We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Lunch”
Review of The Peacock

The Peacock
Ranked #11 of 89 Restaurants in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Peacocok is a 200 year old, and very typical English pub set in the Centre of Bakewell Town. We offer accommodation varying from lovely traditional type rooms in the old stables fully converted with en-suite bathrooms (showers only) inc full English breakfast if booked direct with the Peacock as opposed to third party web sites - Book direct with the Peacock to achieve a better deal. The Pub has a very varied menu that is all prepared and cooked on the premises by very skilled competant chefs with many fantastic specials.
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed overnight at the Peacock in Bakewell and had lunch in the bar, lovely food, well presented, the fish finger sandwich was a surprise, much bigger than expected but fabulous. The gammon stakes were to die.

Breakfast was excellent too, and I went to the butchers where they get the sausages from after wards to take some home.

Friendly and helpful staff! Will eat there again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, the man who makes the teas- two sugars please at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

That's all settled then then Bob T - see you up here the next time you are in Bakewell…

Thanks for the lovely review as you know what's good for You, and our butcher at New Close Farm, who also has a lovely shop in town, supply the Peacock with delicious sausages, along with the best hand cured ham in Derbyshire!

….plus many other choices - but the list would be too long!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,022 - 1,026 of 1,280 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

If you want a friendly place to eat and drink and you're in Bakewell - you won't find better than The Peacock (and we tried all of the pubs in town during our weekend stay!).
The food was so delicious that we ate there on both Friday and Saturday nights. The food was good, honest, tasty, well cooked, well presented pub grub - with some of the basics that you would expect on a pub menu but plenty of other not so basic choices too. I had the lamb shank one night and the shepherds pie the next. The shepherds pie was served in a generous dish, made with lovely lamb mince in a delicious gravy, topped with mash and melted, browned cheese! Absolutely delicious and perfect for someone who had spent the day outside enjoying the Bakewell Christmas weekend.
The house Italian red wine was a good easy drink (exactly what we wanted) and the ales were good too. (The Chatsworth Gold was divine). The pub itself was welcoming and cosy and all of the staff we spoke to were friendly and cheery.
Oh, nearly forgot to mention the fab juke box. I can certainly recommend this pub.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, the DJ with the hand on the controls, at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2016


….so Mandy B you had to try all the options in Town to finally get to the best….

Thankfully you did, and we delivered - as always I feel, and your post says it all in many ways, so we thank you for that.

Great meals complimented with great tunes on the Old Wurlitzer - now tell me what could be better when in Bakewell?

Have a lovely Christmas, and hopefully you won't get tired of hearing too many Christmas songs on the radio, but if you do, you know where you can find all the classics at your disposal - not forgetting great food!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We booked a table at 'The Peacock' for our weekend break evening meal. The staff were VERY friendly, there was a GREAT atmosphere and most of all absolutely BEAUTiFUL food, 3 out of the 4 of us had 'Fish & Chips' which were just amazing! Coming from the home fish & chips and 'Harry Ramsdens' we can surely say these were on par if not better! They were really nicely presented on individual wooden boards and the portin sizes would fill even the hungriest diner! We wish 'The Peacock' every success int he future.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank flower36Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, the man who does, and has smelt the roses, at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2016


Harry Ramsdens - eat your heart out eh!

Seriously, thank you for the lovely posts from you and all your family and friends who know a good 'un when they find one - ey flower….

We too wish you all every success in your flower shop up in Leeds and also it goes without saying to all of you….

Have a Happy Christmas and Great New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My daughter said that her Roast Beef was the best roast dinner she has ever had! She is only 11 but even so I have to agree, (and I'm a lot older than 11!). Everything was cooked to perfection and very tasty too. The service was good with helpful staff. The deserts were also delicious. We will definitely return to sample the food again. It is not cheap but you definitely get what you pay for here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, the man that wears it well, at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thanks for the nice post Helen - the roasts are exceptional at the Peacock....teach 'em young to appreciate good food and they eat well from there on in......

See you soon, as you seem to have a certain attraction to visiting Bakewell - and I can't fault that!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Nice clean tidy bar... food menu seemed a bit pricy compared to the Castle Inn which we had just eaten at. Nothing particularly anything to be critical about it... but not many positives.

1  Thank David_and_Bernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, the man behind the piano, at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

….what an absolute joke of a post from these two from Stockport - I suggest if you've nothing particularly to say keep your council, because from understanding this statement from you two, I wouldn't have thought you'd have too many positives either.

"Bit Pricey and not many positives" - what planet are you two on coming from Stockport - can't think of any positives there……

I also see from your condemnation of another pub in Bakewell, you didn't even know who Manchester United were even playing - sums you up to a tee really.

The Peacock in Bakewell is the most positive Pub you two will ever walk in to - end of, and I can't understand why I'm even writing this reply to two non descripts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Peacock also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Youlgreave, Bakewell
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Peacock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing