We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melbourne House & Easthorpe
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Bakewell
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Bagshaw Hall(Bakewell)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
156
49
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
49
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bmain roadcomfortable bedfew minutes walkoff road parkingdressing tablegood sizeperfect locationstayed nightsset us up for the daywarm welcomefull english breakfastexcellent breakfastother gueststwo night stayfresh fruitweekend break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed here 1st march for one night made welcome the moment we arrived ,,rooms spacious and very clean, ample tea and coffee making facilities. The following morning we came down late for breakfast ,the clock in room had been turned off at some point and when switched back on was reading wrong time ,when we explained this the landlady was so lovely she put us at ease saying no problem she would do us a breakfast , we said its ok , but she insisted and cooked us what I would describe as the perfect full English with fresh toast, I cant praise this place enough , safe to say if ever in area again ill be back ...

Room Tip: all excellent
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Spent one night at the Melbourne House on a visit to the Peak District. It was centrally located in the heart of Bakewell. Within 2-5 minutes walk you will find lots of small shops, bakeries, restaurants and a couple pubs. The breakfast was cooked perfectly. The room was tiny but perfect for a short stay. Clean and comfortable. Several tourist sights a nearby drive away. Would recommend having a car if you plan to visit as I did not see public transportation nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustRose_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Spent 2 days there in December. Fine, clean, spacious accommodation was further enhanced by the magnificent breakfast (perfectly cooked eggs twice in a row, tasty local bacon and wonderful sausage). Staff are very friendly, helpful and efficient. Would definitely recommend,

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Seriously. This B&B really did tick all of the boxes for our weekend visit to Bakewell. We arrived around 1pm and Marie was helpful from the very start with regard to parking. (Spaces available around the back of Mebourne House as well as at the front).
We were shown up to our room (Room 1). We were so impressed by the cleanliness and modern feel of the room - it was perfect. The en-suite was fresh and modern too with plenty of towels. (We travelled with friends and they were next door in Room 4 which was equally as lovely but perhaps a little smaller).
The bed was comfortable and the room was lovely and warm.
We went down to breakfast as a group of 4 and Marie had reserved a table for us - another thoughtful touch. Breakfast was cooked to order and tasty. As many eggs (lovely eggs too!) as we wanted and as much tea and toast as we could manage.
All in all we had a fantastic stay at Melbourne House, it was very good value for money and in a brilliant location - only a minute or two from the very heart of Bakewell. As a parting bonus Marie said that we could leave the car in the car park after we had checked out so that we could enjoy a few more hours in the town.
Thanks for a wonderful stay Marie.

Room Tip: Room 1 was at the front but no noise from the road.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We stopped for two nights at The Melbourne on Christmas weekend. 29th-1st!
We were greeted by one of the lovely owners Maria who was friendly and very welcoming.
The room was beautiful and modern and the bed was lovely and comfortable.
There was a hair dryer and shower gel dispenser, a free safe, flat screen Tv , free view, DVD player in the TV, tea and coffee and biscuits.
It's about a two minute walk into the main Bakewell town and there is parking at the bed and breakfast too.
Breakfast was lovely. Cereal, fruit, full English.
Thoroughly enjoyed out stop here and would definitely stop here again when we come back to Bakewell.
Highly recommend Christmas weekend too, lots to see and do and eat and drink. The Peacock was our favourite place to eat. Thank you for a memorable weekend.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank LannyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews