We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Home Away From Home”
other travellers have booked this property
The front view of the Georgian cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front view of the Georgian cottage
Looking up from the cottage at the bottom of North Church Street The sitting room with feature Esse cast iron gas stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
The front view of the Georgian cottage
Looking up from the cottage at the bottom of North Church Street
The sitting room with feature Esse cast iron gas stove
Enjoy the cosy south facing sitting room
Relax in comfort in the sitting room
Time for mid-morning coffee
Kitchen with all mod cons including integrated dishwasher and washing machine
New Shaker style kitchen
Local craftsman built dresser
Dining area within kitchen
Period reclaimed brick fireplace with Esse cast iron gas stove
Dresser displaying vintage crockery
Oak dining table and chairs
Master double bedroom with Turner prints
Large south facing master bedroom
View of All Saints church yard from master bedroom window
All Saints church yard - viewed from master bedroom window
Vintage style soft furnishings and log effect electric stove in the twin attic room
Twin beds in the attic room
Seating and TV/DVD area in attic room
Single bed in small cosy bedroom
Well appointed first floor bathroom, with travertine tiles
Light and airy spacious bathroom
Side entrance to Wainstones
Outdoor patio and seating area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
VickiM196...
Waterloo, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The Wainston's Vacation Home was absolutely wonderful. The main streets and shops of Bakewell are only steps away close to all dining, shopping, and many other amenities.

My family and I had such a fantastic and relaxing stay here at the Wainston's and we could have not picked a better place to stay. The goodies that the owners left us were such a nice surprise to welcome us into their town. The entire vacation home was a perfect size for our family of 5. We were not all combined together, we had more than enough space. The loft was excellent for the kids to go up and watch some movies and hang out on their own. The Kitchen and Living Room were perfect! Also, the dishwasher and the laundry machine was a huge plus for our long stay!

We would highly recommend the Wainston's Vacation Home to anyone looking at a beautiful and homey place to stay here in the town of Bakewell.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanelleTy...
Vereeniging, South Africa
1 review
“Wainstones Cottage, Bakewell”
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a wonderful stay at Wainstones cottage! It has everything you need and is right next to the lovely town of Bakewell. The cottage was clean and inviting and was very well equipped. My kids like bed the TV's and Netfliek channels as they are a bit older.

We will definitely recommend the cottage to anyone!

Thanks for a lovely stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jubby1968
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Four adults stayed here for a long weekend , there is everything in the cottage you could imagine , very comfortable and clean.
Great location and lovely hosts who attended straight away when we reported an issue with a light in the kitchen.
Will definitely return to stay again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela F
1 review
“A great cottage in a lovely town”
Reviewed 31 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a great stay in this well equipped cottage, located centrally in the lovely town of Bakewell.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The steep stairs
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2016
Thank you for your kind review. We noted that we scored 3 out of a possible 5 for mattresses/beds. We had planned to replace all the mattresses in January 2017, but as a result of your grading we have brought this forward and all 4 mattresses have now been replaced with new mattresses.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LichenMos...
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Charming Cottage in perfect location”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We loved Wainstones. It's an immaculate and beautifully renovated cottage in the heart of Bakewell. Comfortable, cosy and with everything available you could possibly need. The most well equipped cottage we've stayed in. The owners have thought of everything. There were dish washer tablets, washing up liquid, kitchen towel, salt and pepper, tea and coffee, everything essential that you always forget to bring, and which are rarely provided in our experience. And the best ever amazing welcome treats, including a delicious home made cake, local beer and eggs from the owner's hens. This was very special. Loved the hanging baskets and window boxes, lovely fresh flowers on the table, which made us feel it was a real home, well looked after. Just sorry we were there for only a weekend.
The owners were also very helpful and welcoming.
Don't be put off by the on street parking with a permit. We found somewhere easily. Some spaces are directly opposite the cottage. And it's true what it says in the description. You can forget your car whilst you're there. Everything is within walking distance, and there are lots of buses.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location a short walk into town centre.
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike about this property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
777111tyr...
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“Relaxing stay, lovely accommodation, highly recommended”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We spent three nights at this accommodation and would not hesitate to recommend it highly. It had just been refurbished so everything was brand new and the attention to detail was really pleasing. The facilities are superb, everything you could possibly need including washing machine, dishwasher and two smart TV's with an extensive DVD collection.
The property itself is spacious, beautifully furnished and within a very short walk of the town centre.
I have two small boys and they particularly loved their own little lounge in the upstairs bedroom where they could play or watch a film.
In summary the facilities are excellent the house is lovely and communication with the owner Chris, who was extremely helpful throughout, was clear and quick. We were made to feel very welcome and instantly at home.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing