We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place, beautiful location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wye View

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
amorris60...
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The property was very dirty and smelly.”
Reviewed 21 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
4
people found this review helpful

Initially on arrival we noticed that the place smelt musty but that did not bother us unduly. Went to put the milk in the fridge to discover that it was pretty dirty and had not been cleaned which then started to raise flags. It wasn't until we entered the bathroom that things got worse. The sink in the bathroom had obviously not been cleaned and looked as though the previous occupants had shaved in it then left it as it was. It was pretty disgusting but I rinsed it out and carried on. Went to sit on the sofas which, although comfy, seemed very grubby and worn. After a long tiring day we then went for a shower only to discover that it was impossible to regulate the temperature which went from scolding hot to freezing cold. We had various attempts at sorting it, but eventually gave up. Decided to make a cup of tea to discover the kitchen tap looking pretty unhygienic and had to further rinse out tea stained mugs before using. The filters on the cooker hood looked like they hadn't been cleaned in many months if not years and the tea towel and dishcloth smelled awful. It is at this point we were pretty fed up and considered looking for other accommodation but it was getting late and we intended leaving pretty early the following morning. As it was getting colder at this point we put some heating on only to discover this made the musty smell worse. We rang the owner Wayne to complain but he was in Manchester and said he could do nothing at that time and that the previous occupants had not complained. As we then continued to look around the cottage we discovered that there was no mattress protector on the bed and the sheets were pretty threadbare. The dust on the headboard was pretty thick and general cleanliness was appalling. Wayne's response to our complaints was, in general, sarcastic and apparently our comments had "Amused" him. We however are not amused and intend to go to the small claims court with our photographic evidence of the dreadful hygenic conditions. Please ensure you read all reviews as it appears others have had the same experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2018
Wow,
We knew you would do this.
So let’s get real.
When you phoned me originally when I was out, your panicking voice that the TV didn’t work and that the shower was dangerous made me somewhat surprised.
On our return I checked your comments and yes I did laugh and phoned you to say the tv with 150 channels was working perfect yet you had pressed all the settings and not followed the child like instructions and changed the signal. No one has ever done that.
Then the shower which you choose to not wait 5 seconds for the temperature to change when moving the dial and complained it was either hot or cold.
When I explained the error of your ways you did not like my candid view of you.
Wow!!
Of all reviews this is a new one.
The cottage was built in 1540 and only last year was totally refurbished with new bathroom kitchen etc etc.
So you then super invent any minor fault and manufacture, and publish this non sense.
We have over 2000 guests per year in our cottages on site and our overall reviews are excellent.
We don’t always get it right but you should stay at home in your cave and not try to use modern devises like TVs and showers.
I note you gave a 10 out of ten for location and views, but as you didn’t need to use your opposing thumbs just your eyes, even you couldn’t complain about that.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AttorneyP
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place, beautiful location”
Reviewed 14 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We had a great stay at Wye View after a long day of walking. Wayne was massively hospitable and helpful. We cooked dinner in the well-appointed kitchen and then just ate, drank and relaxed on the patio taking in the beautiful views. Everything inside was clean and comfortable. Terrific experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2018
So kind and thank you for coming and hope to see you again.

Regards
Wayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash P
1 review
“Such a Beautiful little cottage”
Reviewed 1 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Located just a few miles from Bakewell. Beautiful views! Wayne was Brilliant and a gentleman and told us the history of the little cottage and the area. Very Clean and cosy. Our little boy absolutely loved it and cried when we had to leave. Will definitely stay again when we visit. Dont know why there are bad reviews on here but take it from us. Its a cottage which has been there since the 1500s and well worth the stay. What do you expect. We LOVED our short stay. Thank you Wayne. We will probably see you again in the summer

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2018
That’s so kind and really pleased you enjoyed your time with us.
People are strange sometimes in what they expect from a cottage 500 years old but pleased you got the quirks.
Hope to see you all again

Regards
Wayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steph C
Solihull
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“IDYLLIC IN BEAUTIFUL COUNTRY-SIDE SETTING”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Beautiful and well-equipped cottage, perfect for a short stay to explore the quaint towns of Matlock and Bakewell close by. Wayne is very friendly and helpful and responded quickly to any queries I had. A definite recommendation! Thank you Wayne.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2017
Steph thank you so much and hope to see you again
Regards
Wayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastal45...
1 review
“Cottage spotless with amazing views of the countryside around”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Firstly, we received a warm welcome from Wayne, the cottage is unique, if you're looking for a quiet and relaxing getaway with character, this is it, the accommodation is clean and perfect for a couple, or four at the most, it's small but overflowing with it's own personality, there is just one thing, it's not suitable for children who are young enough to require constant supervision, we intend to come back a soon as we can, very highly recommended. As for the negative reviews, they can't have stayed at the same place as we did. IT WAS FANTASTIC.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
That you so much for the kind review and hope to see you sgain
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Recently stayed here cant rate the place high enough. Wayne is more than helpful and more than professional. The prettiest calmest place I've stayed in. We as a group had a wonderful comfortable time. Cleanliness was above and beyond and enough stuff provided to make it a comfortable easy enjoyable stay. Anyone looking to stay disregard any previous negative comments that have been said and go and witness the incredible views and beautiful beuilding for your self. Great for couples great for friends and great safe space to enjoy as a family. Plenty to do in both villages just minutes from the cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2017
Thank you so much for your kind remarks. Hope to see you again.

Wayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy D
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Hugely disappointed.”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Well what a let down ...
The area is beautiful and views from the cottage lovely but all good ends there.
The accommodation is very worn , grubby , tired and smells .
Definitely not what shown in the advertising literature, the settee which was a leather one in the picture is replaced by an old worn and dusty material one.
There was a mouldy dishcloth left in the Sink , centipedes in the bathroom and insects throughout the property.
When we left all of our clothes smelt and we have to wash everything.
Would definitely not recommend this property but would recommend the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
Wow
If you look at reviews on booking.com and trip advisor you will note we get many 10/10
The accommodation was complete as new 9 months ago. New carpets, beds sofa, kitchen and Bathroom. How can it be grubby/tired and worn.?? The wardrobes are solid wood and wood smell and the dish cloth I have no idea what your talking about. So you found an insect in the middle of the countryside cottage (really)
You are isolated in your comments and as 6 of you stayed altogether and your parents said how lovely it was I simply put this down to been angry with something else but you choose to vent at us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing