We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient Central Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Portland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Portland Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Convenient Central Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

If you are travelling and need a good night, easily available food right in the middle of Chesterfield, this Wetherspoons hotel is for you. The service is very friendly, rooms more than adequate but not luxurious and the price very reasonable. Parking is limited but the roadside area at night, even though it has apparent parking restrictions, has always been fine for me to park without problems if the hotel car park is full

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laindonladdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin-g-l_1961, Manager at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Debbie
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    182
    30
    10
    6
See reviews for
70
304
38
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed over Easter Bank Holiday with my wife and another couple. The room was clean with all the usual amenities. Most importantly the bed a standard double was comfortable. My only complaint being that even Travelodge now provide a king size. However this is a small criticism and we slept well. Now we come to my only real complaint. The hot water is near boiling point with large signs warning you of this. The cold water comes in surges the result is using the shower is impossible. However the bath fills up quickly. The receptionist informed us that they are waiting for a refurbishment. Since this seems to be a constant complaint from other reviewers so I would suggest that Weatherspoons do something about it now. The staff are excellent. Since we travelled by train parking was not an issue. There is however a simple remedy. The Portland has the largest beer garden in the town for most of the year unused. Convert some of it to parking spaces. Finally when reviewing any hotel price has to be a factor. This hotel is inexpensive at around £40 a night.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscarsdad10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin-g-l_1961, Manager at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your feed back.

Good or bad it's great to hear your views.
The hotel closes on the 15th ~June for 8 weeks.
All the issues will be solved.

So we hope to see you once we are up and running again.

Please note the pub will still be open during this time.
So pop in and have a drink with us.

See you soon.

Kind regards,

Debbie
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as I was in Chesterfield for a friend's wedding.

I arrived late at night to check in and the staff at reception were among the most warm and friendly I have ever met, which was lovely!

The room was fairly decent - clean, beds well made, with tea/coffee and sparkling/still water out, hairdryer. The bathroom was especially clean. I mostly had a good night's sleep on both nights and the bed was very comfortable.

The location is great - right in the town centre, about a 10 minute walk from the train station.

Breakfast, or any kind of meals/drinks is available at the Wetherspoon's on the ground floor. I had a very large cooked breakfast for a very reasonable price indeed, especially compared to what other hotels try to charge sometimes!

The only thing I would say is that whilst there are pigeon spikes on a lot of the ledges on the exterior of the building, there are a lot of ledges without them and the facade is literally a magnet for pigeons, perching on the sign, window ledges, the eaves etc. I was woken up at about 5am by them cooing very loudly and about 7 of them flew off when I went to the window to see where they were. They really should make it impossible for pigeons to land there.

All in all though a good hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmytraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin-g-l_1961, Manager at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your feed back.

Glad you had a nice warm welcome.

It's nice to hear about what you thought and of the pigeons too...

We look foward to your stay with us again at The Portland Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Debbie

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
399 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

When booking the Portland , I was aware that there were other newer chain hotels to stay at , but I chose this place as the location and accessibility to the other bars ,restaurants and shops is ideal.
We didn't actually eat at the Wetherspoons as we wanted to try other restaurants and see what else Chesterfield had to offer.
Would stay here again as it suited our requirements well

Room Tip: The hotel is adjacent to the market square so request a room overlooking the square if poss
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shalovesny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin-g-l_1961, Manager at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your feed back.

It's a great little town as you have seen.
I like the rooms on the front too they have character and it's great to over look the market square.

See you again soon.

Kind regards,

Debbie
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

This is all you need for a short break in Derbyshire. Central to Chesterfield & near all the many pubs in the town centre. Room was large & clean. Water very hot & towels large & clean. Surprisingly quiet as it's above the wetherspoons pub.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DJCollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin-g-l_1961, Manager at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your feed back.
It's great to hear you had a lovely stay with us here in Chesterfield.

We look forward to seeing you agian soon.

Kind regards,

Debbie

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Recently stayed for one night. Requested a quiet room and this was accommodated, we had a room on the top floor which was quiet apart from the loo cistern if flushed in middle of the night!!. The room was a good size with plenty of space for one night, tea, coffee, water and biscuits provided, The bed was comfy with extra pillows available. Everything was clean and the heating worked.

The bathroom did need a bit of updating, but was a good size, clean and everything worked.

The check in staff were friendly and helpful

The location is great and close to all the pubs and shops etc. so very good for a nigh out.

Only had the breakfast down stairs in the Weatherspoon's, this was very good and the usual standard to the chain.

All in all, it was a great value for money, you get what you pay for, hotel has a great location and is clean and warm.. you don't really need anything else.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kezza6977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin-g-l_1961, Manager at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your feed back.

It's great to hear what our customers think.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Debbie

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Have stayed here a couple of times before. The hotel is clean comfy staff are very helpful if your looking for somewhere to stay in the Center of town this is your place. The car park is a bit tight and not enough spaces for the rooms .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil101066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin-g-l_1961, Manager at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your feed back.

It's nice to know you have stayed with us a few times.
I will pass this on to the team.

Once again Thank you and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards,

Debbie
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesterfield hotels
1.2 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ibis Chesterfield North
#1 of 1 in Barlborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chesterfield North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portland Hotel

Property: The Portland Hotel
Address: West Bars, Chesterfield S40 1AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a JD Wetherspoon hotel in the centre of Chesterfield opposite the historical market place. We have 22 rooms, all onsuite with tea and coffee making facilities,hairdryers and freeview tv we now have a disabled room with all disabled ammenities. We also have a car park however as our car park has limited space and is on a 1st come 1st serve basis, please ring us to pre book your space to avoid disappointment. Our car park charge is just £3.50 Per night. Alternate car parking is the Sun Inn Pub opposite the Portland (front of our pub) £8.00 For 24hrs and The Old Court House £6.00 For 24hrs For best available rates book online ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Portland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Hotel Chesterfield
The Portland Hotel Chesterfield, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing