We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Peacock Bakewell
Ranked #15 of 44 Bakewell B&B and Inns
cheshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My partner and I visited Bakewell last Friday, we decided to eat at The Peacock and had a lovely table for two. I must say that the food was amazing. My partner had the Steak on a Stone and I had the Lamb Cutlets from the special board. The food was beautifully presented and I must say are meals were second to none. The only thing that I would say that could be improved is the young waitresses might want to be more aware of when to take away the plates once the customers have finished eating. But no doubt with the guidance of the more experienced girls and the owners they will soon improve. We then shared a pudding which was faultless!!!. So if you are visiting Bakewell please visit the Peacock because we will definitely be back, the atmosphere and food were wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annetteCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, Wanted - Experienced Girls, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Amazing - yep can't say I disagree with you Annette but as a result of your criticism of the young waitress who was doing her best, she has been sacked, left the building - how dare she not be aware of when to take away the plates once customers have finished eating!



....just kidding of course - poor soul she was only doing her best, and we will as advised give her more guidance from the more experienced girls .....when we find 'em

Thanks for the lovely review and as promised we will see you on your promised return.

Now i've got to find these experienced girls - anybody offering help!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    124
    38
    27
    26
See reviews for
62
226
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Together with four friends, my wife and I stayed 3 nights at the Peacock in early June. It proved to be a great choice. The accommodation was fine - no frills but clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was superb - way above, in choice, presentation, quality and quantity what we would normally expect from a quality 'British Pub'. We thoroughly recommend this busy but well managed establishment. Parking was limited, but adequate.Try not to arrive before 4pm on a Monday while the adjacent market is in full swing making access to the Peacock difficult.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19Emslie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, you will always find what you're looking for, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
....and you have posted a review that most pubs are looking for emslie, who sailed in from Falmouth looking for that Great British Pub.

Thanks for the compliments, they have been passed onto all the staff who take on board your nice comments with a willingness to improve further up down the road.

The Peacock may be difficult to access on market day, but we certainly don't complain when it is still standing room only - now why is that?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

After deciding to visit Bakewell for the day, we enjoyed it so much that we thought we would stay overnight...as The Peacock was oposite the car park we were currently in we ambled in to see if there were any rooms available, to our relief there was...The food and staff were absolutely amazing!
So amazing that we even booked in for another night and a further weeks stay in August.
A most fantasically friendly B&B to feast in
"Thankyou" :-)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, The Relief Doctor, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
....now when Alan & Marina ambled into the Peacock little did they know the Relief Doctor was on hand and to their amazement he sorted amazing food and staff to take care of their every need!

So much so he couldn't get rid of them and so much more, they are coming back for more in August, because they know where to get relief - come on people what goes through your mind...

See you on the hopefully, Hot August Nights where the Peacock is the Real Diamond - yet again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My family and I today visited Bakewell and found a treasure of a pub called - The Peacock in Bridge Street. Although I had previously checked trip advisors website, I found the food was first class and even better than described and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I can honestly say that I would certainly recommend this pub as it's the jewl in the crown of Bakewell and we will certainly visit again in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Willerby18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, Target practise is always advisable at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Now if we are better than described Willerby, then maybe that's all that has to be said on this occasion, but we will still thank you for the complimentary remarks, because I can't say it any better....

Make sure you don't miss us on your return to Bakewell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Myself and a friend were enroute to Matlock and stopped in Bakewell for a look around and something to eat. We came across The Peacock and read the menu outside. When we saw Fish Finger Sandwiches, we just had to go in.
These were not your ordinary fish fingers though. They were huge home-made ones with delicious crispy batter and served on thick slices of fresh bread.
My friend is a bit of a beer nut and was able to sample from an excellent choice.
We shall certainly be going again soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, When a pub is not ordinary you know it's, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Stephen B. - you found out for yourself when in the Peacock in Bakewell you are not in an ordinary Pub, but the Peacock in Bakewell.

Need I say more.... well yes

Thanks for the nice post!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We were staying at a local campsite and had visited Bakewell on the Monday to go to the market. We spotted The Peacock and decided to eat here. The weather was lovely and we sat in the beer garden area. Very impressed to see two staff members making this area clean by sweeping and wiping the seats after a wet evening.
We had two children and ordered them a meal each from the children's menu. Also we ordered two meals from the snacks menu.
When the children's meals arrived, they were great. The way they were served in a bowl sat on a wooden plate was great and they had a slice of lemon for the fish, and a sealed jar of tomato sauce. Great portion sizes too.
When the adult meals arrived, again fantastic, well presented and great portion sizes. They were served on wooden boards with the chips in a silver bucket.
The service was excellent and for the price I believe it was great value for the quality of food, portions and delivery. Well done and we will defo be returning when we come to Bakewell again. Infact I was still talking about the food the day after, that's how much we loved it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kbettyboo314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, Betty Boo - Doin' the Do, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Betty Boo - the one from Blackpool, yes you Girl....

Thanks for the lovely review, and coming from a camper caught in the rain, that is always a compliment to be reckoned with, so you've been reckoned and we've been complimented.

Good Combination!

I'd say that's Doin' the Do or even Boomania?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed as a family for two nights at The Peacock and for us it was the perfect place to stay.
The location is in the middle of Bakewell, a charming town with lots of lovely little shops to wonder around and a pretty riverside walk. It is also not far from Chatsworth House, Matlock and the Monsal Trail.

Our family room was clean, warm and cosy, with comfortable beds, soft towels, tea and coffee making facilities and a TV.

Breakfast was the best B & B breakfast we have ever had, all cooked fresh to order.

We ate at The Peacock the first evening. It has a lovely warm and welcoming atmosphere, with some great background music from the jukebox, and the food was amazing. Best we have had for a long time. The pulled pork burgers and cook you own steak were simply delicious. So much so the kids pleaded with us to eat there again the second night (and I wasn't going to ague with them!).

All the staff at the Peacock were friendly, welcoming and polite.

Thank you Graham and all the team at The Peacock!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, Where do you find the Perfect Stay.... at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
....and thank you Lisa E for the nicely chosen words.

Glad we could be of assistance to you and your lovely kids, and thank them from all at the Peacock for bringing them back for a second helping - What could be better for a Perfect Stay!

Everyone at the Peacock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
0.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
0.0 mi away
Castle Inn Bakewell
Castle Inn Bakewell
#6 of 44 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
1.7 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ashford-in-the-Water
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
2.1 mi away
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peacock Bakewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peacock Bakewell

Property: The Peacock Bakewell
Address: Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peacocok is a 200 year old, and very typical English pub set in the Centre of Bakewell Town. We offer accommodation varying from lovely traditional type rooms in the old stables fully converted with en-suite bathrooms (showers only) inc full English breakfast if booked direct with the Peacock as opposed to third party web sites - Book direct with the Peacock to achieve a better deal. The Pub has a very varied menu that is all prepared and cooked on the premises by very skilled competant chefs with many fantastic specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Peacock Bakewell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peacock Bakewell Hotel Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing