We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location and superb cottage.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Peak District Holiday Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location and superb cottage.”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The Hayloft cottage is very well equipped with a high standard of cleanliness. The weather wasn't at it's best during our stay but the cottage is warm with plenty of wood supplied if you want a cosy fire.

Our dog was welcome and the beautiful heated stone floors means you don't have to worry about dirty carpets.

The cottage is perfectly situated between Buxton and Bakewell, giving you good road links whilst having the benefit of being in a quieter area.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJAGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak_Cottages, Owner at Peak District Holiday Cottage, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
We wish we could order great weather for all of our guests. That is not quite within our control, however, making sure that the cottage is warm and welcoming is! Thank you very much for the recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The Byre Cottage was ideal for our needs. It was fantastically located in the middle of nowhere with only the cows for neighbours, giving us the break away from it all that we so badly needed. Yet it is also conveniently only a 15 minute drive to Buston or to Bakewell which meant that we were able to pick up takeaways some nights when we didn't feel like cooking.

We stayed in the cottage with our three young children (twins aged 20 months and a 3 year old) and Marian and Martin were very accomodating to this, e.g. removing one of the single beds to create room for two cots and the equipment they provided (one cot, high chair, stair gate and toddler cutlery and plates) was all excellent.

My only advice to fellow holiday makers booking htis cottage would be to arrive in daylight hours. We arrived after dark and had some considerable difficulty finding it. With three hungry and tired toddlers in the back this was rather stressful, but totally our fault! In the day it is very obvious and easy to find.

All in all a great holiday. Many thanks to Martin and Marian!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak_Cottages, Owner at Peak District Holiday Cottage, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for the kind words - we are really glad that you have had a great few days away. We are very conscious that the country lanes can be extremely dark after the sun goes down, especially now that the nights are drawing in again. We will be acting on some thoughts we have had to help with the navigation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is the second stay we have had here and have now decided we will have regular holidays in the Peak District especially now we have the perfect place to stay! Very well equiped cottage, beautiful views, spotless and the attention to detail is 1st class. Beds very comfortable, the underfloor heating is more than adequate and if you do want that extra heat the woodburner is there if you need it. The location means you are central to all the trails and should you feell you don't fancy cooking Buxton and Bakewell are a stone's throw away and there is restaurants there to cater for everyone's taste. If you are looking for somewhere to stay look no further than here as it is the perfect cottage, with the perfect hosts in the perfect location and at the right price which doesn't often happen!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak_Cottages, Owner at Peak District Holiday Cottage, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for the "perfect" review. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

A pleasure to recommend The Byre Cottage to anyone who wants to stay in an outstanding landscape in a warm, clean, and welcoming cottage. Ideal for a relaxing holiday, with easy walks and country pubs to hand, or as a centre to explore the many places of interest within the area. The owners are relaxed and friendly, and we will certainly be returning and have already passed on the details to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak_Cottages, Owner at Peak District Holiday Cottage, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
We are really pleased that you have had a relaxing holiday with us. Thank you for passing our details on. It is always great to be recommended.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Cottage was located almost in the middle of nowhere, exactly as we wanted, with only a farm as a neighbour. Actually very convenient though with a short walk to Monyash and Flagg, and a short drive to Bakewell.

Cottage very well set up and despite the hottest week of the year, stayed cool thanks to the stone walls and windows.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatAndJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak_Cottages, Owner at Peak District Holiday Cottage, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Thank you for your great comments.

Thanks to thick stone walls and energy efficient windows the cottages do stay cool on hot days. With a ground source heating system, they also stay evenly warm and cosy throughout the winter months and on cooler days too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Our family of 4 and our dog Archie stayed in The Hayloft from 24th may to 28th may 2013 we all thoroughly enjoyed it our 5 year old didn't want to go home!! the views from the cottage were so lovely it was a blessing in disguise. The cottage was well equipped we thoroughly enjoyed having a tv with hdmi as we could link up to our laptop to watch movies in the day/evening. Easy access to all towns g Buxton, Bakewell, Matlock. We would Highly recommend to stay their and would come back again x

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chickschicklet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak_Cottages, Owner at Peak District Holiday Cottage, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are really pleased that you all enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2013

This cottage is one of two situated next to the owners' farm house. It's right in the countryside but in good reach of Buxton, Bakewell, Chesterfield and Sheffield. The owners were friendly and welcoming and the cottage was in excellent condition with modern furnishings. A child gate, high chair and cot were provided.
It's pretty compact but big enough for a family of four. It's upside down, which means that there are good views from the lounge windows of the countryside.
Overall, a lovely stay and we'd be happy to go there again.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SiAndElle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
0.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
1.6 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#15 of 44 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gardeners Cottage B&B
Gardeners Cottage B&B
#1 of 20 in Bakewell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peak District Holiday Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak District Holiday Cottage

Property: Peak District Holiday Cottage
Address: Rockfield House, Flagg Lane | Flagg, Peak District National Park, Bakewell SK17 9QS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two, two-bedroomed holiday cottages appointed to a high standard with breathtaking views of the surrounding Peak District and with Freesat HD television & WiFi. Each cottage sleeps four in one double and one twin bedroom. Each cottage has been tastefully appointed in order to retain as much of the original character as possible whilst ensuring a warm cosy place in which to relax and unwind from the stresses of everyday life. Both cottages have a large lounge with log burner, exposed oak beams complimented by a bright decor. We also own and manage Jasmine Cottage in Winster and Cliffe Cottage in Castleton ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Peak District Holiday Cottage Bakewell, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing