We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross avoid”

The Manor At Brampton Spa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Brampton Manor is a 16th century property, originally built by two brothers from 1585 through to 1599 as a manor house, with residential use up until early 1960s where it was then purchased by two local business men to create an exclusive gentleman's dining and gaming club.Developed over the years as you know it today, a local family friendly club hosting extensive facilities to Non Members as well as Members, operated with the same charm and passion it was built with all those years ago. Along with the main building, there is also the historic Grade II listed Gazebo which hosts many weddings throughout the summer months in the pool courtyard gardens which enjoys sunshine throughout the day. Minutes away from the centre of Chesterfield's historic market town and the famous 'Crooked Spire' church, Chesterfield Museum, Chatsworth House, Hardwick Hall, Bolsover Castle, and many other attractions around the Derbyshire dales and Peak District on our doorstep. Brampton Manor is a popular Derbyshire, South Yorkshire and Peak District venue for weddings, receptions and functions along with fantastic facilities for business, which include conferences, business meetings and event activities. Family entertainment for non members and fun is welcomed, with regular events and themed evenings held in the Newly Refurbished Manor Bar hosting live music, homemade food and fabulous Sunday carvery. Why not also join us in our fully equiped health and fitness centre, as one of very few venues in Chesterfield that offer a heated indoor pool, squash courts, fully air conditioned gymnasium as well as private studio classes and fitness rooms, all available with both adult and junior exclusive membership packages to suit your fitness needs and your pocket!
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

My eyes and skin itchy after being in the pool must have been the chlorine was left by staff for 15 min before being shown the facilities. I think it needs a complete overhaul and refurb it really is dirty.

1  Thank Alfreton123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BusinessManager2013, Manager at The Manor At Brampton Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

I am very sorry to read your comments concerning your day here with us. The bar and restaurant has just had a massive 5* refurbishment. But thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for The Manor At Brampton Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 125 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

My daughter and i visited on the 19 May after reading some of the negative comments we didn't have high expectations however as we are not grumpy looking to moan about anything people we had a brilliant time. We loved the pool area and outdoor garden. We had a lovely cup of tea from the bar and were shocked by the reasonable price of £1.00 each. The massage chairs in the beauty waiting room were a treat and the actual back massage we had was very relaxing and well delivered. All the staff were kind,helpful and very professional thank you Brampton Manor for an excellent time.

Thank Hayley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BusinessManager2013, Manager at The Manor At Brampton Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Its lovely to hear that you had a good day here with us at the Manor. We all try very hard to make everyones day very special and its always nice to get good feedback. Thank you for taking the time out to do that and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Visited Sunday 18th May with my 3 best friends on a Groupon.

We booked to have our treatments in 2 2's - starting at 10.30 finishing at 12.30 to then have lunch but when we arrived they had changed them for 2 of us at 10.30, one at 11.30 and one at 12.30. I went upstairs for 11.30, was left until 11.55 when I was asked where the other person was - I explained the times had been changed and was told they'd changed them back so went back outside to collect my other friend. On arriving back with all our stuff we were told they weren't ready and to come back in half an hour!! Treatments were ok......

Once finished we went to sit outside to eat and were given a menu advertising 1, 2 or 3 courses but only showing 1?? Bar / restaurant staff are not informed enough - they didn't know where we could choose other courses from, if we could only order from carvery menu, if it was coke, Pepsi or rola cola (it is rola cola) We waited 40 minutes for a pint of lager shandy, ordered our 3rd fresh orange juice with lemonade to be given orange cordial and lemonade and when we questioned it were told they don't sell fresh orange juice?? Had plates that we'd finished eating from left on our table despite the ladies coming to / from our table 3 or 4 times. The food was nice for a carvery but service was terrible!

Could be a nice place if the layout was better and staff were better trained - as it is I'd say stay away!

2  Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BusinessManager2013, Manager at The Manor At Brampton Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

I am very sorry to read your feedback about your day with us at the Manor as are my Therapists. They only recall everything going very smoothly and your group were very happy with everything when you left. We always ask when our clients leave if everything was all right, as we do not want to encourage negative feedback in any way and make improvements where necessary. We strive to make sure all our clients have a wonderful experience here at the Manor in all departments and apologize if this was not the case on this occasion.
Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I visited today with my sister and neice for our monthly treat. We were very impressed with the way we were treated on this visit, a massive improvement to our last visit. We just had a treatment today and we were all pleased with the result. They were in the throws of a refurbishment but this can only improve an already enjoyable experience. We have booked another visit. Thanks ladies:-)

Thank puggy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BusinessManager2013, Manager at The Manor At Brampton Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

I am so very pleased that you enjoyed your time here in the Salon, our Therapists like to hear good feedback as its very encouraging for everyone concerned. The refurbishment in the Bar/Restaurant is nearly finished and looks fantastic. We start in the Salon at the end of June so it will all be amazing once it is finished. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We visited on a Hen day did the Saturday morning classes with the two wonderful Lisa 's sauna swim steam massage followed by a wonderful lunch great staff great place all my Hens thoroughly enjoyed it and we will be returning well done to all the staff and Thanks again Carmen x

Thank LadyFit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BusinessManager2013, Manager at The Manor At Brampton Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your day here with us at the Manor and in the Salon. We try to make everyone's day here with us an experience and hopefully we accumplished this with your Hen Party. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Thank you for your lovely feedback it is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Manor At Brampton Spa also viewed

Carsington, Derbyshire
Clowne, Chesterfield
 

Been to The Manor At Brampton Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing