We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, lovely food”
Review of The Peacock Inn

The Peacock Inn
Ranked #18 of 88 Restaurants in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Peacocok is a 200 year old, and very typical English pub set in the Centre of Bakewell Town. We offer accommodation varying from lovely traditional type rooms in the old stables fully converted with en-suite bathrooms (showers only) inc full English breakfast if booked direct with the Peacock as opposed to third party web sites - Book direct with the Peacock to achieve a better deal. The Pub has a very varied menu that is all prepared and cooked on the premises by very skilled competant chefs with many fantastic specials.
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is a beautiful pub inside and out and the food is also exceptional. The food is excellent value for money for the quality and the amount you get.

We booked a table for four of us for after our visit to the farmers market. Good job too because Bakewell was really busy and so was the Peacock. All four meals were exceptional and we are real foodies so we appreciate good quality food. My husband and I both had the game pie and it was amazing. My friends had the lamb burger and Thai fish cakes respectively and were equally enthusiastic about their food.

I usually do a quick dash round the farmers market and go home but, after eating at The Peacock, I will be taking the time to eat there after in future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Superunknown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, just the boy who escorts you to your table at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Wow - lovely review superunknown, but we know who you are, and yes stop rushing around in Bakewell after the Farmers Market, as you know who has the wow factor in Bakewell when it comes to food, the rest are only impostors….

Thanks all the same, and again we'll see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,070 - 1,074 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed overnight at the Peacock in Bakewell and had lunch in the bar, lovely food, well presented, the fish finger sandwich was a surprise, much bigger than expected but fabulous. The gammon stakes were to die.

Breakfast was excellent too, and I went to the butchers where they get the sausages from after wards to take some home.

Friendly and helpful staff! Will eat there again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, the man who makes the teas- two sugars please at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

That's all settled then then Bob T - see you up here the next time you are in Bakewell…

Thanks for the lovely review as you know what's good for You, and our butcher at New Close Farm, who also has a lovely shop in town, supply the Peacock with delicious sausages, along with the best hand cured ham in Derbyshire!

….plus many other choices - but the list would be too long!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

If you want a friendly place to eat and drink and you're in Bakewell - you won't find better than The Peacock (and we tried all of the pubs in town during our weekend stay!).
The food was so delicious that we ate there on both Friday and Saturday nights. The food was good, honest, tasty, well cooked, well presented pub grub - with some of the basics that you would expect on a pub menu but plenty of other not so basic choices too. I had the lamb shank one night and the shepherds pie the next. The shepherds pie was served in a generous dish, made with lovely lamb mince in a delicious gravy, topped with mash and melted, browned cheese! Absolutely delicious and perfect for someone who had spent the day outside enjoying the Bakewell Christmas weekend.
The house Italian red wine was a good easy drink (exactly what we wanted) and the ales were good too. (The Chatsworth Gold was divine). The pub itself was welcoming and cosy and all of the staff we spoke to were friendly and cheery.
Oh, nearly forgot to mention the fab juke box. I can certainly recommend this pub.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, the DJ with the hand on the controls, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2016


….so Mandy B you had to try all the options in Town to finally get to the best….

Thankfully you did, and we delivered - as always I feel, and your post says it all in many ways, so we thank you for that.

Great meals complimented with great tunes on the Old Wurlitzer - now tell me what could be better when in Bakewell?

Have a lovely Christmas, and hopefully you won't get tired of hearing too many Christmas songs on the radio, but if you do, you know where you can find all the classics at your disposal - not forgetting great food!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We booked a table at 'The Peacock' for our weekend break evening meal. The staff were VERY friendly, there was a GREAT atmosphere and most of all absolutely BEAUTiFUL food, 3 out of the 4 of us had 'Fish & Chips' which were just amazing! Coming from the home fish & chips and 'Harry Ramsdens' we can surely say these were on par if not better! They were really nicely presented on individual wooden boards and the portin sizes would fill even the hungriest diner! We wish 'The Peacock' every success int he future.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank flower36Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, the man who does, and has smelt the roses, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2016


Harry Ramsdens - eat your heart out eh!

Seriously, thank you for the lovely posts from you and all your family and friends who know a good 'un when they find one - ey flower….

We too wish you all every success in your flower shop up in Leeds and also it goes without saying to all of you….

Have a Happy Christmas and Great New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My daughter said that her Roast Beef was the best roast dinner she has ever had! She is only 11 but even so I have to agree, (and I'm a lot older than 11!). Everything was cooked to perfection and very tasty too. The service was good with helpful staff. The deserts were also delicious. We will definitely return to sample the food again. It is not cheap but you definitely get what you pay for here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, the man that wears it well, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thanks for the nice post Helen - the roasts are exceptional at the Peacock....teach 'em young to appreciate good food and they eat well from there on in......

See you soon, as you seem to have a certain attraction to visiting Bakewell - and I can't fault that!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Peacock Inn also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Youlgreave, Bakewell
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Peacock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing