We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Bistro Food - HUGE portions” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peacock Bakewell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Peacock Bakewell
Ranked #11 of 46 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Bistro Food - HUGE portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We ate here in July 2014. The portions are HUGE. I had to sit on the burger to get it in. The lasagne was a meal for two. Good selection of drinks too. Very good food, very good drink selection. Bistro quality.

Downside - On the day the staff were over ran by the busy crowd. The toilets were absolutely filthy. The tables were filthy. However, I am sure this was because they were inadequately staffed due to the huge crowds on a day when it topped 30'c.

Bakewell itself is a dream. Possibly the nicest village in Britain. Stunning.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyAmyBiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, Erich von Stahlen, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
A nice review of sorts, but somewhat spoilt by a vindictive complaint with reference to the toilets.....

I can't recall the exact day of your visit Biggles, but it has been hot and sticky these last few days and if we got hit, by as you put it a busy crowd - the description itself tells you in an instance, where do pubs get crowds - well yes the Peacock does, and crowds make mess and as a pub, surely we can be excused under extreme difficulties for what in all honesty would be a one off.

I find it difficult to understand why you would post a positive review, but feel you have to be negative about an issue that is obviously not the norm, as we were hit hard by massive injection of people on an extremely hot day!

The outside tables are not filthy as you put it - it is simply we have over forty tables outside in the beer garden, which can all be in use at a given time, but as soon as one is vacated, it is filled immediately by ever enthusiastic customers, over eager even who simply can't wait until we clean a table down in prep for the next customers.

Is that under staffed - not really, but the fact that the Peacock is an extremely busy and popular pub, that does have crowds of people wanting to use the facilities, including the toilets, where as other establishments may only have only a trickle of customers, on even the hottest of days of temperatures reaching 30'C.

If the tables were, how you put it filthy - then why didn't it stop you choosing to dine with us, i'll tell you - because we are the most popular place in Bakewell and serve fantastic food which you wanted to be part of - just a shame you had to be nasty in your comments when we fed and watered you well by your own admission, but that's obviously your character, your personality that has to comment, when you can't simply enjoy your visit and move on without the scit - even when we were over run by the crowd!

I do hear your criticism, but there is no need to go running to the teacher to report the fact, when you should in my opinion keep your counsel over such matters, when it it obviously not a characteristic or everyday occurrence of the Peacock in general, and please accept the toilets were not designed to take the masses of people who descend at one given time, but we at the Peacock have made this place into a monster at times, where even if we had ten more staff on a given day, it would still be difficult - so it was somewhat a personal attack, and if I was to be personal about your appearance - you'd have no excuse!

You did start your review with a head line that mentioned HUGE - mmnnn, come to think of it?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    140
    46
    33
    31
See reviews for
80
244
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We came to the Peak district on a weeks holiday and ate at a number of place and I think The Peacock was the best. Great food well presented, hot food on hot plates as it should be and truly massive portions, I could say a little too much perhaps. The elderly gentleman next to me had a small whale as his fish!! Several other diners close by were equally impressed
I cant understand the bad reviews OK we visited on a midweek evening and the town was deserted, there were about ten dining while we were there, so the service was very good by polite chatty staff. I found the whole experience very enjoyable, comfortable well decorated pub with a jukebox. What more could you ask for, looking forward to going back again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Safetyrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, Safety is a Must when, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
What a review! from the Safetyrep, who I can Categorically and Safely say know what they are talking about as they point the finger at the delinquent moaning minis who do from time to time come on the Old Trip Advisor and complain about the most ridiculous issues....

But the safety rep gets the real issue across, and understands the Big Picture and what more can we ask for!!!

Thanks, and we'll see you again next time you are up from Brentwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We have had lunch at the Peacock many times and we have never been disappointed. In fact, we wouldn't eat anywhere else! Graham, the owner, is a really great guy, very attentive and nice to chat to. He has a BRILLIANT choice in music that is played at exactly the right volume from his fabulous Jukebox. This makes for a very relaxing and pleasant dining experience indeed. The food is always top quality and he knows exactly how to keep ale at its best! Just try a pint of Chatsworth Gold, or any of the other Peak Ales, and you will know what I mean! We really can't fault the place and we would recommend it strongly as the place to go for a meal/drink in Bakewell. Can't wait for next time! Cheers.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PaulGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, Could it be Ted Danson or Sam Malone, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
A Massive thanks to Paul & Gail, as they visit the Peacock - in Bakewell, where else, once again travelling over from York, and take the time to post a lovely review that covers many of the nice things we offer in this little abode we have.

Can't fault the post, so all that has to be said is.........

CHEERS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Went for lunch al fresco with friends. Food looks good but very high on grease factor. Had thai fiscakes and fried too death Overpriced too and the person taking the food orders at the bar was very unfriendly.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank taraohARA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, the al fresco kid, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
....al fresco dining - isn't that a style of dining that is casual and often party like in its atmosphere?

You are of course entitled to an opinion taraohARA, but I beg to differ on your analysis, as we do not over fry our Thai Fish Cakes to death, unless of course yours was an unfortunate one-off!

The fish cakes are quite hard, and not your typical birds eye soft in the middle suitable for a 3 year old, and I know for a fact that if they had by some chance had been over fried, as you put it, the chef would not have sent the item out....

If you feel we are over priced then maybe you should walk on by, as we will never please the type you represent - money conscious moaning minis, and maybe this was more of a gripe at the price you pay - Who knows, and who really cares as we do our job here at the Peacock and if you have a gripe, then why don't you address it in the proper manner at the time as you partied al fresco....

A gutless wonder I feel, who would rather type the gripe than approach the approachable with their issues, but of course that is your privilidge.

Discuss your problems at the time, in the present and we will address - not after you have left the al fresco (building).....

In conclusion we are sorry you were dissapointed, we are, but there has to be one now and again or the world wouldn't be turning - now would it?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed one night at peacock in backwell which was ok until we settled up and were charged 20pounds extra for breakfast.this made for an unexpected adjustment to our daily budget.the peacock advertised bbc,but in the very small print in an e mail sent us was no food provided in the cost.could of stayed in a much better place in backwell for the new overall price,will do next time.

Room Tip: Check on their details
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, you will not be disappointed if you pay direct, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
It's a shame you are disappointed through your own misdemeanours Bill, and we have to take the blame as you foolishly booked through booking.com....

If you weren't so lazy, and had made a simple phone call direct to the Peacock, you would have secured the room for the exact same price which would have included the full English Breakfast, so to come on Trip Advisor and say everything was OK until......you had to pay extra for your breafast!

That doesn't wash I'm afraid, and looking at your written English there is only one person who could possibly come from Backwell, wherever that is, and you shouldn't blame the establishment for the fact you haven't done your research as booking.com CLEARLY states, not with small print as you indicate, that it is - room only!

So if you had taken the time to ring the Peacock, we would have given you all the options over the phone, as you have to understand third party websites don't come free, and are a separate business and consequently charge their own rates for a service provided!

You headline the review 'Disappointment' - but in reply you are a disappointment as you act out some sort of vindication for your silly, dare I say stupid mistake!

My room tip would be headlined 'Book Direct with the 'Engine Driver not the Oily Rag' or maybe in simple terms you understand the 'Organ Grinder not the Monkey'

....as a post script the £9.95 charged for the full English Breakfast you happen to book as an extra is worth every single penny and more, with unlimited tea/coffee/fruit juices/yogurts/cereals//fresh fruit and the obligatory FRESHLY cooked breakfast to the order of YOUR choice!

Some how I don't think it is Us/The Peacock who is a disappointment!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Have returned from a weekend with two rooms booked for a family birthday, and quite frankly we will not be returning here again. Note our post stay evaluation;

Positives-

1) Super breakfast, freshly cooked and good service
2) Great Central Location
3) Courtyard room (with 4 poster bed) acceptable

Negatives-

1) We had two rooms one of which (room 7) kept us awake until 1:00am and woken at 6:30am on both days. The rowdy pub next door has a beer garden where very, very loud revellers (shouting, glass smashing etc happened on both nights) the door to the same beer garden pub noisy latch when folk leaving during the night. Mechanical extract equipment to the peacock loud when kitchen preparing for breakfast.

2) Asked for single bed sheet upon arrival, as thick quilt on bed in hot temperatures. This wasn't provided.

3) Pubs own free car parking capacity reduced to 20% and difficult to park and manoeuvre in favour of benching to increase business at the peacock.

4) Sash widow in bedroom 7 overlooking courtyard broken had to use kettle to prop open window

5) Cleanliness of room not to standards expected (i.e.Venetian blinds very dirty and cleanable mildew inside shower framing)

6) Arrogance of the Manager when quizzed over pricing differences of internet (needs a lesson in mannerisms and customer service)







:-(

Room Tip: Avoid rooms (6&7) which are virtually adjoined (by single alley way) to the adjacent pub, and pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, How Much????????????, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
To be fair I think I expected this type of post, because within one minute of arrival of the couple checking in, we got the obligatory 'I think you've charged us too much we should only be paying £99 per night' - when in actual fact the room rate was set at £119 for a July week end! As booked on the Internet with confirmation receipts etc.

Yes, it was a hot night and if you choose to have the window open - can't blame you on that one, unfortunately it is out of our control if noise comes from the pub next door and regarding the extractor again unfortunately as we are a pub, and two of the rooms are actually above the Peacock, extractor fans are situated on the building and this is how it is, but from your attitude on arrival it was plainly obvious you would be looking for anything you could find.....

You refer to me as being arrogant - not arrogance, but simply informing you that the price booked is the price booked!!!

As a result of this misunderstanding, I feel the table you booked on the Saturday night for Seven people - which incidentally the Peacock was ram jam packed as per usual, we had to turn diners away - you didn't even turn up for, and you never even had the decency to give us notification that you didn't require the reservation - how rude is that? Your loss I feel, and our loss your places could have been taken!

We did forget about the single sheet - apologies, but that was simply an oversight as have you ever seen a busier pub? Actually I doubt that also, because again as a cut the nose off to spite the face, you weren't to be seen in or around the Peacock during the whole week end - nothing wrong in that I suppose, as you drove around with your carrier bags and packed sandwiches.....

The car park does have reduced availability during the summer months, but even when there is not one single table set out during winter in the car park, we only have 12 spaces lined out maximum, and believe me in Bakewell that is as premium as it gets, but with the tables in situ in the beer garden during hot spells, there are still 6 parking spaces - how is that 20% but it gets me back to you just wanted to find issues you could post on Trip Advisor, as you never mentioned any of these complaints on departure - In fact we never even had a goodbye wave!

....and how abrupt and rude were you when you spoke to Ian in the car park, when you more or less demanded he should move his car so you could leave the car park on Saturday morning!!!


Just another little observation about your attitude!

The sash in the window is not broken - there are two windows in the particular room and the one overlooking the Queens is fine, and does not require any assistance and certainly no kettle is required to prop open the window, so that is basically untrue, and the second window overlooking the Peacock courtyard was still locked with the safety catch, this can be unlocked with the special key on the bunch of room keys you are given on arrival.

The rooms are clean and tidy, but as observed there was a little dust on the Venetian blinds - We apologise, but during hot summer days and nights with, as in your case a window wide open, blinds are notorious for gathering dust, and it is almost impossible to keep the dust down on such blinds - ask any cleanliness housewife freak!

So your evaluation is, I guess instigated as I originally questioned - the fact you wanted to find issues, and we all had you weighed up from the start really, confirmed on the first morning at breakfast with your arrogance when Sandra quite politely asked you what you required for your cooked breakfast as you were eating cereal, and you quite rudely answered, will you leave us alone for ten minutes, so when we did take your order you were agitated because it was a further 15 or so minutes you were kept waiting after finishing your cereal for the main course - You see that is why we requested your order, so we could serve on time etc. - we do have experience in these matters and get plenty of practice!

And for your information, you were in room 6, not room 7, but we are grateful that you considered the four poster room acceptable - maybe a certain amount of jealousy was in order with your friends, and when the pot calls the kettle, the kettle answers as maybe it is you who should take a look in the mirror - but thank fully you won't be returning to the Peacock, as we simply don't need customers such as you......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Booked for 2 nights in early May for our 10th Wedding Anniversary. We had the four poster room by the patio. It was so good we booked another night. The room was lovely and clean and very comfortable. The food was wonderful and plenty of it, beautifully presented with special little touches (like a miniature glass of ale on the platter with the steak and ale pie) and breakfast was to die for, with great friendly service (and the milk served in a dinky little milk churn). Bar staff were lovely too. Bakewell is a lovely little town. Sadly it rained almost constantly during our stay, so we will have to visit again as the patio at The Peacock would be so lovely to chill out on a lovely sunny day.
On our third day we couldn't have the same room as it was already booked out, but we got upgraded to their cottage just up the road. A delightful little place with a little courtyard and as it was a couple of hundred yards away, the landlord offered to take us home in the evening in his car, but we didn't want to put him out as he was so kind and took all our bags up for us and let us leave the car at the Peacock as the cottage has no parking spaces. It was just a little stroll back which we enjoyed anyway.
Well done to all the staff at The Peacock. You all do a great job. We will definitely visit again soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chiselbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, from all at Chisel Hill, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
.....a lovely review from two lovely people who see it and say it how it is/was for them.

None of this useless bickering as posted by the two reviews above, but then they were nice people who just got on with it!

Thanks to Chiselbun and hopefully we'll see you again when it isn't raining....

Don't wait 'til you are celebrating your 20th though!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
0.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
1.5 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Castle Inn Bakewell
Castle Inn Bakewell
#6 of 46 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
2.8 mi away
The Farmyard Inn
The Farmyard Inn
#1 of 4 in Youlgreave
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peacock Bakewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peacock Bakewell

Property: The Peacock Bakewell
Address: Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peacocok is a 200 year old, and very typical English pub set in the Centre of Bakewell Town. We offer accommodation varying from lovely traditional type rooms in the old stables fully converted with en-suite bathrooms (showers only) inc full English breakfast if booked direct with the Peacock as opposed to third party web sites - Book direct with the Peacock to achieve a better deal. The Pub has a very varied menu that is all prepared and cooked on the premises by very skilled competant chefs with many fantastic specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Peacock Bakewell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peacock Bakewell Hotel Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing