We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbeydale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abbeydale Hotel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Formby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed bank holiday weekend as a Last minute break. Central to city centre, only 5 mins walk. Unfortunately, hotel restaurant not open during the weekend but breakfast was lovely. Comfortable stay and would visit again if in the area. Thanks.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Openminded78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeydalehotel, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Thank you for the nice review.
Yes we do not open the restaurant on Friday and Saturday evenings if guest do not book for dinner in advance.
We have too many times had a full house on these nights but our guest either are going to weddings or other kind of family celebrations or has decided to go down town and eat, hence we ask for prior bookings.
So next time just let us know if you want to eat and we will make sure we are ready for you.

Best regards
Else & Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    45
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
74
19
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

The Abbeydale Hotel is the perfect place to stay when visiting Chesterfield and the Peak District
Derbyshire countryside etc.
Great location for the market town , just 5 minutes around the corner for shopping etc...
The beds are so comfortable and I had a great nights sleep and the area is so peaceful
Breakfast was Excellent , perfect poached eggs !. and nice home made touches.
Thank you to both Finn and Else for your hospitality and I would advise anyone to try this
wonderful small hotel when next in Chesterfield.....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeydalehotel, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Thank you for you nice review, we really appreciate that you take time to
comment on your stay with us.

Best regards

Else & Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Having stayed in Chesterfield on three occasions this is the best hotel I've stayed at. The food is excellent especially the dinners but the breakfast is good also. Hotel rooms are well furnished and the hosts give a warm welcome.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tonyder11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here for 1 night whilst on business and found the hotel to be pleasant and run by friendly and welcoming owners and staff. Had a very nice meal also. The only downside is its size - there is very little space to relax in (one small lounge room with a few chairs huddled close together), the room I had was quite small (although adequate for one night) and car parking was a bit tight (although the owners were very considerate in the way they managed this ensuring nobody got blocked in). I would definitely book to stay again if working in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GARY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Not a large hotel,family run, very comfortable atmosphere.
Very clean.breakfast great,good parking.10 minute stroll to town centre.
The owner has a very good but relaxed sense of humour.
We would stop here again and would reccomend to friends and family

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakeyboywestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esher
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights at Easter. It is a lovely family run hotel, with nicely decorated rooms, clean crisp bedding & towels and all the extras you'd find in a larger hotel. Else is charming, and she and her husband Finn are very welcoming and friendly. There is plenty of information on local attractions and Else & Finn are only too happy to help with trip planning, as they really want you to enjoy your stay. We had an excellent dinner at the hotel one evening, prepared very well by Finn, and we would have dined there again if the opportunity had arisen. The breakfast is lovely and Finn uses local high quality ingredients. We would definitely stay again if in the Chesterfield area, and would recommend the Abbeydale to anyone. Thank you for looking after us so well. Kind regards, Bonnie & Barry F.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTripper94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed for one night. The location is good, near the town centre yet in a quiet residential area. Ample parking is available. The welcome was good as was the breakfast. The standard of cleanliness is high but the rooms, at least ours, are small for the price and area. Noise insulation between rooms was not particularly good but other guests did not make too much noise.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesterfield hotels
0.4 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#13 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Chesterfield North Hotel
3.7 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeydale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeydale Hotel

Property: Abbeydale Hotel
Address: Cross Street, Chesterfield S40 4TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chesterfield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbeydale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality homely accommodation and restaurant five minutes from Chesterfield Town Centre with free private parking and free WiFi. The Abbeydale Hotel is located in a quiet part of the town, but still only 5 minutes walk away from the bustling town centre, with its famous market and Crooked Spire. Evening meals available but must be booked in advance. served from 6pm-8pm, Mon, Tues, weds, Thurs & Sat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abbeydale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeydale Hotel Chesterfield, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing