We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We came back again!”
Review of Ricci's

Ricci's
Ranked #3 of 86 Restaurants in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$14
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Ricci's Fine Italian foods is a sit-in CAFE and also a take-away. We strive to serve the best authentic Italian foods, at a fair price, in pleasant surroundings. We pride ourselves on freshness, cleanliness and a friendly atmosphere. Our Italian coffee is rated as the best by MANY customers.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“We came back again!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Today we visited Ricci's for lunch. We have been since my last review in 2012 having takeaway twice since.
We arrived just before 12pm and had originally intended to order takeaway and eat it outside as we expected it to be full inside. But to our surprise there were a few tables spare which is better for us as we had our 2 young girls with us.
This is one of those cafe's that you feel welcome to go with if you have children. You could come with a baby in a pram but it is only small and not always feasible to store the pram whist eating. Although they do have outdoor seating (which today was, understandably, full as it was a pleasant day).
We sat down and were given two books for our daughters to read. Our 6 year old loved those particularly as she was able to follow the words in the book herself.
We ordered a pot of tea for two, 2 juices, a 10" Bolognese pizza, Taglietelle Carbonara and a 7" Isobel pizza. All came within the time quoted on the menu, fresh and hot and the service was efficient and friendly.
We visit Bakewell a lot especially in the spring and summer and we will be back again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsBH46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesjsin, Owner at Ricci's, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi Mrs BH,
Sue & I were pleased to serve you again & make you and the girls welcome. We always try our best to get families in (although, yes - we are small), BUT we have ways of fitting pushchairs etc behind the door when the high chair is taken out to use, so we usually cope OK :-)
Thanks for this review, and you will always be welcome at our cafe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    62
    22
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tastes as good as pizza I've had in Italy”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My sister and I were on a shopping trip to Bakewell and every time we'd walked past Ricci's the smell was delicious! We decided we had to eat there and have to say we were not disappointed in the slightest. We both had pizzas which were the best ones I've had outside of Italy; none of those horrible greasy bases with hardly any cheese on them- Ricci's manage to be both beautiful and light but have generous helpings of fresh toppings! The service was friendly and efficient. The owners were clearly passionate about their food. I have asked them to open another restaurant where I live but until they do I will have to come back to Bakewell!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raelawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesjsin, Owner at Ricci's, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hi Rae,
We fondly remember you and your lovely sis - a RIGHT couple of jokers :-)
It was GREAT to have you in the cafe, and we're so pleased we lived up to the smell :-)
Now then - we'd LOVE to open up in your 'hood', but we're a one-off., but we look forward to seeing you again soon (LOADS of taste sensations you've yet to discover).
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Bakewell treat”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We were looking for a place to have lunch in Bakewell and found Riccis on Water street. We were very glad to do so as the menu, service and food was excellent. As we are food-intolerant we asked the staff if there were any gluten-free options and was very pleased to be informed that there were. The meal was piping hot and excellently cooked and we did not need anything else to eat that day as the helpings were so generous.
I would not hesitate to recommend this Cafe to anybody, we will certainly be re-visiting when we next go to Bakewell.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesjsin, Owner at Ricci's, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hi Colin, so SO happy to have been able to accommodate your needs. We had a vegan in last night, and just through us chatting, I realised we could feed her admirably, with a vegan sauce, vegan pasta, garlic bread, and ANY pizza she wanted, (minus the cheese).
At Ricci's, we do our damndest to make sure everyone who comes has a good experience.
Thanks you for taking the time to write this review :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Pizzas!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Popped into Ricci's on our way back from the World Snooker Championship ad onky 30 mind from Sheffield.
Had great pizzas cooked by Les the proprietor.
Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Slipperywhenvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesjsin, Owner at Ricci's, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hi 'Slippery',
Glad we were s'pot' on for you. You didn't have to 'cue', and glad it was a nice 'break' for you, and you had a 'ball'. :-)
Thanks very much for 'rest' of the review.
Les & Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“hmm delicious”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Hi, we went there during Easter break 2014 and we had one of the best croque-monsieur I have ever had. The next 2 pizzas we had were just what we needed after a few hours of walk, it was ideal. The meal tasted even better when you have such great hosts and friendly owners.
If you want to have a great meal and a lovely service, go there, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kasiabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesjsin, Owner at Ricci's, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Hi Kasiabel,
Glad you found the croque 'tres bien' :-) And thanks you for this review.
Please come and see us anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ricci's also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Youlgreave, Bakewell
 

Been to Ricci's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing