We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”

The Ashford Arms Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 86 Restaurants in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Beautiful area of Derbyshire. Excellent food at this place. Service could have been a bit more professional !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    135
    60
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hungry Fishermen”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Ashford Arms was recommended, we were advised to take a break from the fishing day have some food and return to the river at about eight in the evening! Pitching up at the Ashford Arms we were rather alarmed to find very table booked! We spoke nicely to a waitress who managed to find a table to fit our return to the water schedule. Ordering a pint, an Ashford Smokey and a Steak we waited! The food turned up piping hot, full of flavour an excellent meal. Well done to all at the Ashford Arms.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nymphfishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great steak!!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

went to this place on their wednesday night steak night and found the place buzzing. We managed to find a table and a nice waiter took our order within a few minutes of sitting down. we both ordered steak which arrived fresh and hot - everything was served fresh - no wilted veg in sight. the two young lads who brought the food were friendly if a little inexperienced but they soon got the hang of things.the steaks were perfectly cooked and delicious. we also had dessert which was very moorish,in fact all our plates went back clean.( I have to say the beer battered onion rings were divine!).Would not hesitate to go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenlitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingwood
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“too busy”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Only one of our group of six had a poor meal but we did have to wait over an hour for it to arrive. The service was bland, not a smile in sight, and a tad unfriendly. Everything seemed to be a little tired, and it is true to say that this was a Friday night and the place was packed. Could do better!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank wdwKingwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great steak night”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Ashford arms is set in the lovely village of Ashford on the water near bakewell. The staff are very friendly. We went on a Wednesday night which is steak night and the menu is very good including a 32oz steak for any one who can handle it!!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kempymalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ashford Arms Restaurant also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Youlgreave, Bakewell
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Ashford Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing