We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend away from the kids. ”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Melbourne House & Easthorpe
Ranked #11 of 44 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend away from the kids. ”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Arrived mid afternoon on Saturday, the property was very easily located, with parking directly out front.
The landlady greeted us and made us feel very welcome, with no fuss at all, straight to our room, and told us breakfast times.
The room was very light, clean and modern, with HD Sky, and a lovely comfortable bed with ample plump pillows and cushions.
The bathroom was very modern, lovely big tiles with contemporary fittings, well lit, ventilated and clean.
Our room was 1, at the front of the house-ignore the only bad review on this site, it was silent!
Good local pub with excellent beer was the Castle inn, about 200 metres away maybe, serving food till 10.
Breakfast was served quickly and tasted great! Full English of course!
It was a terrible drag to vacate the room, we would both have happily stayed tucked up all day!
Very good value, we paid £70 for the night, we have stayed locally and paid near double for less quality-this property definitely blurs the lines between B&B and hotels.
We were kindly offered the use of the car park for the day, which was helpful on a sunny Sunday.
Would we return? Yes.
Would we recommend? Yes.
What would I change? Later check out and more Sky channels (sad I know!)
To sum up, excellent, cosy and friendly. No stress and superb value.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RobGeeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    49
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
114
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cuddington
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with some friends and had room 3 and 4. Rooms were really well presented, spacious and spotless. Good hot and powerful shower. Room 3 had a 2 seater settee and comfy chair. Owner was very friendly. Great breakfast. Located a couple of minutes walk from Bakewell centre this is an ideally located B&b. we will return

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed here 1st march for one night made welcome the moment we arrived ,,rooms spacious and very clean, ample tea and coffee making facilities. The following morning we came down late for breakfast ,the clock in room had been turned off at some point and when switched back on was reading wrong time ,when we explained this the landlady was so lovely she put us at ease saying no problem she would do us a breakfast , we said its ok , but she insisted and cooked us what I would describe as the perfect full English with fresh toast, I cant praise this place enough , safe to say if ever in area again ill be back ...

Room Tip: all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Spent one night at the Melbourne House on a visit to the Peak District. It was centrally located in the heart of Bakewell. Within 2-5 minutes walk you will find lots of small shops, bakeries, restaurants and a couple pubs. The breakfast was cooked perfectly. The room was tiny but perfect for a short stay. Clean and comfortable. Several tourist sights a nearby drive away. Would recommend having a car if you plan to visit as I did not see public transportation nearby.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustRose_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Spent 2 days there in December. Fine, clean, spacious accommodation was further enhanced by the magnificent breakfast (perfectly cooked eggs twice in a row, tasty local bacon and wonderful sausage). Staff are very friendly, helpful and efficient. Would definitely recommend,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on Trent
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Seriously. This B&B really did tick all of the boxes for our weekend visit to Bakewell. We arrived around 1pm and Marie was helpful from the very start with regard to parking. (Spaces available around the back of Mebourne House as well as at the front).
We were shown up to our room (Room 1). We were so impressed by the cleanliness and modern feel of the room - it was perfect. The en-suite was fresh and modern too with plenty of towels. (We travelled with friends and they were next door in Room 4 which was equally as lovely but perhaps a little smaller).
The bed was comfortable and the room was lovely and warm.
We went down to breakfast as a group of 4 and Marie had reserved a table for us - another thoughtful touch. Breakfast was cooked to order and tasty. As many eggs (lovely eggs too!) as we wanted and as much tea and toast as we could manage.
All in all we had a fantastic stay at Melbourne House, it was very good value for money and in a brilliant location - only a minute or two from the very heart of Bakewell. As a parting bonus Marie said that we could leave the car in the car park after we had checked out so that we could enjoy a few more hours in the town.
Thanks for a wonderful stay Marie.

Room Tip: Room 1 was at the front but no noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We stopped for two nights at The Melbourne on Christmas weekend. 29th-1st!
We were greeted by one of the lovely owners Maria who was friendly and very welcoming.
The room was beautiful and modern and the bed was lovely and comfortable.
There was a hair dryer and shower gel dispenser, a free safe, flat screen Tv , free view, DVD player in the TV, tea and coffee and biscuits.
It's about a two minute walk into the main Bakewell town and there is parking at the bed and breakfast too.
Breakfast was lovely. Cereal, fruit, full English.
Thoroughly enjoyed out stop here and would definitely stop here again when we come back to Bakewell.
Highly recommend Christmas weekend too, lots to see and do and eat and drink. The Peacock was our favourite place to eat. Thank you for a memorable weekend.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LannyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
0.5 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
393 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
3.8 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
169 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#15 of 44 in Bakewell
427 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castle Inn Bakewell
Castle Inn Bakewell
#6 of 44 in Bakewell
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne House & Easthorpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne House & Easthorpe

Property: Melbourne House & Easthorpe
Address: Melbourne House Easthorpe Buxton Road, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why not come and stay with us at our two quality bed & breakfasts, which offer easy access to local shops and markets, pubs, cafes and restaurants, events and attractions, and is only 3 miles from the famous Chatsworth house Stately Home, 1 mile to Haddon Hall. Alton Towers is just a short drive. We also cater for walking or cycling parties. We are an ideal base for touring the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melbourne House And Easthorpe
Melbourne House & Easthorpe Hotel Bakewell
Melbourne House & Easthorpe Bakewell, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing