We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Garden Room

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Garden Room
Ranked #30 of 47 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

a spotless pretty place. we stayed a couple of nights and found everything we needed without having to ask for a thing.situated just minutes from bakewell even though I occasionly need a wheelchair it was everything we neededwould definitely go again tim and Judith offered every assistance.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christinequigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We spent 3 nights here and used this as a base to tour around the Peaks. A real bonus is the very pleasant short walk across the park and by the river to the town of Bakewell. Ideal for evening drinks and dinner with no driving! Well, what can I say about this lovely place? Run by Tim and Judith (a very nice couple) who are always ready to help and advise on where to go and what to see. When we arrived, Tim made us a pot of tea and produced some cake as well, which we had in the garden outside the room. Really welcome after a long drive!

Not only do you get a comfortable bed and a nice en suite, you also have your own dining/sitting room as well. Several people commented in the visitors book that it was "a home from home" and I guess that sums it up. And great value too by the way. The garden looked beautiful too, always pleasant to look out on while sitting out in the evenings. Breakfast was fabulous, with most things imaginable on the menu. Any combination, whatever you desire on the day.

We will definitely stay here again, looking forward to it already!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We recently spent 3 days here and it was a lovely place. We had a bedroom, bathroom with shower, and a small sitting room where we were served breakfast each morning. Lots of little extras and spotless accommodation overlooking the lovely garden. Highly recommended. Just 10 mins walk through the park to the town centre. Bakewell is very attractive with a river and lots of nice shops and eating places.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stayed here sometime ago,probably before May 2011,but not got around to writing a review until Now.Lovely Place,Converted single garage at the back of the main house.Has a bedroom,Shower room & eating area where Breakfast is brought to from a connecting door to the main House.Everything clean & tidy,Friendly & welcoming.have rung a couple tomes this last 12 months to try & go back,but always full as we can only arrange at short notice.safe Car parking & less than 10 minutes to walk into the centre of bakewell.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Apologies for the late review, but this is such lovely accomodation is well worth the stay.

The room has its own entrance, which opens up onto Tims beautiful tendered garden. We stayed in June and the garden was at its best.
The room is small, but Judith has excellent attention to detail. There was plenty of tea, coffee and other drinks available. The bed was comfy and the bedding was luxurios. The bathroom was lovely and clean. Judith had supplied tissues, cotten buds, air freshners, and other little things that you can often forget to put in your travel bag.

Off the bedroom, there is a sitting room, with T.V and own dining area. The breakfast was excellent, with a good choice of preserves.

Tim and Judith were very welcoming and helpful. We will definatley stay again

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

My wife and I stayed at the garden room for several nights. The accommodation was excellent. The breakfast was lovely and the optional evening meal was fabulous. We could not have been made more welcome. Value for money it could not be bettered. It is obviously very popular as on our return home we phoned and tried to book again for another visit to Bakewell. Unfortunately the date we wanted was already booked. Our loss was someone else's gain

The location is great as it is only a short stroll away, through the park to the centre of this delightful town.

I would highly recommend the garden room to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stagespotlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shrewsbury
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

We have just got back from our one night stay at The Garden Room in Bakewell, what a lovely B and B. We received a very warm welcome from Tim & Judith with a tray of fresh coffee for my husband, tea for me and homemade Victoria sponge. The room we had was a double which looked out onto the garden through a full length glass door. At first I was a bit worried that the room would be cold, but it was lovely and warm. We had the usual tea tray in the room, but there were lots of extra’s on the tray. Also I saw, spare blankets, hot water bottle and even a fan heater in the bedroom but we did not need any of those even though we woke up to two inches of snow outside. We also had a large modern shower room which was spotless and offered lots of little extra’s. But the best bit was that we also had a lounge/dining room to ourselves attached to our bedroom with TV, easy armchairs, footstool, coffee tables and a bookcase full of local walking & information books. They only have the one bedroom for B& B so you do not get disturbed at all. You just come & go as you please. It was lovely and clean and very homely. The breakfast was lovely, plentiful and well presented. Judith & Tim are so friendly and can’t do enough for you. It is about a 10 minute walk into the town centre. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arekuna17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
0.4 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
0.2 mi away
Woodside B&B
Woodside B&B
#17 of 47 in Bakewell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bed and Breakfast One Castle Street
0.2 mi away
Gardeners Cottage B&B
Gardeners Cottage B&B
#1 of 20 in Bakewell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avenue House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Room

Property: The Garden Room
Address: 1 Park Road, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garden Room 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Room Bed and Breakfast, Bakewell, Derbyshire in the heart of the Peak District, is a ground floor, luxury, self-contained private suite of rooms, comprising of a double bedroom, en-suite shower room and guests own private dining/lounge area. Your personal key to the private entrance ensures you are free to come and go as you please. The rooms have full central heating, two remote control Digital Freeview flat screen TV's (one in the bedroom and another in the lounge), Wi-Fi connection, hairdryer, radio alarm, tea/coffee making facilities and a shaver point. A very quiet, private location within easy walking distance of the centre of the important market town of Bakewell, in the heart of the Peak District National Park. The apartment overlooks a well-kept garden, to which guests have their own private entrance. The accommodation has been awarded the Cyclist and Walkers Awards and is therefore ideal for both walkers and cyclists who wish to explore the Monsal Trail route just a few minutes away. There is secure storage for bikes. You can enjoy hearty breakfasts, which include Derbyshire Oatcakes and locally sourced bacon or you can choose something lighter. We are pleased to cater for special dietary needs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Garden Room Bakewell, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing