We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“should have known better”

H's wine Bar & Restaurant Cafe
Ranked #59 of 86 Restaurants in Bakewell
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Biddulph, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“should have known better”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Visited H's cafe on a busy Monday which is also market day. We had an hour before carpark ticket expired. Called in at lunchtime, cafe was quiet as was takeaway area so we should have known better. Pleasant waitress took our order for 2 baguettes and pot of tea. Came back 5 mins later to say one of fillings not available so chose another. When the food came there was no butter on the baguettes I asked if this was normal, she went to speak to chef, she told us trainee had forgot to put it on. No apology was offered or reduction. We wont be going back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    32
    21
    22
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Looks are deceiving ”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Well from the outside it just looks like another cafe!

All too often we have been in cafés in and round the Peak District and the cafés are jammed to the rafters with tables and chairs to get the most business out if the smallest restaurant areas. Not leaving much room to even get your coat off!

We went in and have been greeted with a happy staff who attended to us immediately. Not had a full meal here but the coffee'a and cakes were lllllloooovvvveeeellllyyyyyy. Great service in pleasant surroundings.

Worth a visit if you want room to relax and space to swing a cat (not literally)

Helpful?
Thank David M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We hired here for our engagement party back in october and everything was brilliant the food they did for us was great and good value for money. Helen the owner was lovely, welcoming and extremly helpful. We must return for a meal soon.

Helpful?
Thank rossev87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I have never had a bad meal.
I've been with by husband and others and we have always had excellent service and excellent food, cannot understand some people they expect something unreal from what I have witnessed.
Good food, good service, great evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amber J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cold coffee, pathetic response”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We visited on 29/12/13, and was told coffee machine is broken, and only filter coffee was available. We ordered two white filter coffee's. when they arrived they were that cold we could drink them straight away!!
Paid £4.30 (Unfortunately), I told the waitress, that the coffe was only luke warm and it might be a good idea to check it before serving any other customers from a thermos jug. I got a "so what" glance. Have emailed them but with no response, no surprise there!!
Take good advice, spend your hard earned cash at another cafe in Bakewell, as there are plenty to choose from.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astra515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed H's wine Bar & Restaurant Cafe also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to H's wine Bar & Restaurant Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing