We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very unfriendly”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Everton Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #45 of 47 Bakewell B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very unfriendly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Breakfast was nice but rooms were small, shabby and need painting. The owners didn't seem to care. My wife and I were disappointed as it was a special birthday that we were celebrating We would not recommended this bed and breakfast to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim354598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

My daughter and I stayed for two nights. Trish was exceptionally helpful and welcoming. She gave us directions into town and recommended a wonderful Italian restaurant (we ate there both nights). We stayed in the blue room which was very spacious and clean. We had our own bathroom with a small sitting area between the bathroom and bedroom. The twin beds were comfortable with crisp white comforters. The full English breakfast was delicious.
Bakewell was one of our most favorite towns to visit during our 2-week stay in England. The B& B is just a short walk into town. The walk is filled with lovely views of the waterway with ducks and bridges. There is a full grocery store we passed during our walk into town which was extremely helpful to us. For those traveling with children, there is a large park right across the street. There is also ample parking in the back. I would definitely stay here again when visiting the Peak District.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnW_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

My Husband and I stayed here for a few days over the Easter period. The location is excellent as literally only a few minutes from town.
Trish and Gary were both very nice and helpful throughout our stay.
The actual B&B was just ok. It's in serious need of modernisation (especially new carpets). We stayed in the green room, which was very small and probably the most uncomfortable bed i have ever slept in. It's also not a full size double, which was difficult for me being heavily pregnant and having a tall Husband! The seperate bathroom was fine, but absolutely vile in decoration (brown carpets and tiles.... eek), and the shower wasn't particulary great. The whole of the house was just very shabby around the edges. The thing that i thought was wierd was the private rooms (in which the owners use) have key code locks! I've never seen that before and it made me wonder what type of people they expect to have through their doors. I'm sure a "private" sign would have done the job.
The breakfast was nice, but there was no fruit bowl or anything, which is always nice, and i imagine relatively cheap to arrange a few bananas and apples on the side.
If i were to return to Bakewell i probably wouldn't come back here. The main reason is the quality of sleep we had due to the bed. Saying that at £50 for the night it was very good value, and in reality probably only £10 or so more than a private room in a youth hostel.
I also think the whole generall shabiness and no real desire to make the place look nice/ comfortable was due to the fact that the B&B was up for sale, and perhaps they want a sale ASAP. It would be a great place with a lick of paint and new carpets - they would be able to charge more and i imagine it would look more attractive to buyers as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
164 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

What a little gem within walking distance of bakewell (2mins) trisha made the most scrumptious brekkie and her husband Gary is a great taxi driver if you should need one !!!!! my partner and I had the blue room which is very spacious and the twin beds were very comfy !!! My partner always takes his own pillow but he didn't even need it !!!! I would recommend this b and b to anyone who wants a warm welcome cuz that's what you get here and it feels like home from home xxxx thanx trisha for the great breakfasts the two nites we stayed xxxxx might see you nxt year xxxxxxxx

Room Tip: The blue room is the biggest of the three rooms but as twin beds !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bageyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Everton B&B the weekend of the Bakewell Carnival.

It is a really homely welcoming B&B. We stayed in the 'Green Room' which had a seperate bathroom but for our use only. It was quite nice to have a full size bathroom - would have been better if it had a lock and key to enable toiletries to be left in the bathroom.

The breakfast was great. Ample parking is available on site - Trish said we could leave our car all day on the day of departure.

We will definatetly be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

We were pointed in the direction of the Everton by the Tourist Information in Bakewell (very good). Trisha was able to help us out for 2 nights, and showed us to our room. The room was clean and tidy, with perhaps the smallest en-suite i've seem (shower was very good). Breakfast was very good - and they asked for options and a time the night before which meant there was no faffing around. Good quality bacon and sausage went down very well!
The Everton is well placed opposite the park - for easy walking distance into the town - and Trisha was able to point us in the direction of some decent eateries both nights. They also have a large off-road car-park.
The only real downsides was the proximity to the main road (it was a very hot night and we had to have the window open) - so it was quite noisy. Wouldn't be a problem in other rooms, and not something that can be helped.
Overall - good value, good location, good breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chepstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

Just returned form the "Everton" after a warm welcome from Trisha and Ella the cute little Westie we were allowed to leave our bags as we had arrived early. I must say we had a lovely stay in the green room, Which is not on suite but has private bathroom just across the landing (3 Feet away) Before we went Wife not happy with this as not sure how far from room but didn't cause a problem. ( Could be improved with a lock as we left our toiletries in) Room was clean and well maintained and If your not a big breakfast person this can be rectified by asking for a small breakfast, because if you don't you'll be embarrassed how much you leave. Food quality was good and location was great as only two mins from centre. Trisha was front of house whilst Gary was back of house we did comment that we didn't see much of him. ( Only joking Gary) If you require transport they have a mini bus which they will take you to places of interest, we didn't use it as we were there for the walking so I don't know the cost but nice to have if needed. All in All a pleasant couple of night's we had with a couple of lovely host's. "Thank You"

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoneFishing22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
1.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
1.1 mi away
Sleep Lodge
Sleep Lodge
#5 of 20 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gardeners Cottage B&B
Gardeners Cottage B&B
#1 of 20 in Bakewell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#14 of 47 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
1.0 mi away
Castle Inn Bakewell
Castle Inn Bakewell
#6 of 47 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everton Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everton Bed & Breakfast

Property: Everton Bed & Breakfast
Address: Everton Haddon Road, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Everton Bed & Breakfast Bakewell, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing