We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous small Hotel!!”
Review of Abbeydale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abbeydale Hotel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous small Hotel!!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

This is a gem of a hotel. The hosts Else and Finn are very friendly, welcoming and helpful. It's a home from home. Our room was number 17. It was spotlessly clean well decorated and had a large separate bathroom with a bath and a walk in shower. Bed was comfortable, lovely crisp clean bedding. Little extras in the room like bottled water, biscuits, chocolates and complimentary toiletries. Lovely lounge and a nice little bar. Great choice of Food for breakfast, cereals, fruit, juice and yogurts. Lovely choice of hot food for a cooked breakfast. This was beautifully cooked and served,and always hot.plenty of toast, tea and coffee. Hotel was 5 mins walk from the town. Plenty of parking space at the hotel. Else and Finn are very helpful and will help with planning trips and have a great knowledge of the surrounding area. We had an evening meal at the hotel on Saturday. Great choices on the menu. We had crown of lamb and steak. Food was cooked to a high standard and beautifully served. Finn sources his ingredients locally. This food would be at home in any top restaurant. This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in better in fact than the 5 star one we recently visited in Norwich. We would stay here again. We highly recommend this wonderful place. Thank you Else and Finn.x

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingybut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeydalehotel, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Hey want can we say to this very generous review, apart from that we will be able to
keep the standard up.
we will as well be looking forward to see you again next time you are close till Abbeydale Hotel.

Best regards

Else & Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    45
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
77
20
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I stayed one night in a single room whilst attending a navigation course in Derbyshire.
From the friendly welcome to the warm "goodbye " everything was VERY satisfactory.
The hotel is large enough to not need the "summoning by bell" for breakfast but small enough to give personal service.
The room was modern and the bathroom was perfect with quality toiletries provided.
Breakfast was served very promptly and there were nice touches like a fresh fruit platter- strawberries, raspberries, nectarines etc. which you don't always find in the more expensive hotels. There was a good hot menu cooked to order and all the usual fruit juice, cereal and yoghurt selections .
I left feeling the owners were appreciative of my patronage as evidenced by the fact that nothing seemed to be too much trouble.
This is a very well run, immaculately clean and friendly hotel and if in the Chesterfield area again I would look no further.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank istanbul187067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeydalehotel, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
We very much appreciate that you have taken time out to write this very nice review, and
we hope the course you attended will make it possible for you to navigate back to us for another stay.

Best regards

Else & Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ainsdale, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed bank holiday weekend as a Last minute break. Central to city centre, only 5 mins walk. Unfortunately, hotel restaurant not open during the weekend but breakfast was lovely. Comfortable stay and would visit again if in the area. Thanks.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Openminded78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeydalehotel, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Thank you for the nice review.
Yes we do not open the restaurant on Friday and Saturday evenings if guest do not book for dinner in advance.
We have too many times had a full house on these nights but our guest either are going to weddings or other kind of family celebrations or has decided to go down town and eat, hence we ask for prior bookings.
So next time just let us know if you want to eat and we will make sure we are ready for you.

Best regards
Else & Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The Abbeydale Hotel is the perfect place to stay when visiting Chesterfield and the Peak District
Derbyshire countryside etc.
Great location for the market town , just 5 minutes around the corner for shopping etc...
The beds are so comfortable and I had a great nights sleep and the area is so peaceful
Breakfast was Excellent , perfect poached eggs !. and nice home made touches.
Thank you to both Finn and Else for your hospitality and I would advise anyone to try this
wonderful small hotel when next in Chesterfield.....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeydalehotel, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Thank you for you nice review, we really appreciate that you take time to
comment on your stay with us.

Best regards

Else & Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Having stayed in Chesterfield on three occasions this is the best hotel I've stayed at. The food is excellent especially the dinners but the breakfast is good also. Hotel rooms are well furnished and the hosts give a warm welcome.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tonyder11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here for 1 night whilst on business and found the hotel to be pleasant and run by friendly and welcoming owners and staff. Had a very nice meal also. The only downside is its size - there is very little space to relax in (one small lounge room with a few chairs huddled close together), the room I had was quite small (although adequate for one night) and car parking was a bit tight (although the owners were very considerate in the way they managed this ensuring nobody got blocked in). I would definitely book to stay again if working in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GARY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Not a large hotel,family run, very comfortable atmosphere.
Very clean.breakfast great,good parking.10 minute stroll to town centre.
The owner has a very good but relaxed sense of humour.
We would stop here again and would reccomend to friends and family

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakeyboywestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesterfield hotels
0.2 mi away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#12 of 15 in Chesterfield
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
598 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#10 of 15 in Chesterfield
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
754 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,372 reviews
5.6 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeydale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeydale Hotel

Property: Abbeydale Hotel
Address: Cross Street, Chesterfield S40 4TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chesterfield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbeydale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality homely accommodation and restaurant five minutes from Chesterfield Town Centre with free private parking and free WiFi. The Abbeydale Hotel is located in a quiet part of the town, but still only 5 minutes walk away from the bustling town centre, with its famous market and Crooked Spire. Evening meals available but must be booked in advance. served from 6pm-8pm, Mon, Tues, weds, Thurs & Sat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Abbeydale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeydale Hotel Chesterfield, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing