We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous b&b” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Hill Farm House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle Hill Farm House
Ranked #22 of 46 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous b&b”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely B&B. Just on edge of bakewell but nice easy 5-10 mins into the town. Really great breakfast and spotlessly clean rooms with everything you need. No problem having bathroom down the hallway. Soft bed in the smaller bedroom. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
125
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Booked 2 nights here as attending a wedding on the Saturday and had a long drive up from Portsmouth on the Friday.
I booked based on the many glowing reviews on Tripadvisor and couldn't have been happier with my choice!
Christine is a wonderful host and her son even offered to give us a lift to pick up our car on Sunday morning if we struggled to get a taxi!
The bed was extremely comfortable - and I struggle to sleep in our bed at home so this is a real find!
Breakfast was delicious - both the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs of full english are recommended.
If you're a foodie I would strongly recommend staying here over the last Saturday of the month as they hold a fantastic Farmers Market in Bakewell that offers a huge choice of local produce.
We very much look forward to returning!

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms - Room 1 is a bigger bedroom with a smaller bathroom (shower only) and Room 2 is a bigg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank styles100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

A charming period cottage with beams and latch doors. The two bedrooms have been suitably modernised with all the usual mod cons (tv, kettle etc) and the bathrooms are of a high standard. But its the attention to detail and the little extras which make this place stand out - afternoon cream teas, excellent breakfasts, and chocolates in the rooms (its not all about food, but it doesn't hurt).
A superb setting overlooking the river and a wonderful warm welcome resulted in a stay to remember.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mutznuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Castle Hill Farm house is a charming cottage, about 5 mins walk from the centre of Bakewell. Christine is a wonderful host who welcomed us with tea and cakes on both afternoons. There was also a balloon in our room for our anniversary. The breakfasts are excellent, one of these is enough to keep you fuelled for the day.
Both rooms have a private bathroom just down the hall from the bedroom, which is not a problem, but if you get the choice, go for the smaller bedroom which has the bigger bathroom.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cmcl776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Just had our first night at Castle Hill and thankfully we have a second to look forward to. On arriving Christine met us with a very welcome large pot of tea and complimentary cream tea to rival any we have had in Devon. First to arrive we chose the smaller of the two rooms purely because it has a bath as well as a shower to soak our aching knees. Both rooms and bath/shower rooms are spotless and beautifully presented. No shortage of tea, coffee etc and we even got a lovely bag of hand made chocolates. Breakfast was fabulous and large enough to fuel any walkers impending efforts. The fruit salad was so fresh and what was left was boxed up for us by Christine for our day out. This is the sort of place that when you find it you keep on coming back, no wonder Christine is at number 1 on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

A beautiful old cottage, great location (5min walk into Bakewell centre), excellent rooms, amazing breakfasts, lovely attention to detail and a fantastic host. One to recommend.

We stayed here for valentines weekend and had a truly amazing time. The cottage is beautifully old, but well appointed, with WIFI, lovely bedrooms and private bathrooms. Christine, is a fantastic host and her breakfasts and afternoon teas and absolutely fantastic. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m_frow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights on a weekend in this lovely place and thoroughly enjoyed it!

The house is very close to Bakewell town centre and has a good view of the river Wye. It's also conveniently close to the Monsal Trail.

Our room was in impeccable condition, very cosy and with excellent WiFi signal (quite handy on a rainy day).

Our hostess, Christine, was very kind and helpful and prepared the most amazing breakfast we've had so far! The food was delicious and in large quantities.

Overall it was a perfect stay and we're already thinking of coming back in Summer.

I'd gladly recommend anyone to stay here.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jose V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
0.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
0.2 mi away
Bed and Breakfast One Castle Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Terrafirma Guest House
Terrafirma Guest House
#20 of 46 in Bakewell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
4.5 mi away
Gratton Grange Farm Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#11 of 46 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hill Farm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Farm House

Property: Castle Hill Farm House
Address: Castle Hill Farmhouse Baslow Road, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Hill Farm House is an idyllic bed and breakfast set in a grade II listed building in the heart of the Peak National Park. It is a few minutes walk along the River Wye to the historical town centre of Bakewell in Derbyshire, which boasts incredible countryside, local attractions, and is home to the Original Bakewell Pudding.There are 2 rooms which are both charming and unique, each with garden and river views. Both rooms have a private bathroom a few steps from the bedroom, and robes are supplied for your comfort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Farm House Bakewell, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing