We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Haddon House Farm B & B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Haddon House Farm B & B
Ranked #42 of 44 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Haddon house farm B&B is a great place to base yourself at to explore the beautiful peak district. Bill and Marilyn were great hosts and afforded us a very friendly welcome on arrival. Nothing is too much bother for them and they are very keen to ensure you have a very pleasant stay . Indeed you are made to feel like old friends calling in which was very nice. The Shakespeare room we stayed in was very clean and great fun away from the norm , the kingsize four poster was a real treat to sleep in .The kitchenette in the cupboard had everything we needed for hot and cold drinks with a plentiful supply of glasses and mugs/cutlery etc. Breakfast was around their very own table in the kitchen which again was homely and relaxing, we enjoyed our morning chats about the farm and an array of other subjects. The breakfast was hearty and good quality locally sourced produce and it set us up nicely for our days walking directly from the farm . It was a shame to leave on the Monday and Marilyn very kindly let us leave the car with them for one last walk into Bakewell which takes 10-12 mins on foot. Sure we'll be back in the future for another visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crush66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2012

Set in a beautiful location just outside Bakewell, maybe 10 minutes walk, this place was ideal for what we were looking for. Spacious, unusual and full of nik naks, this place was just so quirky. Some people would probably hate it but I loved it..so many collectables to look at.
Bill and Marilyn were friendly and warm, always ready to chat and make an excellent team. Marilyn struggles to get about and was in a wheelchair due to an accident where she broke both her ankles so Bill did the running around. You actually stay in thier house which some people may find off putting but there are so many different stairways, little annexe's etc that you don't really feel as though you are intruding.

The rooms were spacious and well decorated, each having a unique theme. We stayed in the Master Room which had a lovely comfortable huge 4 poster. There was a bathroom shower room and then through that, on the other side was a tiny room right in the eaves all ready for a child to sleep in..so I guess it would be good for a family as Mum and Dad could still have some privacy. There were wonderful views from this room over the fields. There are so many stairways and rooms to go through I suppose it would be easy to get lost in the house finding your way back to your room.

The only thing that had me worried was the first time I flushed the loo, the water rose right to the top as if it was blocked and I feared it might overflow but it didn't and this is just how it works. You get used to it!

In the room, there is like an information book telling you about restaurants, things to do, places to visit, taxi numbers etc which is quite handy if you are a tourist without a plan. The bed was so comfy I did not want to get out of it the next day...however the smell of cooking bacon proved to be quite a lure.

Breakfast can be a combination of anything as there were cereals and a selection of fresh fruit available as well as the full English which was cooked to order. You actually sit in their own kitchen and again people may find this a little off putting but we loved it and sat chatting with Marilyn and some other guests from Cork. Plenty of coffee top ups on offer as well as fruit juice, toast and preserves etc and even an offer to make porridge if we wished.

It is a working farm and we got to go in the stable and see Toby the rescue horse who had been spooked by a firework and 2 sheep that were less sociable and turned their backs on us in such a funny way. Bill and Marilyn themselves are very sociable and I would definitely return there. It was just the type of place I would like to stay in and I had no complaints about anything really other than I think it was probably a little over priced at £135 for one night.

Room Tip: More privacy if you opt for one of the rooms on the ground floor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justval1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We recently spent 5 nights at Haddon House Farm B&B and I cannot say enough good things about the experience. To begin, the location is convenient for visiting many historic sights in the area (Chatsworth House and Haddon Hall among them) and is only minutes from the high street in the lovely village of Bakewell. Many great places to eat and shop there. Lots of things to see and do within a short drive from Haddon House Farm. Marilyn and Bill are wonderful hosts and go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Our room (the Monet Room) was quite nicely furnished with a particularly comfortable bed. Breakfasts were wonderful and featured a full English breakfast, cereals, juice, coffee or tea etc. Delicious! This is a working farm and there are lovely walking paths around the property as well as incredibly scenic walking paths and trails nearby. Marilyn and Bill know the area well and are eager to make suggestions regarding things to see and do. The Peak district is one of the most beautiful corners of England and I would highly recommend Haddon House Farm B&B as a place to stay when you visit.

Room Tip: Monet room and Shakespeare room are on the ground floor near the main entrance. A bit more private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This was our second trip to Haddon House Farm and it certainly will not be our last. Staying with Marilyn and Bill is a treat as you really do feel made welcome to share their home. It feels like a home away from home and nothing ever seems too much trouble. Breakfast is a real treat and kept us going until well into the afternoon. Fresh fruit, cereals, juices, full English cooked breakfast, toast, conserves, tea and coffee all beautifully presented. The rooms are extremely comfortable and spacious with every consideration given to your needs. Fresh shortbread didn't last long in our room!!

This really is a lovely retreat with so many inspiring places to visit nearby which Marilyn and Bill will happily talk to you about should you have any queries.

You get a very warm welcome in a private home and we were lucky to meet some lovely people during our stay which was an added bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I stayed here for a romantic weekend where we could enjoy the countryside and pass the day in green hills, walking and enjoying pub lunches. Marilyn & Bill were attentive hosts who helped us with their recommendations. The quality of the bed was particularly good, and we slept beautifully, waking to a great breakfast. We recommend Haddon House Farm if you're looking for a country break.

Room Tip: The Wil Shakespeare was very romantic with its king size 4 poster bed and medieval theme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judy233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I've stayed here three times with either my best friend or sister (leaving the husbands behind to mangle their own dinner), and have just booked the fourth trip hurrah! Each stay has been a real treat. Haddon House is a working farm and very much lived-in home, and all the better for that, so perhaps other reviewers who were unfortunately disappointed had different expectations.

It's situated just outside pretty Bakewell, up a long drive so is well away from the road and very quiet. Park up in the little yard, or just outside under a tree, no-one seems too worried. The quirkily attractive entrance hall is actually on a lower ground floor, with a couple of ensuite bedrooms just off it, both decorated in a very individual and imaginative style. Up the stairs to the kitchen and the main floor of the farmhouse, and you may find lovely Marilyn doing the ironing! Bill appears from nowhere and is sooooo helpful (we rather fell for him, sorry Marilyn) and always has time for you, in between delivering lambkins and sitting on a haystack chewing a straw, or whatever farmers do. There's a couple of little doggies clattering about hopefully, when they're not off on a mission out in the fields.

Up another little staircase to Spring Meadow, which is beautifully decorated with a lot of attention to detail. There is a double bed and a separate comfy single divan, and the room is very light and airy. The bathroom is just a couple of steps away - it's rather like having your own cosy little annexe, and great fun. There's a flatscreen tv/ DVD player on the wall, a good-sized wardrobe and a tray with some nice crockery and a good selection of teas etc. Marilyn will give you a jug of fresh milk for the asking.

Back down the stairs, through the kitchen, and up another staircase (adventure!) to the master/family suite, with a double bedroom with four poster, shower room, and cute single room, all very nicely done out.

Outside is a delightful cottage garden, lovely to sit in, with the hot tub down a few steps, under cover but open to the elements. There are candles around, which dear Bill will light if you go in after dark, and little twinklie stars set into the ceiling. It's very atmospheric to lounge in the water and listen to the owls hooting in the night (there was a separate charge for the hot tub, although we stopped caring about that half way through a bottle of Chardonnay).

Breakfast is served round the large kitchen table with whoever else happens to be staying (great if it's George Clooney, maybe not so good if it's an axe murderer), with Marilyn cooking up a smashing hot farmhouse breakfast to order. There's a great selection of fresh fruit, juices and cereals if you're a healthy type. It's all very relaxed and informal, and sitting with strangers isn't a problem, everyone seems nice and Marilyn and Bill are always good company. I don't know about the muffins, I'm usually too full of local sausage to notice.

I arrived last time feeling really poorly (but not wanting to cancel and let both Marilyn and my sister down at the last minute) and looking like death warmed up. Marilyn fussed and cooed over me like a mother hen, and scolded me into eating breakfast after which I felt miraculously better. You wouldn't get that sort of attention at a country house hotel!

The location is great, with prime walking all around. Lovely Lathkill dale is nearby, as are Haddon Hall and Chatsworth, both unmissable. You can have a nice light lunch on squashy sofas at the Rutland hotel in the centre of Bakewell, and even peer up the stairs at room 2, where Jane Austen stayed and wrote the final draft of Pride and Prejudice. She based Pemberley on Chatsworth, Lambton on Bakewell, and the inn at Lambton on the Rutland hotel. Indeed - be still, my beating heart! - the hotel staircase is the very one that Darcy (swoon!) mounted when he called on Elizabeth Bennett while she was staying there with her relations. It was the window of Room 2 that Lizzy looked out of to see Darcy's curricle arrive (it says so on a plaque, so there!).

Le Mistral, a bistro in the town centre, and Felicini's, by the river, are both very nice places to eat, although sadly Darcy was not known to have visited them. You can't have everything.

When I rang recently to book our next stay, Marilyn couldn't have been more welcoming and said how pleased she would be to see us again. Going back there is like a home-from-home, and we start to relax as soon as we turn in the drive. It's not a 5 star gin palace (if that's your thing) but a lovely farm with very nice people who obviously care a lot about their guests.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank larissa45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Having stayed in hotels whenever I have gone away, when told I was staying in a B & B I approached the trip with some trepidation.
What a pleasant surprise !
The bedroom was extremely comfortable and well decorated (better than many hotels) The bed was more than big enough for my 6' + frame which meant we were both able to sleep without disturbing each other. It was a warm weekend but by closing the door and opening the windows a pleasant through draft kept us cool. The bathroom was very relaxing and if having quirky objects throughout was tastefully done. I found Bill and Marilyn warm and welcoming. The breakfast was excellent - fresh fruit, cooked breakfast toast and an unending supply of fresh coffee. They both joined us every morning and were extremely good company and helpful

Not only are we planning a return trip but we bought the flowers to say thank you for such a great weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
2.5 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ashford-in-the-Water
232 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
180 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Farmyard Inn
The Farmyard Inn
#1 of 4 in Youlgreave
258 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
2.6 mi away
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haddon House Farm B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haddon House Farm B & B

Address: Haddon House Farm Haddon Road, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Haddon House Farm Bed And Breakfast
Haddon House Farm Hotel Bakewell
Haddon House Farm B & B Bakewell, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing