We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Melbourne House & Easthorpe
Ranked #10 of 44 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Just had a two night stay at the melbourne B and B what a perfect place to stay, situated in a great location in bakewell, could not be made to feel more welcome, immaculately clean rooms, and lovely coked to order breakfasts.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anitawelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    49
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
114
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

hi
stayed at the melbourne for one night thought it was great the room the hosts and the breakfast very very good location wouldnt hesitate to stay there again we loved it plenty of car parking which is hard to find in bakewell
wendy and richard

Room Tip: we har room 4 really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here for the weekend and had a wonderful time. Beautiful room, Room 4. No noise from road despite being at front of house. Marie very happy to help with recommendations for food and things to do when it started to rain! Lovely breakfast. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weaselwithin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My wife and I recently stayed here for just the one night during our 1000 mile tour around parts of the UK......we were quite fatigued and hoped for some TLC to get us back `on it`.....Oh yes, and to have had a great time discovering the quaint Bakewell town. Room No1 was a perfect fusion between modern fixtures and fittings and the traditional /almost historic building set in the local area. Located comfortably off the main A6 Buxton road & close /walking distance to the lovely town, Melbourne House is an inviting, quiet place with good parking for all guests. Hosts Marie and john are friendly, efficient, hospitable, helpful and good sense of humour!. Cooked-to-order breakfast ticked all the boxes and set us up for the day.......wish we`d stayed longer!

Top quality & a winning combination - Marie, john and the Melbourne House.

Room Tip: Chose any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank red600man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed here from Tuesday 1st July, till Friday 4th July and have had a great time. The room was spotless, well equipped and most importantly, very comfortable and quiet. Marie and john were very hospitable, friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were spot on and set us up for the day. We would thoroughly recommend a stay here and its very near to the town. Thank you to Marie and john for a very enjoyable stay 5*****.

Room Tip: Stay in room 2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Found this accommodation just by chance when passing through Bakewell.
Only stayed one night but couldn't have been better looked after, rooms were spotless clean and spacious, with a good breakfast with a wide variety on offer.
Will return again when work permits.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Gottogojamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Easy to find on main road with off road parking. Nice room at front of house. Set back but some road noise fromA6 as needed to have window open even though lousy June weather again. Breakfast room is very tight as both houses use the room. Eighteen people or so makes it more like a small hotel than a B&B. Basic packet cereals and tinned grapefruit but no other fruit or granola. Efficient though and perfect fried eggs every time. Very central for Bakewell.

Room Tip: Light sleepers might be troubled at front of house
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
0.6 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
0.5 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
383 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#15 of 44 in Bakewell
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Castle Inn Bakewell
Castle Inn Bakewell
#6 of 44 in Bakewell
381 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ashford-in-the-Water
214 reviews
2.3 mi away
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne House & Easthorpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne House & Easthorpe

Property: Melbourne House & Easthorpe
Address: Melbourne House Easthorpe Buxton Road, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why not come and stay with us at our two quality bed & breakfasts, which offer easy access to local shops and markets, pubs, cafes and restaurants, events and attractions, and is only 3 miles from the famous Chatsworth house Stately Home, 1 mile to Haddon Hall. Alton Towers is just a short drive. We also cater for walking or cycling parties. We are an ideal base for touring the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melbourne House & Easthorpe Hotel Bakewell
Melbourne House And Easthorpe
Melbourne House & Easthorpe Bakewell, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing