We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing accommodation”
Review of Bagshaw Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bagshaw Hall
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointing accommodation”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

We had high hopes for Bagshaw Hall having looked at the website and what looked like beautifully decorated rooms. We stayed in the Garden Room and had to duck to get in the door (no mention of this on website). It was not as spacious as the photos made out and we felt like we were in a damp cave with marked walls and dirty skirting boards. The toilet smelt musty, there was mould in the shower and we were welcomed with part used toilet rolls! The bed was very comfortable which with the location was the only plus. On our last morning I had a shower and afterwards we noticed that the water was coming outside into the kitchen area and making the carpet wet. This must be a known issue as the carpet had already been lifted up and the underlay removed in that area and then a rug placed on top! The management did not seem concerned when we rang to report it. We do not recommend the breakfast (£8 each) as it was delivered to our room but by the time it arrived it was luke warm and the table in our room hosted the DVD player! Outside was just as disappointing with the gardens needing attention and the wooden table being half jet washed. It is such a shame as this Hall is in a perfect setting and with a lot of tlc and good management could be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqui009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    111
    45
    30
    15
See reviews for
38
274
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

The word luxury should be replaced with youth hostel. We were in a basement room that smelt of damp and mould. The finish in the room was completed by a cowboy builder light switches on the skew with paste over them, lining paper poorly hung, fridge door would not shut unless the door next to it was opened. Wardrobe door MDF painted one side and nothing on the other with paint slapped down the back. Bathroom poor finish where the door was painted, paint was left all over the tiles, grout missing from tiles, silicone applied by a blind man. Cheep nasty carpet cheep TV room not hovered properly. Poor breakfast and my friends room was equally as back but clearly built for a hobbit. This place makes student accommodation look good.
The one major plus it the location brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karlosski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My boyfriend surprised me with a trip to Bagshaw for our anniversary earlier this year. Approaching Bagshaw it is set in a lovely little village, and the building was just gorgeous! We arrived to find out we had been upgraded to the Pent House suit and it was just lovely, huge queen size bed, double deep bath with head rests, huge TV which you can turn to watch in the bath, a lovely double shower en suit, small kitchen and fantastic views. We were left in total peace for the whole weekend, the town has lots of quirky shops and great places to eat. The décor of the building is very interesting with art all on the walls of the staircase and funky furniture throughout. There was a quiet living room area downstairs but we didn't really spend any time there. It was great, my boyfriend had to drag me out cause I could have stayed there another week!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne_1990_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level 6 Contributor
449 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

In an excellent location elevated in Bakewell. A stunning period building and the 3 rooms we had booked were all beautifully decorated, well equipped with kitchenette and very comfortable. There was a lovely residents lounge as well as a nice terrace overlooking Bakewell.

The rooms are 'boutique hotel' style and I think some of the other reviewers have looked at the rooms and assumed 'hotel'. The marketing of the place might confuse some. There is Bagshaw Hall which has the boutique hotel style rooms but is not a hotel - more of a guest house (e.g. no breakfasts, room service or hotel service) and then there is a lodge next door which is more basic style rooms.

I think they should probably simplify their marketing and this might lead to better reviews - for what is a very nice property, if you know what you are expecting.

There are also a few other improvements which would be cheap to make and would really deliver those 'extras':

- The rooms and bathrooms are lovely and 'feel' luxurious. Therefore bathrobes would be a nice bonus.
- The tea/coffee baskets felt a bit 'pubby' in an otherwise stunning room. Perhaps a tea caddy/mini hamper would be nicer.
- Coat hangers were all different types (e.g. plastic, some from shops, etc). They should buy some cheap wood ones and risk losing the odd one or two as it looked poor having them as they were.
- The in room guides were stuffed with information and perhaps could be better presented
- There was a bit of dust around the place and although clean it wasn't 'hotel' clean

Despite all this I think the hotel was excellent. Rooms were lovely, and good value.

Management should just clarify what they are - e.g. Luxury Guest House with Kitchenette. Holiday apartments doesn't correctly describe how nice the rooms are and they don't have hotel style services.

Don't hesitate to book. A great experience - and the comments here are constructive feedback.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JUDITHbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The accommodation is in a very good position for town. We originally booked in the Cavendish suite but my wife was concerned at the lack of a door on the ensuite bathroom. ( friends inform me this is very trendy these days!) It proved no problem to change to the Churchdale. This is pretty much as described. It's well equipped with a very large bed. It's possibly a bit stretched to describe the accommodation as luxury, but it really is fine for a couple of days.

I found it very quite and didn't hear any noise from other guests. It's a bit different so worth a try.

Room Tip: Beware Cavendish if you like a door on the bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seebee046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skegness
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Lovely building in a lovely central spot such a shame as it felt like a hostel very tired our luxury double room tatty and didn't feel clean half empty toiletries were left windows didn't open no robes or slippers as quoted on booking .com cold feel to the place no atmosphere no bar no service no management no breakfast included in the over pricing of room£140 felt a bit cheated will not return to bagshaw but will definitely return to the gorgeous bakewell

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seacroft38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
market harborough
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed in The Bear Gryls suite near to the Bagshaw Hall, (The Lodge) We met the women in the carpark and she was really friendly and nice. The room was really modern with a double shower in the ensuite and a little kitchen area. It was beautiful the bed is massive and really comfortable.
I really loved this room I would stay here again If I went back to Bakewell.
On the walk into the town centre you can pass a couple of Deli's had a sandwich at Divine Deli which was really fresh and tasty! On Sunday morning we went to Costa Coffee and had some toast as most places are closed til 10 /11am.
The shower is excellent great power, If I was extra picky I would say the door handle is loose and needs fixing and there are some rust colour stains on the ceiling over the shower BUT as i said extra picky. I loved it, Give it a go!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ogina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
0.1 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
3.3 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
11.9 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
162 reviews
10.6 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
3.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagshaw Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagshaw Hall

Property: Bagshaw Hall
Address: Bagshaw Hall Bagshaw Hill, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Bakewell Holiday Apartments, from Bagshaw Hall in a convenient location in Bakewell, we are able to offer a choice of luxury boutique style suites and apartments for both the leisure and business traveller, providing flexibility that a traditional hotel, or bed & breakfast accommodation do not offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bagshaw Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagshaw Hall Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bagshaw Hall Hotel Bakewell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing