We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely cottage, lovely setting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Peak District Holiday Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, lovely setting”
Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed for four days in this well kept and well apportioned two bed cottage in easy reach of Bakewell and Buxton.
All you could wish for in accommodation. Comfortable bedding and furniture, Broadband, TV, dvd and dvds, woodburner etc. -eco friendly with underfloor heating via a ground source heat pump whcih keeps the living quarters at a nice temperature. The views are great from the windows and loads of good walks nearby. We will be back.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Beautiful location with wonderful views, so peaceful and relaxing. A great modern, very clean and well equipped house, with wifi which actually works and has a strong signal (we have stayed in other places that claim to have wifi but is useless as the signal is so weak) which was brilliant for us! The owners are very friendly and helpful. The log burner is another great asset to this property to warm you through after a day out walking. Perfectly located to see all the sights of the peaks, we will definitely be recommending this house to others and we will stay here again ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsiEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Great location, v rural and peaceful. Owners both very friendly and helpful. Cottage was very well equipped and nicely laid out. Had a great time and would go back. Well positioned for local walks,cycle rides and nearby village pubs.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jahgee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This is a super cottage, open plan with the master bedroom over the lounge area. Our family of 4 enjoyed our stay. It's clean and bright and the view from the front door is out of this world. It's a perfect location to get to all the Peak District activities (climbing, Chatsworth House, Bakewell pudding eating). Free wifi, nice TV. It's a great place to stay.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2012

A friend recommended these cottages to me and I hired both cottages for a break with 7 friends. We had a wonderful time and really felt we'd escaped into the country. Both cottages were warm, clean and welcoming with all the cutlery/crockery/bedding/games etc we needed. I would definitely recommend the cottages for those who want to explore to the peak district from a comfortable base. Both Buxton and Bakewell are within easy reach (we walked to Bakewell along the valley which was beautiful).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Arrived to find the cottage clean, warm and welcoming. Staple provisions were available to start off our stay. Bed linen although light was exceptionally warm (it was needed in the cold weather). Books and games available if you can't venture out. Really a little haven. Unfortunately, we all had problems with phone conectivity - but I suppose that added to the tranquility!

Room Tip: Brilliant location to be based for travel around the Peak District.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaWibbley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The Byre cottage was well kitted out and a good size with a wood burner which we really welcomed for added 'cosiness,' factor. Good location in the heart of the peak district and dog friendly too. Only drawback to the Byre cottage was not having own garden area - but the walks straight out the back easily made up for that.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthamptonCKos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
0.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
1.6 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#13 of 47 in Bakewell
410 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gardeners Cottage B&B
Gardeners Cottage B&B
#1 of 20 in Bakewell
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peak District Holiday Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak District Holiday Cottage

Property: Peak District Holiday Cottage
Address: Rockfield House, Flagg Lane | Flagg, Peak District National Park, Bakewell SK17 9QS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two, two-bedroomed holiday cottages appointed to a high standard with breathtaking views of the surrounding Peak District and with Freesat HD television & WiFi. Each cottage sleeps four in one double and one twin bedroom. Each cottage has been tastefully appointed in order to retain as much of the original character as possible whilst ensuring a warm cosy place in which to relax and unwind from the stresses of everyday life. Both cottages have a large lounge with log burner, exposed oak beams complimented by a bright decor. We also own and manage Jasmine Cottage in Winster and Cliffe Cottage in Castleton ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Peak District Holiday Cottage Bakewell, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing