We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the Peak!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Peak District Holiday Cottage
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is the second stay we have had here and have now decided we will have regular holidays in the Peak District especially now we have the perfect place to stay! Very well equiped cottage, beautiful views, spotless and the attention to detail is 1st class. Beds very comfortable, the underfloor heating is more than adequate and if you do want that extra heat the woodburner is there if you need it. The location means you are central to all the trails and should you feell you don't fancy cooking Buxton and Bakewell are a stone's throw away and there is restaurants there to cater for everyone's taste. If you are looking for somewhere to stay look no further than here as it is the perfect cottage, with the perfect hosts in the perfect location and at the right price which doesn't often happen!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak_Cottages, Owner at Peak District Holiday Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you for the "perfect" review. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Peak District Holiday Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

A pleasure to recommend The Byre Cottage to anyone who wants to stay in an outstanding landscape in a warm, clean, and welcoming cottage. Ideal for a relaxing holiday, with easy walks and country pubs to hand, or as a centre to explore the many places of interest within the area. The owners are relaxed and friendly, and we will certainly be returning and have already passed on the details to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak_Cottages, Owner at Peak District Holiday Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

We are really pleased that you have had a relaxing holiday with us. Thank you for passing our details on. It is always great to be recommended.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Cottage was located almost in the middle of nowhere, exactly as we wanted, with only a farm as a neighbour. Actually very convenient though with a short walk to Monyash and Flagg, and a short drive to Bakewell.

Cottage very well set up and despite the hottest week of the year, stayed cool thanks to the stone walls and windows.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatAndJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak_Cottages, Owner at Peak District Holiday Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Thank you for your great comments.

Thanks to thick stone walls and energy efficient windows the cottages do stay cool on hot days. With a ground source heating system, they also stay evenly warm and cosy throughout the winter months and on cooler days too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Our family of 4 and our dog Archie stayed in The Hayloft from 24th may to 28th may 2013 we all thoroughly enjoyed it our 5 year old didn't want to go home!! the views from the cottage were so lovely it was a blessing in disguise. The cottage was well equipped we thoroughly enjoyed having a tv with hdmi as we could link up to our laptop to watch movies in the day/evening. Easy access to all towns g Buxton, Bakewell, Matlock. We would Highly recommend to stay their and would come back again x

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chickschicklet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak_Cottages, Owner at Peak District Holiday Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We are really pleased that you all enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

This cottage is one of two situated next to the owners' farm house. It's right in the countryside but in good reach of Buxton, Bakewell, Chesterfield and Sheffield. The owners were friendly and welcoming and the cottage was in excellent condition with modern furnishings. A child gate, high chair and cot were provided.
It's pretty compact but big enough for a family of four. It's upside down, which means that there are good views from the lounge windows of the countryside.
Overall, a lovely stay and we'd be happy to go there again.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank SiAndElle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed in Byre cottage and it was excellent, clean and well equipped, with beautiful views of surrounding area. We really liked the layout of the cottage with the very well equipped kitchen and cosy living area. Wood burning stove was a real bonus. Nice and quiet and great location within a short drive from Bakewell and Buxton. Excellent base for many great walks within Derbyshire Dales. Would definitely recommend and we are already planning another stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanMac295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

What is not to like about this place? Great setting, cosy, well fitted and designed. We had a wonderful time. Underfloor heating meant we were toasty. Views from the bedroom upstairs were stunning.
Owners were friendly and helpful even when the power tripped off. The directions were perfect (they needed to be as you are that remote) and it was a great location for trips to Bakewell, Chatsworth, Ashbourne and Matlock Bath. If you like shops, you could even be at the Trafford Centre in not much more than an hour.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
0.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
10.2 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#15 of 44 in Bakewell
432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castle Inn Bakewell
Castle Inn Bakewell
#6 of 44 in Bakewell
391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bed and Breakfast One Castle Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peak District Holiday Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak District Holiday Cottage

Address: Rockfield House, Flagg Lane | Flagg, Peak District National Park, Bakewell SK17 9QS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Bakewell
Price Range: £47 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two, two-bedroomed holiday cottages appointed to a high standard with breathtaking views of the surrounding Peak District and with Freesat HD television & WiFi. Each cottage sleeps four in one double and one twin bedroom. Each cottage has been tastefully appointed in order to retain as much of the original character as possible whilst ensuring a warm cosy place in which to relax and unwind from the stresses of everyday life. Both cottages have a large lounge with log burner, exposed oak beams complimented by a bright decor. We also own and manage Jasmine Cottage in Winster and Cliffe Cottage in Castleton ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Peak District Holiday Cottage Bakewell, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing