We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book somewhere else”
Review of Bagshaw Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bagshaw Hall
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

The word luxury should be replaced with youth hostel. We were in a basement room that smelt of damp and mould. The finish in the room was completed by a cowboy builder light switches on the skew with paste over them, lining paper poorly hung, fridge door would not shut unless the door next to it was opened. Wardrobe door MDF painted one side and nothing on the other with paint slapped down the back. Bathroom poor finish where the door was painted, paint was left all over the tiles, grout missing from tiles, silicone applied by a blind man. Cheep nasty carpet cheep TV room not hovered properly. Poor breakfast and my friends room was equally as back but clearly built for a hobbit. This place makes student accommodation look good.
The one major plus it the location brilliant.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karlosski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

My boyfriend surprised me with a trip to Bagshaw for our anniversary earlier this year. Approaching Bagshaw it is set in a lovely little village, and the building was just gorgeous! We arrived to find out we had been upgraded to the Pent House suit and it was just lovely, huge queen size bed, double deep bath with head rests, huge TV which you can turn to watch in the bath, a lovely double shower en suit, small kitchen and fantastic views. We were left in total peace for the whole weekend, the town has lots of quirky shops and great places to eat. The décor of the building is very interesting with art all on the walls of the staircase and funky furniture throughout. There was a quiet living room area downstairs but we didn't really spend any time there. It was great, my boyfriend had to drag me out cause I could have stayed there another week!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne_1990_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

In an excellent location elevated in Bakewell. A stunning period building and the 3 rooms we had booked were all beautifully decorated, well equipped with kitchenette and very comfortable. There was a lovely residents lounge as well as a nice terrace overlooking Bakewell.

The rooms are 'boutique hotel' style and I think some of the other reviewers have looked at the rooms and assumed 'hotel'. The marketing of the place might confuse some. There is Bagshaw Hall which has the boutique hotel style rooms but is not a hotel - more of a guest house (e.g. no breakfasts, room service or hotel service) and then there is a lodge next door which is more basic style rooms.

I think they should probably simplify their marketing and this might lead to better reviews - for what is a very nice property, if you know what you are expecting.

There are also a few other improvements which would be cheap to make and would really deliver those 'extras':

- The rooms and bathrooms are lovely and 'feel' luxurious. Therefore bathrobes would be a nice bonus.
- The tea/coffee baskets felt a bit 'pubby' in an otherwise stunning room. Perhaps a tea caddy/mini hamper would be nicer.
- Coat hangers were all different types (e.g. plastic, some from shops, etc). They should buy some cheap wood ones and risk losing the odd one or two as it looked poor having them as they were.
- The in room guides were stuffed with information and perhaps could be better presented
- There was a bit of dust around the place and although clean it wasn't 'hotel' clean

Despite all this I think the hotel was excellent. Rooms were lovely, and good value.

Management should just clarify what they are - e.g. Luxury Guest House with Kitchenette. Holiday apartments doesn't correctly describe how nice the rooms are and they don't have hotel style services.

Don't hesitate to book. A great experience - and the comments here are constructive feedback.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JUDITHbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The accommodation is in a very good position for town. We originally booked in the Cavendish suite but my wife was concerned at the lack of a door on the ensuite bathroom. ( friends inform me this is very trendy these days!) It proved no problem to change to the Churchdale. This is pretty much as described. It's well equipped with a very large bed. It's possibly a bit stretched to describe the accommodation as luxury, but it really is fine for a couple of days.

I found it very quite and didn't hear any noise from other guests. It's a bit different so worth a try.

Room Tip: Beware Cavendish if you like a door on the bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seebee046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Lovely building in a lovely central spot such a shame as it felt like a hostel very tired our luxury double room tatty and didn't feel clean half empty toiletries were left windows didn't open no robes or slippers as quoted on booking .com cold feel to the place no atmosphere no bar no service no management no breakfast included in the over pricing of room£140 felt a bit cheated will not return to bagshaw but will definitely return to the gorgeous bakewell

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seacroft38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed in The Bear Gryls suite near to the Bagshaw Hall, (The Lodge) We met the women in the carpark and she was really friendly and nice. The room was really modern with a double shower in the ensuite and a little kitchen area. It was beautiful the bed is massive and really comfortable.
I really loved this room I would stay here again If I went back to Bakewell.
On the walk into the town centre you can pass a couple of Deli's had a sandwich at Divine Deli which was really fresh and tasty! On Sunday morning we went to Costa Coffee and had some toast as most places are closed til 10 /11am.
The shower is excellent great power, If I was extra picky I would say the door handle is loose and needs fixing and there are some rust colour stains on the ceiling over the shower BUT as i said extra picky. I loved it, Give it a go!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ogina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

On arrival here we were impressed by the stunning building. As there is no reception as such on site we rang the number on the door to say we had arrived, the lady said she would send someone over. The colleague that met us was unfriendly and took us to the lodge which is a tired 1960s looking addition to the main house, as this isnt what i booked i said i would like to be in the main house as per my booking so i had to ring the office again who said we could move, fine these things happen. The same lady came to move us but was not at all welcoming, no apology for the mix up and didnt explain where anything could be found. I had high hopes for this place reading great reviews but it just put a bit of a dampner on the stay. However the room we finally ended up in was nice and sitting in the main hall on an evening was great. Location is perfect, feels remote but just a few minutes walk down the hill to bakewell.
I did explain when i settled the bill at the office in town about the colleague on site being hostile which they seemed to know about!?

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank satsumaface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
0.1 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
10.7 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
12 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
186 reviews
3.3 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
3 mi away
The Peacock at Rowsley
The Peacock at Rowsley
#1 of 2 in Rowsley
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagshaw Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagshaw Hall

Address: Bagshaw Hall Bagshaw Hill, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Price Range: £89 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Bakewell Holiday Apartments, from Bagshaw Hall in a convenient location in Bakewell, we are able to offer a choice of luxury boutique style suites and apartments for both the leisure and business traveller, providing flexibility that a traditional hotel, or bed & breakfast accommodation do not offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bagshaw Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagshaw Hall Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bagshaw Hall Hotel Bakewell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing