clean crisp bedding & towels plus all the extras you'd find in a larger hotel. Else & Finn so very welcoming & friendly. All topped off by a super breakfast. Hopefully I'll find another excuse to have an overnight stop in Chesterfield to sample The Abbeydale again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizMillington2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

In the last 3 years I regularly came to Chesterfield for work, and I've always stayed in this hotel with great pleasure. It is a very cosy hotel with nice, clean rooms. The owners Else and Finn are very welcoming and kind. The breakfast is delicious (with fresh fruit, eggs done according to your own wishes, yoghurt, toast, marmelade, cornflakes ...). Dinner is also outstanding, with homemade desserts!
I highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elke_Bxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeydalehotel, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Elke
Many thanks for your kind review.
It has been a pleasure having you here with us and we will be missing you and so will we would
expect the Salsa class.
Hope to see you on a holiday to the Peak District in the future.
Take care and have a lovely Christmas and a happy New Year.
Best regards
Else & Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My wife and I recently have returned from a long weekend at the Abbeydale. Our hosts were extremely friendly and helpful and did their best to make our stay enjoyable.

Food and service were excellent. Our room, while not the most spacious we have stayed in, was comfortable, very clean and well decorated.

The hotel is situated within a 10 minute walk of Chesterfield town centre. Here there is a market and good selection of shops, together with ample eating establishments. Despite being so close to the town centre, it is in a quiet residential area and has ample free parking. Being situated on the edge of the Peak District, it provides easy access to a number of attractions, e.g. Bakewell, Chatsworth and Haddon Hall.

If we take a break in this area again we will certainly stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harryburrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeydalehotel, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Harry & Wife, many thanks for the nice review of our little hotel and thank you for taking the time to write it.
We hope to see you again perhaps in the summertime when the weather hopefully is warm and sunny.
Take care and have a lovely Christmas and a happy New Year.

Best regards
Else & Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My family stayed at the Abbeydale Hotel last July and the owner acted very rude and inhospitable towards us. The owner overcharged us and was extremely sarcastic about even little things like obtaining the WiFi code or a parking spot. We skipped the free breakfast as we had enough of this torment. I would strongly recommend seeking alternative accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank TelecommuteTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeydalehotel, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
We do not know who you are and what your agenda is, but at no point in our 13 years ownership of Abbeydale Hotel, has we been accused of over charging, intimidating guests or in other ways not taking care of our guests
Looking at our record with Tripadvisor we have never been behaving as described by you, bringing us to the assumption that you are a person that has nothing better to do that send evil messages to other people.
It is strange that after 6 month you suddenly comes out of the wood work accusing us of all sorts of things.
If you are genuine please do not hesitate to contact us.
We have asked Tripadvisor to remove this in our opinion and so in many other of our regular customers absolutely false accusations from the Tripadvisor website but this without any success hence this response.
Best regards

Else & Finn Abbeydale Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I returned to the Abbeydale as I was running a course over the weekend and had enjoyed an overnight stay there earlier in the year. To repeat what others have said, welcoming, warm, friendly, spotlessly clean and a good breakfast. I would be happy to return if the need arises.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeydalehotel, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Geoff, Many thanks for your kind review.
We hope to see you again in the new year, and we wish you and family a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
Best regards Else & Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesterfield hotels
0.4 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#14 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Chesterfield North Hotel
3.7 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeydale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeydale Hotel

Property: Abbeydale Hotel
Address: Cross Street, Chesterfield S40 4TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chesterfield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbeydale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality homely accommodation and restaurant five minutes from Chesterfield Town Centre with free private parking and free WiFi. The Abbeydale Hotel is located in a quiet part of the town, but still only 5 minutes walk away from the bustling town centre, with its famous market and Crooked Spire. Evening meals available but must be booked in advance. served from 6pm-8pm, Mon, Tues, weds, Thurs & Sat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abbeydale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeydale Hotel Chesterfield, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing