We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of The Portland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Portland Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

First stay in a Wetherspoons hotel. I was very suprised at how good it was. It is situated right in the centre close to all local amenities. Staff were helpful and pleasant and the room was clean. Very little noise considering we were above a pub. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin-g-l_1961, Manager at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you for your feed back.
Your comments mean alot to us, thank you.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    190
    30
    11
    7
See reviews for
74
312
38
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
lincolnshire uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Love this hotel and have stayed lots of times, Free car park but not many spaces you have to be fairly early. Lots of cheap food and drink downstairs in Wetherspoon, (and walk to the other end of town for another friendly Wetherspoons) Massive market on the doorstep. Lovely staff in the hotel and the pub downstairs. One of our favourite weekend locations very laid back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin50sal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My friend Julia and myself have always wanted to visit Chatsworth so we booked the Portland hotel in chesterfield and looked for tickets on train line we could only get bargain tickets for return journey to London on trains so we travelled up on coach.The room was OK beds very clean one of the curtains was ripped and tattered. The worst thing was the shower the water came out boiling hot for 30seconds then. freezing cold. This was dangerous and we had to stand not under the shower but in the bath waiting for the 8 seconds when the water was just warm not a good experience.The food in the restaurant was good value for money and the staff very friendly and helpful.Our worst experience was on our last day when we had breakfast and at 10oclock we ordered our taxi for 11.10am to pick us up in the car park.We were in the car park at 11 o'clock and when11.10 came and no taxi my friend went back to reception to ask where our taxi was the same receptionist who had ordered our taxi said he had been to the front of the hotel and was driving around looking for us as we had been quite explicit that we would be waiting inthecar park my friend asked threceptionist to ring the company and ask for him to pick us up in the car park it was now 11.15 and our train was leaving at 11.39.As the station is a five minute journey from train station we still had time .Five minutes later no taxi we went back to receptionist who said the taxi would be here in 30 seconds.By this time I was getting very stressed as now it was 11.23. At 11.28 we went back to reception buzzed the buzzer but no-one came returned to car park and my friend hailed down a cab which turned out to be our taxi the driver said he had only just been called. I had no hopes of catching our train the driver got us there in four minutes and my friend and i ran down two flights of stairs under the tunnel by now breathless as I am asthmatic Julia ran up steps as the rail man on the platform was blowing the whistle she asked him to wait for a few seconds while i came up the two flights of stairs he was not happy said we should have got there on time but we made the train with me fighting for breath for the next twenty minutes.You may wonder why we did not catch the next train well our reduced tickets were not transferable and it would have cost us £69.00 each. It will be a long time before I use a wetherspoon Hotel again we were in room 214

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank cello1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin-g-l_1961, Manager at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you for your feed back.

Sorry to hear about your bad experience.
We did explain on check out to you regarding the water problem.

We did actualy call the Taxi company for you 3 times.

One of my house keeping team came down to you in the car park to make sure you was ok. As she arrived to speak with you your Taxi arrived, So we don't see how you had to hail a Taxi down. As she arrived you got into the Taxi.
We cannot control the Taxis we just call them like a customer does. When they do not turn up or are late then this is something that you would have to take up with the Taxi company.
We feel we did all we could for you at the time.

Kind regards,

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We booked in for a Thursday through to Sunday stay at the Portland Hotel in Chesterfield, and arrived in the late afternoon to find the car park virtually full. We took the last but one space and when we checked in, we asked the receptionist whether there would be a problem the following day, as we'd be returning late. He said no, as many of the cars belonged to the staff and they would be asked to move them to make way for the guests.

So we came back at 8:30 pm on Friday night and the car park was totally full. We called reception and were told there was nothing they could do, it's a limited space car park and it's first come first served. We would have to park in a car park behind another pub, which was pay and display but if we moved the car before 8:00 am, we wouldn't have to pay and other guests had reported that their car had been fine when they left it there. We were also told that it was not the hotel's obligation to tell us there was only limited car parking, or mention it when we checked in and anyway if you booked online, the website said alternative car parking was available. The lady on reception that evening made it clear she felt we were therefore being totally unreasonable.

Actually what the website says is: " On-site parking is available (you will need to collect a permit from reception). Alternatively, pay-and-display parking is available in several nearby car parks." I guess I should have deduced that the mention of alternative parking means there is very limited parking (about a dozen spaces for 22 rooms plus staff). Nor does it say that some of the alternative car parks are closed at night or that the one that you can get into at night is behind a rowdy pub, and had a bunch of youths throwing bottles around in it when my husband took the car round to it ...).

So checked out the following morning and spent a comfortable night at the Ibis, with our car securely parked OFF the road (although that hotel also seems to have more rooms than it has parking spaces).

What else at the Portland? If you can't or don't want to do stairs, check what room you'll be allocated. The lift from the car park only goes up to reception. If you're given a room on the floor above, you have to cart yourself and your luggage up quite a steep flight of stairs. And it all smelt faintly of beer - not surprising for a hotel above a JD Wetherspoons, where at 9:30 am on a Friday morning the bar is busy with punters drinking pints of the stuff.

Apart from that, the room was ok - we were in room 222, which faces the back and therefore perhaps quieter than the ones right on the market square. It was tired but clean and spacious, with TV, coffee, tea, etc. and the beds were ok. But the water in the bathroom came out in fits and spurts so it was impossible to have a shower. Apparently an engineer was coming to fix that. And there was some rather unpleasant mould on the grouting around the bath. We ate in the pub on Thursday night and thought their curry meal was very good value and the staff in the bar were helpful (although the banquette had seen better days and the tables were sticky from spilt beer). And the receptionist on duty when we checked out was very attentive and apologised for the shower and the car parking situation. But it's not on our list for a return visit ...

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back of the hotel as they will be quieter, and on the first floor of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlebrooktrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin-g-l_1961, Manager at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you for your feed back.

Good or bad its nice to know where we can improve on things.
We are lucky to have any car park as alot of our hotels do not have any.
You are right we do let staff park in the car park.. This to stop customers who whould not be there parking. It is much easier to move a member of staff than it is a customer. We have 22 rooms and we can fit in about 15 cars.

I hope you visit us again and you experience is much more pleasant for you.

Kind regards,

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

A JD Wetherspoon Hotel situated in centre of Chesterfield. Free parking was a bonus however there are few spaces and have to be early to get one. Room had a pleasant atmosphere, with comfortable bed spare pillows. Overall a good experience and would recommend .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tattyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin-g-l_1961, Manager at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you for your feedback.

So nice to hear you had a nice pleasant stay and would recommend us.

See you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dymchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

If you are looking for a room in the heart of Chesterfield in the Peak District you can do no better than to choose the Wetherspoons Portland Hotel at Chesterfield. Well furnished and large they offer two family rooms that sleep 2 adults and 2 children for £54 a night, excellent value if you consider that in August when we went the average price of a mobile home on a farm or park is in the region of £600.. And you get access to a private room on the bar level with a TV and dart board away from the drinkers where meals can be taken.

And there is a BIG plus, unlike most other holidays IF you have to cancel as long as they hev 12 hours notice you get the money refunded. Last year WE had to cancel because 1 of our grandchildren became ill and not only did the staff find a doctor for us but they suggested we cancel and travel home, which we did, they could not have been more helpful.

Perhaps the main bar was looking a little tired but when you consider how busy the place was it was hardly suprising, the staff told me a full refurbishment is scheduled for Autumn this year.

Room Tip: Romm 101 is a large room with good views, just a little noise from the beer garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marshian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin-g-l_1961, Manager at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you for your feed back.

Its nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to the refurb. Hopefully on your next visit this may be complete.....Watch this space.

See you in the near future.....

Kind regards,

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SURREY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here on our way up to Scotland, Big thank you to Debbie and her team they were great from start to finish, We had our food in the bar downstairs and food was very good and as you would expect from wetherspoons. This was the first time we had stayed in a wetherspoon hotel, and we would book again if in the area.

Room Tip: had room 101 very quiet even though it overlooks the road, this is a lovely big family room with win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolsimpson14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin-g-l_1961, Manager at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you for your feed back.

Thank you for your kind comments :)
I will pass this on to the team. This will make their day.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Take care, See you soon.

Kind regards,

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesterfield hotels
1.1 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
3.6 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chesterfield North Hotel
2.6 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
0.5 mi away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#14 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portland Hotel

Property: The Portland Hotel
Address: West Bars, Chesterfield S40 1AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a JD Wetherspoon hotel in the centre of Chesterfield opposite the historical market place. We have 22 rooms, all onsuite with tea and coffee making facilities,hairdryers and freeview tv we now have a disabled room with all disabled ammenities. We also have a car park however as our car park has limited space and is on a 1st come 1st serve basis, please ring us to pre book your space to avoid disappointment. Our car park charge is just £3.50 Per night. Alternate car parking is the Sun Inn Pub opposite the Portland (front of our pub) £8.00 For 24hrs and The Old Court House £6.00 For 24hrs For best available rates book online ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Portland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Hotel Chesterfield
The Portland Hotel Chesterfield, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing