We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful setting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lathkilldale Campsite
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Peaceful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2014

Just got back from 4 days at this beautiful site. It's quite a small site and basic, but we like that. We were met by the owners who were friendly and helpful. our pitch was no 3 which was flat,large and had a hedge around. ( was next to the road but did not keep us awake, as very little traffic in the evening.)
The toilets and showers were very clean and soap, paper towel and loo paper, all provided. plus large shower space with mirrors and plenty of hooks for towels etc. New toilet shower block under way for next year.
The local pub and tea rooms were very friendly and served delicious food.
lovely walks from the campsite.
Although the owners do not live on site, they are around every day and there is a lovely
lady who lives in a caravan on site, who is very helpful and chatty.
Only down side was the weather, but that didn't stop our enjoyment of this beautiful area.
Can't wait to return next year.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank annette532014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry405, Owner at Lathkilldale Campsite, responded to this review, 24 March 2015
Always pleased to get an honest review. We always try our best and will keep trying

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    30
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
66
45
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in August and when we arrived we had to call for someone to come and 'check us in'. The man was very nice and said we could set up anywhere although the campsite has a very convoluted set up so I'd say it's worth a good nose around before setting up. There are private pitches which are a good idea and a few open fields further up the hill. Ground is great for pitching, the views are great. We stayed up on the furthest field up the hill and therefore could not really hear any road noise but the downside was it was quite a hike to the toilet facilities. The toilets and showers are ok but fairly basic and are fairly much open to the elements so in colder weather may not be that fun. The owners aren't on site and so if you need them you have to phone, we had to ask a family next to us to be quiet as they were being very loud in the night, the quiet time is meant to be 10 but as far as I could tell this was ignored by most campers.
The local pub is within easy walking distance and serves great food and good beer.
The campsite is a little pricey but in general is very nice. We would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank smurggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry405, Manager at Lathkilldale Campsite, responded to this review, 24 March 2015
Thank you Smurggle

Try really hard to keep things quiet, it's a struggle when it's the kids holidays

Glad you had a good time anyway. Please come and stay when we are not so busy it lovely here.
Email me and I'll keep a lovely quiet pitch for you to enjoy
Best wishes
Garry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Very well organised site, with some private pitches. Toilets and showers clean and new shower block currently being built. Good location for walks and pub serving excellent food just a short walk away!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyL42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry405, Owner at Lathkilldale Campsite, responded to this review, 24 March 2015
Thank you

We always have things to improve and we really appreciate your honesty

Many thanks
From Lathkill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

we stayed for 9 nights 14th Aug to 21st Aug
As soon as we got there the place was just amazing, so clean and tidy. we was shown where to go by a very friendly member of staff (Sally) we was given lots of info about the local area and things to look out for and to do. The camp site its self was so clean and well maintained. The facilities was next to none they was very clean and up to date. We will deferentially be going again its been one of the best time we have had.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry405, Owner at Lathkilldale Campsite, responded to this review, 24 March 2015
So grateful to you for your kind review
Always hugely appreciated
Thank you
From all of us :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwerne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Had a wonderful 4 night stay here. We were in a small clearing which gave us privacy and the added bonus of a picnic bench! The facilities were always clean and showers wonderfully hot with lots of space to get dressed and hang up your clothes. We even stayed an extra night we loved it so much! It was very quiet, even on the weekend. The site is divided up into lots of pitches which gives people much more privacy than just an open field. The owners were really helpful and knowledgable about the area. Pub just a few minutes down the road and beautiful walks around the area. Stay here!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amboar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry405, Owner at Lathkilldale Campsite, responded to this review, 24 March 2015
Very much appreciated

Thank you very much
X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

First impressions ...... Rude and off hand manner from the owner and his wife...... He did eventually apologise for his rudeness.

Camp site lovely and facilities adequate and clean ........I believe there are more being built .....

Sadly the unpleasant interaction at the start of our stay has prompted me to write my first ever negative review on trip advisor ..........

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurenjohnson2013, Manager at Lathkilldale Campsite, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi Julie

really pleased you liked the campsite and that everything facility wise met your needs.

Sorry we didn't see eye to eye with regard to your booking - as we explained although we want everyone to have a brilliant relaxing time when they visit we do have to make sure everything has to be dealt with in a professional manner.

We tried to meet all your requests but obviously did not manage to to get to 100% We all tried as hard as we could.

Apologies from all of us - please let us know how we can make a better impression on you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from our third visit from this wonderful site.
Lathkill dale campsite offers communal field camping or secluded pitched for those who like a bit of privacy. The secluded pitches offer picnic tables and hook up for those little luxuries.
The facilities are clean and a new shower/toilet block is under construction to accommodate the campers.
Garry and Andrea are perfect hosts and are always around to answer questions or just have a friendly chat.
A short walk to the local pub should you require a pint or two after a day walking.
This campsite is perfect for families or couples and never seems busy even when it is full.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurenjohnson2013, Manager at Lathkilldale Campsite, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi Neil P

thank you for taking time to post a review on the campsite - really pleased you like what we have on our little campsite. Always a pleasure to have you stay.

Thank you again for being such low maintenance customers

xxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
4.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
7.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
5.4 mi away
Longnor Wood Holiday Park
1.9 mi away
Knotlow Farm B&B
Knotlow Farm B&B
#4 of 40 in Buxton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lathkilldale Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lathkilldale Campsite

Property: Lathkilldale Campsite
Address: Church Street | Monyash, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Bakewell
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small country campsite - great walking - good pub nearby - quiet with lovely views - sheltered pitches - Free hot water - EHU- Campervans - trailor tents - tents. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lathkilldale Campsite Bakewell, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing