We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How rude”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Peacock Bakewell
Ranked #16 of 44 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We were greeted by a lovely lady who showed us two rooms which were avalible for a planned two night mid week stay in bakewell.
89 pound per night for upstairs room and 99 pound per night for ground floor court yard room . We were booking the dearer ground floor room and had paid, when we were approached we persume by the male manager. He was very rude to the lady dealing with us shouting that the ground floor room wasnt avalible for our second night as it had already been booked online,and he wasnt prepaired to 'clean it twice' if we stopped for just the avalible night,he then went on to say we could book it for the one night if we paid an extra 30 pound ! The manager was extremly rude and highrate,if the lady who was booking us in had made a mistake,why didnt he take her to one side instead of shouting and looking a complete prat. Needless to say after he did this we asked for our money back and booked elsewhere. Nice looking pub,but room rate expensive and manager horrible,avoid at all cost

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank d20mrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, not rude - just honest, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

How Rude - who are you trying to kid?

You came into the Peacock and asked for a room for two nights, and when Julie - my sister-in-law, gave you the rate for two nights, she unfortunately hadn't checked the chosen room was booked out the next night by a disabled lady, who had specifically asked for the four poster room which is wheelchair friendly, so you suddenly changed your mind and said you only wanted it for one night so I informed Julie that I have given the couple a two night discounted rate, and if they were only taking the room for one night it would be £10 dearer.

Julie had offered the couple an alternative for two nights - again discounted, but to state I wasn't prepared to clean the original room twice is a complete contradiction of the facts....

I informed Julie that if the couple were only staying one night it would be an extra TEN POUNDS - where do you get £30 pounds from? - oh yes, I get it so your post would look damaging, and the £10 extra I quoted is for the extra cleaning the room entails!

The status is, you can't ask for two nights, then pay for a one night stay for the same price tariff, and if that is rude - so be it, but it's a lot better than telling lies to get your post across!!!

d20mrs's you are at liberty to post what ever you want - but please don't give the readers exaggerated opinions to give your review substance - THIRTY POUNDS - I simply can't get my head around that one, and shouting - where does that one come from?

Trip Advisor at it's strength yet again - post a review with no threat of being proved wrong - Shame Really......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

9 of us visited here for lunch on a hot summer's day. The place was heaving, but we managed to find seats outside. Despite the crowds it didn't take long for us to get served. The food was excellent - especially the Ploughman's, which was ample for two adults and a child! Everyone enjoyed their meals, and we would definitely recommend the place.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, Michael Fish, or some one, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

....and a very good review Anthony K from Donny, so a Big Thanks for that....

Whether it's a table of nine or just the two of you, we hope you enjoy the hospitality whether inside or outside at The Peacock - despite the weather!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We ate here in July 2014. The portions are HUGE. I had to sit on the burger to get it in. The lasagne was a meal for two. Good selection of drinks too. Very good food, very good drink selection. Bistro quality.

Downside - On the day the staff were over ran by the busy crowd. The toilets were absolutely filthy. The tables were filthy. However, I am sure this was because they were inadequately staffed due to the huge crowds on a day when it topped 30'c.

Bakewell itself is a dream. Possibly the nicest village in Britain. Stunning.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank TonyAmyBiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, Erich von Stahlen, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

A nice review of sorts, but somewhat spoilt by a vindictive complaint with reference to the toilets.....

I can't recall the exact day of your visit Biggles, but it has been hot and sticky these last few days and if we got hit, by as you put it a busy crowd - the description itself tells you in an instance, where do pubs get crowds - well yes the Peacock does, and crowds make mess and as a pub, surely we can be excused under extreme difficulties for what in all honesty would be a one off.

I find it difficult to understand why you would post a positive review, but feel you have to be negative about an issue that is obviously not the norm, as we were hit hard by massive injection of people on an extremely hot day!

The outside tables are not filthy as you put it - it is simply we have over forty tables outside in the beer garden, which can all be in use at a given time, but as soon as one is vacated, it is filled immediately by ever enthusiastic customers, over eager even who simply can't wait until we clean a table down in prep for the next customers.

Is that under staffed - not really, but the fact that the Peacock is an extremely busy and popular pub, that does have crowds of people wanting to use the facilities, including the toilets, where as other establishments may only have only a trickle of customers, on even the hottest of days of temperatures reaching 30'C.

If the tables were, how you put it filthy - then why didn't it stop you choosing to dine with us, i'll tell you - because we are the most popular place in Bakewell and serve fantastic food which you wanted to be part of - just a shame you had to be nasty in your comments when we fed and watered you well by your own admission, but that's obviously your character, your personality that has to comment, when you can't simply enjoy your visit and move on without the scit - even when we were over run by the crowd!

I do hear your criticism, but there is no need to go running to the teacher to report the fact, when you should in my opinion keep your counsel over such matters, when it it obviously not a characteristic or everyday occurrence of the Peacock in general, and please accept the toilets were not designed to take the masses of people who descend at one given time, but we at the Peacock have made this place into a monster at times, where even if we had ten more staff on a given day, it would still be difficult - so it was somewhat a personal attack, and if I was to be personal about your appearance - you'd have no excuse!

You did start your review with a head line that mentioned HUGE - mmnnn, come to think of it?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We came to the Peak district on a weeks holiday and ate at a number of place and I think The Peacock was the best. Great food well presented, hot food on hot plates as it should be and truly massive portions, I could say a little too much perhaps. The elderly gentleman next to me had a small whale as his fish!! Several other diners close by were equally impressed
I cant understand the bad reviews OK we visited on a midweek evening and the town was deserted, there were about ten dining while we were there, so the service was very good by polite chatty staff. I found the whole experience very enjoyable, comfortable well decorated pub with a jukebox. What more could you ask for, looking forward to going back again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Safetyrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, Safety is a Must when, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

What a review! from the Safetyrep, who I can Categorically and Safely say know what they are talking about as they point the finger at the delinquent moaning minis who do from time to time come on the Old Trip Advisor and complain about the most ridiculous issues....

But the safety rep gets the real issue across, and understands the Big Picture and what more can we ask for!!!

Thanks, and we'll see you again next time you are up from Brentwood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have had lunch at the Peacock many times and we have never been disappointed. In fact, we wouldn't eat anywhere else! Graham, the owner, is a really great guy, very attentive and nice to chat to. He has a BRILLIANT choice in music that is played at exactly the right volume from his fabulous Jukebox. This makes for a very relaxing and pleasant dining experience indeed. The food is always top quality and he knows exactly how to keep ale at its best! Just try a pint of Chatsworth Gold, or any of the other Peak Ales, and you will know what I mean! We really can't fault the place and we would recommend it strongly as the place to go for a meal/drink in Bakewell. Can't wait for next time! Cheers.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank PaulGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, Could it be Ted Danson or Sam Malone, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

A Massive thanks to Paul & Gail, as they visit the Peacock - in Bakewell, where else, once again travelling over from York, and take the time to post a lovely review that covers many of the nice things we offer in this little abode we have.

Can't fault the post, so all that has to be said is.........

CHEERS!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Went for lunch al fresco with friends. Food looks good but very high on grease factor. Had thai fiscakes and fried too death Overpriced too and the person taking the food orders at the bar was very unfriendly.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
9  Thank taraohARA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, the al fresco kid, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

....al fresco dining - isn't that a style of dining that is casual and often party like in its atmosphere?

You are of course entitled to an opinion taraohARA, but I beg to differ on your analysis, as we do not over fry our Thai Fish Cakes to death, unless of course yours was an unfortunate one-off!

The fish cakes are quite hard, and not your typical birds eye soft in the middle suitable for a 3 year old, and I know for a fact that if they had by some chance had been over fried, as you put it, the chef would not have sent the item out....

If you feel we are over priced then maybe you should walk on by, as we will never please the type you represent - money conscious moaning minis, and maybe this was more of a gripe at the price you pay - Who knows, and who really cares as we do our job here at the Peacock and if you have a gripe, then why don't you address it in the proper manner at the time as you partied al fresco....

A gutless wonder I feel, who would rather type the gripe than approach the approachable with their issues, but of course that is your privilidge.

Discuss your problems at the time, in the present and we will address - not after you have left the al fresco (building).....

In conclusion we are sorry you were dissapointed, we are, but there has to be one now and again or the world wouldn't be turning - now would it?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed one night at peacock in backwell which was ok until we settled up and were charged 20pounds extra for breakfast.this made for an unexpected adjustment to our daily budget.the peacock advertised bbc,but in the very small print in an e mail sent us was no food provided in the cost.could of stayed in a much better place in backwell for the new overall price,will do next time.

Room Tip: Check on their details
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
11  Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, you will not be disappointed if you pay direct, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

It's a shame you are disappointed through your own misdemeanours Bill, and we have to take the blame as you foolishly booked through booking.com....

If you weren't so lazy, and had made a simple phone call direct to the Peacock, you would have secured the room for the exact same price which would have included the full English Breakfast, so to come on Trip Advisor and say everything was OK until......you had to pay extra for your breafast!

That doesn't wash I'm afraid, and looking at your written English there is only one person who could possibly come from Backwell, wherever that is, and you shouldn't blame the establishment for the fact you haven't done your research as booking.com CLEARLY states, not with small print as you indicate, that it is - room only!

So if you had taken the time to ring the Peacock, we would have given you all the options over the phone, as you have to understand third party websites don't come free, and are a separate business and consequently charge their own rates for a service provided!

You headline the review 'Disappointment' - but in reply you are a disappointment as you act out some sort of vindication for your silly, dare I say stupid mistake!

My room tip would be headlined 'Book Direct with the 'Engine Driver not the Oily Rag' or maybe in simple terms you understand the 'Organ Grinder not the Monkey'

....as a post script the £9.95 charged for the full English Breakfast you happen to book as an extra is worth every single penny and more, with unlimited tea/coffee/fruit juices/yogurts/cereals//fresh fruit and the obligatory FRESHLY cooked breakfast to the order of YOUR choice!

Some how I don't think it is Us/The Peacock who is a disappointment!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
0.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
3.1 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Peacock at Rowsley
The Peacock at Rowsley
#1 of 2 in Rowsley
501 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ashford-in-the-Water
234 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peacock Bakewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peacock Bakewell

Address: Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Price Range: £107 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peacocok is a 200 year old, and very typical English pub set in the Centre of Bakewell Town. We offer accommodation varying from lovely traditional type rooms in the old stables fully converted with en-suite bathrooms (showers only) inc full English breakfast if booked direct with the Peacock as opposed to third party web sites - Book direct with the Peacock to achieve a better deal. The Pub has a very varied menu that is all prepared and cooked on the premises by very skilled competant chefs with many fantastic specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Peacock Bakewell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peacock Bakewell Hotel Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing