We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food, good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Mistral - CLOSED

Le Mistral
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Level Contributor
125 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Lovely food, good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We visited Le Mistral for the first time this weekend and had a lovely evening.

The atmosphere sadly left a bit to be desired, it's hard to describe but it was very light and more cafeteria like than Bistro. However that can easily be overlooked when you're with good company and the food tastes as good as it did.

The starters and main we're both beautifully cooked and packed a lot of flavour. For £26 for 2 mains and a bottle of wine you can't go wrong.

I would definately go back there again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicci P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    84
    32
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peak District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Below Average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Embarrassing .....took friends and felt letdown by Le Mistral
All evening we were basically ignored by the waiting on staff and had to attract their attention EVERY time we wanted to order drinks or food, we gave up on trying to order dessert and more wine!!! The food was mostly edible but not great and the steak was unfortunately badly cooked and too tough to eat, .....Sorry guys, I wanted it to be good but it just wasn't. Very poor attention to detail and service made it not a good eating experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lady L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Substitute as Rajas was.. wont go back in a hurry”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Had steak and 'bouillabaisse.' Both terrible. 'bouillabaisse.' Consisted of 4 small mussles in a dry sauce with a piece of poorly filleted sea bass overcooked. The steak was only edible if you had a few hours to chew it.
Awful...

Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We booked Le Mistral at short notice, we were very impressed. The waitresses were all nice and friendly, the food was excellent, also very good value for money. would highly recommend, plenty of choice with good prices.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

This place is well worth searching out. From outside it looks quite a small place but once indoors it goes on for quite a while, a lovely atmosphere and very good food. Starters are HUGE, thankfully we shared three between the six of us, we all chose different mains and they were all excellent. Could not fault anything about the meal - and I'm usually super critical. They had an offer for a free bottle of house wine with so many main courses (can't remember if it was 2 or 3) which was a bonus. The price was very, very reasonable and service superb, top marks to the South African lady on Sunday evening.
Relatives had eaten in the Rutland Arms expecting a special experience but this place blew it out of the water. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nextmrsfisher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Mistral also viewed

Youlgreave, Bakewell
Youlgreave, Bakewell
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing