We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ashford Arms
Nearby Hotels
US$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bagshaw Hall(Bakewell)
US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$286
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$381
US$328
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lathkil Hotel(Over Haddon)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
76
49
20
19
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
49
20
19
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteak nightstuffed troutcauliflower cheesederbyshire villagerestaurant was fully bookedpeppercorn saucecrisp linentea coffee biscuitswaiting on staffcountry pubsunday lunchhomemade chipsevery member of staffan evening mealon arrivalpuddingold building
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2012

After recently staying at this hotel for 2 nights, we have nothing but praise for this hotel. The staff were very courteous and polite, the food was outstanding and the premises was wonderful. we stayed in room 8 and found it to be very comfortable and very clean, After reading other reviews on this hotel I dont think they stayed at the same one as what we did!
The area in which this is located is both peaceful and idyllic. what more could you ask for?. This was excellent value for money and would definately recommend it to friends and anyone reading this. You wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilBev81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Excellant and friendly bar staff with good food. Pricing not cheap but the quality was good so that can never be a complaint. The bar resturant were traditional country pub with an open fireplace which creates atmospher by itself.
Had a look at the accomodation and not too impressed rather then country cottage cosy just a little tired. Its not a no to staying but there may be better to stay and have this pub as a visit instead.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We booked two nights b & b last weekend at £85 pn. We enjoyed the very good value for money pub food and received friendly and efficient service. However our room - the four poster left a great deal to be desired; tatty and tired, no decent mirror for makeup etc, very poor lighting, a filthy bath/shower and a TV worthy of a museum. This pub does huge business with the many visitors in this area (in spite of very high drinks prices) and obviously does not feel the need to provide decent accommodation. It does no begin to achieve its 4* Visit England rating and Mrs Polizzi would have a field day !!

Room Tip: Avoid this one
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Should have read more reviews before we booked. To start with we had to arrive before 3pm to check in or it had to be after 6pm. As we were walking a fair distance with our rucksacks on our backs we knew we needed to arrive before 3pm, which we did just in time but could have done without the pressure! We were given Room 6 which was small and smelt rather damp and stale. However we were grateful to rest and I was particularly looking forward to a nice hot shower after a walk into Bakewell. To my annoyance the shower was cold which was the last thing I needed. My husband had a shower an hour later and his was ok - typical! On the plus side the beer choice was good and fresh, served to caske ale standards and the breakfast was good, particularly the Full English. Not sure if we will visit again as it seemed overpriced for what you get.

Room Tip: Make sure you dont get room 6 assuming the other rooms are better
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We booked the Ashford Arms on a bit of a whim, having selected it at random on the internet. From the time we arrived, we knew we were on to a winner; the service was excellent throughout our stay (2 nights), and the food quality and quantity lived up to the many reviews we have read. Meals were beautifully cooked, reasonably priced, and served to a high standard. The beer was also very well-kept. We both ordered baguettes for lunch (later described by a member of staff as a "light bite") and were again impressed by the quality and size of the meal, which was enough to see us through a lengthy walk along the Monsal Trail. We were sorry to leave, and will definitely be making an early return! Thank you to everyone for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: We were in room 8, which is the furthest away from the bar/restaurant, and as such provided a very peaceful night's sleep.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews