We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quick service, food OK, beer garden, ladies toilets very nice.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Portland Hotel JD Wetherspoon

The Portland Hotel JD Wetherspoon
Ranked #86 of 341 Restaurants in Chesterfield
Price range: US$2 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A JD Wetherspoon free house. Serving real ales from local Brewers, Craft Beers and ciders, hot drinks & soft drinks. Extensive food menu including daily club deals.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good quick service, food OK, beer garden, ladies toilets very nice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Popped in for lunch on a Sunday. We'd had a late breakfast so asked for children's roast, no problem. The food arrived quickly, was hot and cooked to normal Wetherspoons standard. We ate at a table out in the beer garden, which was alongside the road but a pleasant area with shrubs. The 'ladies' was the nicest Wetherspoons one I'd been in and I've been threw a few.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stardrop23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    34
    14
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A not to be repeated curry night experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Oh dear, I prefer to use tripadvisor to highlight good things but this meal was awful. The curry has over micro waved making the lamb in the Rogan Josh tough, the onion bargee was burnt and the rice was stewed. The real ale was undrinkable and had to be left. I was running late for a meeting and just couldn't be bothered to complain and get replacements and might they have been better?

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Fantastic service. Great rooms, clean and spacious. Amusing water pressure :-) Lovely staff, very friendly,really couldn't do enough for us. The breakfast was good considering wetherspoons can be a bit hit and miss. Would definitely stay again especially since they are having a refurbishment starting in the next couple of weeks.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank heatherj1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Had one ham and cheese toastie. Very dry bread cold middle, overdone chips, disgusting. Also had one chicken rib combo, chicken so iverdone wouldnt feed a dog it, onion rings burnt, coleslaw looked dirty in colour (yuk) and chips overdone. Replaced meal with only slightly better items but couldnt be bothered so left it. Do not eat here if you like food.

Helpful?
1 Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“*RESTAURANT ONLY* Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Since TripAdvisor didn't want to add a separate page for the restaurant part of this business due to 'not meeting the criteria', I have no choice but to add the review here.

It was my mother's birthday outing and she had decided that she wanted to visit Chesterfield market and have a meal out at the Portland Hotel. We aee all Wetherspoons fans, as we have an exceptional restaurant in my town that we visit regularly and so we were looking forward to familiar food.

After looking around the market we decided to go in and eat. Upon entering, the restaurant was full to the brim, though it seemed it was mostly for the bar. We found a table, sat down and decided on what we would like to eat. By that point, I was ravenous and didn't mind what I ate. I decided on a Tennessee burger, as I had not tried it before and am a huge fan of Jack Daniels marinades and sauces. My fiance and myself decided to pay for my mother's meal too and my mother's partner paid for his meal separately.

When we reached the bar it didn't actually take them that long to serve us and, considering the number of people, I was impressed. The service behind the bar was good, it seemed. My mother's partner was also being served too. It was then that things started to go wrong. They charged ys for someone elses meal and we had to wait for the manager to issue a refund and put it through again.

After quite a while of fiddling about, we sat back down to wait for our meals. I was pleasantly surprised when they arrived very quickly. We had all ordered burgers . 2 brunch burgers, 1 Tennessee burger (mine), 1 gourmet burger.

The waitress arrived with 2 gourmet and 1 brunch. When we corrected her and explained that our orders had 2 brunch, not 2 gourmet she instantly turned defensive and rather snotty. After her trying to palm them off on us a second time and us explaining yet again that it was wrong, she demanded rather bitterly to see our receipts. Unfortunately, the mess up at the bar ended up with us only receiving a copy of the total and not the itemized receipts. After a huge strop, she made her way back into the kitchen to fetch my Tennessee burger and the other brunch burger... only to come out with another waitress in toe with the Tennessee, brunch snd two more gourmet burgers! We explained for the THIRD time what our order was and she then told us thst there were 4 other plates of gourmet burger in the kitchen too! What in the world!?

Finally, she got the message and went to rage at the kitchen staff or bar staff while we readied ourselves for our meal. It was then we noticed the state of the burgers. Charred to a crisp! Mine had come out the worst and it wss virtually impossible to bite into. It was like eating a hockey puck! I had no choice but to leave it which left me with a sauce and salad cob with chips and onion rings. (Which were horribly greasy. )

I was still hungry afterwards, but refused to order dessert for fear of more muck ups. So, we got ready to leave. That was when I set foot in the toilets. Every stall had something wrong. No toilet paper, poop smeared on the door or wall, full bowls, dirt and pee on the seat... I'd had enough.

I left unimpressed, disgusted and hungry.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeltyCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Portland Hotel JD Wetherspoon also viewed

Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Eastwood, Nottinghamshire
 
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Portland Hotel JD Wetherspoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing