We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent friendly”
Review of The Portland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Portland Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We found the hotel spotless and the staff were very friendly. Lovely tasteful room with king size bed. Also had a lovely bath and shower. Coffee,Tea and sugar and complimentary water. Downstairs was a wetherspoons pub so nice and cheap value for money. Right in the town centre opposite the excellent market. The staff were helpful and friendly and although room was in town centre no noise and air con. Would recommend and will stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Booked here for one night in room 219, myself and a friend. Pretty basic but plenty of tea and coffee and also 2 packs of biscuits :-) also 2 complimentary bottles of water which was a nice touch. Bed very comfortable although woken up a few times because of late night revellers but hey if you book into a city centre hotel then you should expect this I guess. No shower in our room which was a bit of a disappointment especially when there was plenty of shower gel supplied in a holder on the wall! On leaving we were very impressed to see all the bedrooms on our floor were being cleaned and beds were being moved and hoovered underneath! Would definitely stay again if visiting Chesterfield.

Room Tip: Room 219 partly overlooked the market square. If you don't mind the lack of a shower in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin-g-l_1961, Manager at The Portland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your feed back.

It's great to hear your thoughts. I will pass this onto the team. :)
We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have stayed here before a couple of months ago and it was ok. Good value for money. Myself and six of my colleagues decided to stay again 2nd and 3rd June. I was given a family room, spaciaous and just me in it. Problem was, there was a terrible drainage smell eminating from the bathroom. The following morning I addessed this with a team leader, he apologised stating it was a drainage problem that worsens at night time. That was it. That night, after work, same horrible smell. Following morning, again commented to same team leader and again told its the drains, council issue, not there fault but is affecting that corner of the building. No offer of another room, and although paying through business expenses, no compensation either. So, as others have reviewed, you get what you pay for. Just might get a bit more than you expect if you are offered room 101, 102 or 121. Not sure will be rectified by coming refurbishment but also hope the pulsing water system (a nighmare in the shower!) might be fixed.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 101, 102 and 121 as stated by one of the team leaders.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin-g-l_1961, Manager at The Portland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your feed back.
It's good to hear the good and the bad.

May I take this oppertunity to appologise and all the issues will be taken up on the re-furb.
We re-open on the 9th August 2014.
So why not come and revist us and let us know your thoughts.

Kind Regards,

Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Made last minute booking for Bank holiday weekend and not disappointed. Room was clean and comfortable and overlooking the town square and the lovely Saturday market so excellent location in town centre. Bathroom very small but OK apart from erratic water supply. Only criticism was strange whoosh/clunk noise that went on all day and night and eventually got on nerves! Think it was the plumbing. Hotel has car parking although area is small and it's first come first serve and the staff seem to take the places. Ate breakfast in hotel so typical Wetherspoons good value. Large bar area and plenty of tables for eating in the evening. Although room was over the front of hotel was not disturbed by any noise from the pub below, but that could have been as a result of the endless lashing rain!!
Good location for touring Peak District. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuddsyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin-g-l_1961, Manager at The Portland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your feed back.

It's good to know that you would recommend us and that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to seeing you after the re-furb, when we are all shiney and new.

Kind regards,

Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I would recommend this hotel.

It is very clean with large, comfortable rooms and very friendly and helpful staff.

There are some minor issues, (like the hokey cokey shower that delivers alternate hot and cold water), but nothing that should deter you fom staying.

The hotel is extremely well situated for exploring Chesterfield and its' markets as well as having exceptionally quick access to the bus routes for access to the Derbyshire area.

Having seen some previous comments I would say - exceptionally good value for what you pay.

Room Tip: None of the rooms are exceptionally noisy but, if you need silence whilst you sleep, ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin-g-l_1961, Manager at The Portland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your feed back.

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Very reasonable rates, Very friendly and helpful staff, Exceptionally clean, Very central to Chesterfield, safe and secure. On the downside, the water supply to my room 'pulsed' hot and cold, the windows would not shut, there were starlings nesting outside the window, limited parking.
I would recommend this hotel if you are having a quick stay in Chesterfield and want a good priced hotel. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThinTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin-g-l_1961, Manager at The Portland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your feed back.

Glad to hear you will be back to stay with us.
Please note the water issue is in order we will be closing for the re-furb so the issues will be resolved.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Debbie
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Having never stayed above a pub before, we were apprehensive, but got a really good deal rate via Trip Advisor and we were only staying for one night. What a pleasant surprise to find, even though we were on the first floor we experienced a great night's sleep in a spacious room (overlooking the market square- lovely!), with large bathroom, and with NO noise (the pub below shut at midnight and was packed!). Crisp white bedlinen and fluffy towels and lots of hot water- we couldn't have asked for better. We liked it that we had bottled water on our refreshment tray, too. We found no problem parking at the hotel (check out street views on Google earth), and the staff were all really friendly and efficient. Breakfast wasn't included and we expected to walk to the veggie cafe in the Shambles in the morning, but on looking at the menu we found excellent value vegetarian options as well as fresh orange juice, choices of coffee, and porridge. We had never ventured into a Wetherspoons before (we're not really in their demographic) but thought it was really good- and we could sit out in the sunshine beer garden. We were told by a receptionist that all the rooms are to be upgraded this Summer. The only point against our whole experience was the quality of the pillows (rather thin-we're used to firm ones- though we had 2 each) Were we to stay in Chesterfield again we'd definitely book here as the location is so good, and we were impressed by the peacefulness of our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nosliwoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin-g-l_1961, Manager at The Portland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your feed back.

Glad to hear you had a good stay with us.
I will pass this onto the team.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Debbie
Lancaster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesterfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
813 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,464 reviews
3.6 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#13 of 15 in Chesterfield
248 reviews
5.2 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
236 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portland Hotel

Address: West Bars, Chesterfield S40 1AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chesterfield
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chesterfield
Price Range: £44 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a JD Wetherspoon hotel in the centre of Chesterfield opposite the historical market place. We have 22 rooms, all onsuite with tea and coffee making facilities,hairdryers and freeview tv we now have a disabled room with all disabled ammenities. We also have a car park however as our car park has limited space and is on a 1st come 1st serve basis, please ring us to pre book your space to avoid disappointment. Our car park charge is just £3.50 Per night. Alternate car parking is the Sun Inn Pub opposite the Portland (front of our pub) £8.00 For 24hrs and The Old Court House £6.00 For 24hrs For best available rates book online ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Portland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Hotel Chesterfield
The Portland Hotel Chesterfield, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing