We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and tasty food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ricci's

Ricci's
Ranked #3 of 82 Restaurants in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$14
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Ricci's Fine Italian foods is a sit-in CAFE and also a take-away. We strive to serve the best authentic Italian foods, at a fair price, in pleasant surroundings. We pride ourselves on freshness, cleanliness and a friendly atmosphere. Our Italian coffee is rated as the best by MANY customers.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
329 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great value and tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We only had one night in Bakewell and stopped at Ricci's on the back of reading comments on TripAdvisor, and we're glad that we did - excellent food, friendly efficient service. BYO wine was a nice touch as we'd been wine shopping earlier in the day. Looking forward to our next trip to Bakewell!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dumpers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesjsin, Owner at Ricci's, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Sue & I are glad you stopped off too, 'Dumpers', and we look forward to seeing you again next time. Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    57
    21
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had takeaway Pizzas and they were delicious. Plenty of delicious filling and had a real Italian flavour. We have eaten in previously when we enjoyed pasta dishes. It is is very small and somewhat cramped inside, not sure if there are any loos. It is very clean and the owners are very friendly.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesjsin, Owner at Ricci's, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Aww Susan - cramped???? We prefer 'intimate' - 'cosy' - 'romantic' (and if YOU had to pay Bakewell rents, you'd fully understand why small is not only beautiful, but necessary) :-)
We're proud to be known as 'that little Italian cafe'.
Glad you enjoyed the food though, that's what it's ALL about, and thanks for this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Ricci's is a fabulous restaurant - if you are in the Bakewell area do make it your lunch/dinner choice. You will not be disappointed! The restaurant is tiny, but we were seated within 5 minutes of arriving. The owner came and explained the menu to us - there is plenty of choice but they are happy to amend anything as everything is cooked from fresh.

Service was speedy but not rushed - we had plenty of time to savour the delicious food. It is clear a lot of pride is taken into the preparation of the food - the standard is very high. We shared pesto swirls to start - amazing! Then a pizza each; we opted for the smaller 7 inch and it was plenty - piled high with toppings and super, super fresh. I particularly loved that they weren't stingy with the cheese like some pizza places. By this point we were both stuffed and very happy. Would loved to have tried a dessert but there is no way we could have managed it!

If we are ever back in the area we will definitely be back! Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cez_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesjsin, Owner at Ricci's, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi Cez,
WOW! What can I say - this review is EXACTLY what we aim for, and we are most grateful that you took the time to write it :-D
Thanks VERY much, we read this as we got confirmation from Trip Advisor of our THIRD certificate of excellence.
Once again, thank you SO much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“We came back again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Today we visited Ricci's for lunch. We have been since my last review in 2012 having takeaway twice since.
We arrived just before 12pm and had originally intended to order takeaway and eat it outside as we expected it to be full inside. But to our surprise there were a few tables spare which is better for us as we had our 2 young girls with us.
This is one of those cafe's that you feel welcome to go with if you have children. You could come with a baby in a pram but it is only small and not always feasible to store the pram whist eating. Although they do have outdoor seating (which today was, understandably, full as it was a pleasant day).
We sat down and were given two books for our daughters to read. Our 6 year old loved those particularly as she was able to follow the words in the book herself.
We ordered a pot of tea for two, 2 juices, a 10" Bolognese pizza, Taglietelle Carbonara and a 7" Isobel pizza. All came within the time quoted on the menu, fresh and hot and the service was efficient and friendly.
We visit Bakewell a lot especially in the spring and summer and we will be back again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsBH46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesjsin, Owner at Ricci's, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi Mrs BH,
Sue & I were pleased to serve you again & make you and the girls welcome. We always try our best to get families in (although, yes - we are small), BUT we have ways of fitting pushchairs etc behind the door when the high chair is taken out to use, so we usually cope OK :-)
Thanks for this review, and you will always be welcome at our cafe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tastes as good as pizza I've had in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

My sister and I were on a shopping trip to Bakewell and every time we'd walked past Ricci's the smell was delicious! We decided we had to eat there and have to say we were not disappointed in the slightest. We both had pizzas which were the best ones I've had outside of Italy; none of those horrible greasy bases with hardly any cheese on them- Ricci's manage to be both beautiful and light but have generous helpings of fresh toppings! The service was friendly and efficient. The owners were clearly passionate about their food. I have asked them to open another restaurant where I live but until they do I will have to come back to Bakewell!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raelawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesjsin, Owner at Ricci's, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hi Rae,
We fondly remember you and your lovely sis - a RIGHT couple of jokers :-)
It was GREAT to have you in the cafe, and we're so pleased we lived up to the smell :-)
Now then - we'd LOVE to open up in your 'hood', but we're a one-off., but we look forward to seeing you again soon (LOADS of taste sensations you've yet to discover).
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ricci's also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Youlgreave, Bakewell
 

Been to Ricci's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing