We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Great views - perfect for group gatherings”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
xbackpack...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great views - perfect for group gatherings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

I stayed at Lees Farm over the May Bank holiday as part of a large group of friends. The property is very isolated, with beautiful views down the valley. There is a pub nearby although it is a very steep walk and might not be advisable in the dark! The house itself is well equipped with everything you need for a self catering holiday, (except for a barbecue which might come in handy).

The property is ideal for families with kids or big groups as it has a huge garden and is surrounded by fields and open space to play in. Contrary to earlier reviews, wifi has been installed at the property and you get a relatively good signal throughout the house.

The surrounding area is beautiful - we hired bikes from Bakewell to cycle the Monsal trail, went kayaking, go carting and of course there are lots of walks you can do from right outside the house itself.

Our cars did struggle getting up and down the track to the property, but unless you have a small sports car or low suspension vehicle then it's certainly not that bad. We even ordered an online supermarket delivery which found the house and delivered perfectly on time.

All in all I would definitely recommend this property for groups or big families!

5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 4 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abio
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stunning Views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Lees Farm for Easter, but arrived following heavy snow the previous week. The owner had been in touch with concerns that the farm track, 3/4mile, was impassable. He managed to organise for a snow plough, but the drive was still banked up with 5-8ft drifts. After a non-too-humourous couple of hours stuck on the track, we eventually reached the house. It is totally isolated, surrounded by beautiful rolling countryside and ideal for keen walkers. The house has been tastefully furnished and has modern, very well equipped, kitchen and bathrooms. The two main bedrooms have comfortable king size beds and offer dual aspect views accross the countryside. The groundfloor bedroom has comfortable bunk beds and a single bed, plus built in wardrobe, but has no drawers or shelving, so with three teenagers, this soon became very messy and hard to keep organised. This room, along with the third first floor room, only have a velux window. The third first floor room was very disapointing. It offers a single bed+trundle, that really is inadaquate for two adults. There is no room to move around the beds, meaning climbing over whoever is on the trundle, which is also most uncomfortable! I would say that this house only comfortably accomodates 8 people, including children. There is also only seating at the dining table for 8, meaning every meal was compromised.
There are some very creaky and unstable floorboards on the first floor, that would disturb even the heaviest sleeper, should anyone move around during the night.
Although the snow caused problems at the begining of our stay, the local fields provided excelent sledging opportunities, providing hopurs of fun for both the adults and children alike.
The farm track is very high in the middle and could easily damage your car. Do not even attempt to tackle it in a low-bodied car.
The house is well placed for several local attractions and close to main routes to Sheffield/Chesterfield.

4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
3 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 3 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Well equipped kitchen
Liked least: Trundle bed/room
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judey-Jud...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic, perfect for the dog”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013 for a stay in May 2012

We loved our stay here. The house is cosy and inviting with everything you could need. The provision of a dog crate and a baby gate was brilliant. Just what we needed after the dog got his paws walked off.
The house sits up a gravel type road, its not horrific but if you have a low car take it nice and slow.
Far away enough to be lovely and peaceful, close enough to have amenities within a short distance. Perfect. So much so we are returning in a few weeks. Jasper can't wait.
Only thing I would change is there is no wifi access. Phone signal is very patchy.

5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Lack of wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013 for a stay in December 2012

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 3 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leicester
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013 for a stay in November 2012

3 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Somerset.
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011 for a stay in June 2011

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
wilmslow cheshire
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010 for a stay in August 2010

5 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 4 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
3 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 3 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$131
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing