We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant - despite the weather”
Review of Hassop Hall Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hassop Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary and had a wonderful time. It is quite different from 'chain' hotels. No shiny reception desk with shiny staff as we entered the hotel. Instead we were greeted with homely, relaxing area with a fire. Reception was tucked away round the corner. We were greeted by friendly efficient staff who continued to be helpful throughout our stay. Our spacious room looked out over fields and hills, the decor was in keeping with the era of the house, with beautiful linens, goose down duvet and fluffy white robes (these were quite new unlike other hotels where robes are obviously well worn and showing signs of wear and tear). We received a newspaper in the morning even though we hadn't ordered one with a print out of the weather forecast attached (unfortunately for us it was a weekend of floods nationwide and the delivery of the forecast was not good news!). We spent one day doing a tour of the inside of Chatsworth House(bril) and braved the elements to walk in the rain on day 2(needed to walk off breakfast and make room for diner!). We ordered breakfast to be delivered to our room which worked well. It was lovely to relax, having breakfast in privacy, reading the paper and enjoying the view. The quality of breakfast was excellent, with sufficient to make us a packed lunch to take on our walk. I had expected a tray, but it came on a little table on wheels with starched linen napkins/cloths and shining silver plated cutlery and coffee flasks. Dinner was fantastic. The friendly, professional service perfect. The menu was the same both nights, but was so extensive I could have eaten there for a week happily. The Veloute of fish soup was so good I had it both nights. As we had no room for desert on the second night, they served us a cheese board (this was a portion for one person) to share in the bar later (see picture). I left a pair of earrings in the room and by the time I arrived home, there had been a message left to ask if they were mine, they were then posted out promptly with a nice accompanying letter. We got talking to an elderly gentleman who lives locally and eats there regularly. If you get the chance, say hello - you won't be disappointed - he is one of the most intelligent, interesting people we have ever had the pleasure to meet. You will know him if you see him - he looks how you would expect an eccentric professor to look (he is a professor) and will probably have a book with him - ask him how the book he is writing is coming along.

Room Tip: A few of the rooms hav a big bay window. It gives a good description of the rooms on the hotel web s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fordymacc51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

Our daughter had her wedding reception at Hassop Hall, following a church service. From the day we decided on this venue the wedding co-ordinator has been informative, helpful and calm. No detail was left out and all was carefully planned, according to our wishes. All the big decisions were carefully assessed and very small details covered.
Service on the day, from our arrival at 14 45 to our departure, was impeccable. Guests commented on the quality of the food, with small children's food cut up for them, and prompt attention to each table, topping up wine glasses and clearing plates. Staff were unobtrusive, pleasant and polite.
The transformation of the room for the dancing was efficient and the bar service effective. The evening buffet was plentiful and the room in which it was served had a pleasant ambience.
Rooms in the hotel are of a very high standard and breakfast the next morning was excellent, promptly served for all 12 overnight guests.
I cannot praise this venue highly enough and thoroughly recommend it if you want a dream day.

Room Tip: All rooms were taken by our party and were excellent. 14, 17 and 30 were the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mereha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We recently stayed for 3 nights.
The location and building are wonderful: an idyllic setting. The reception staff are very friendly and always do their utmost to help. Our room was well appointed, very comfortable, huge, and definitely had character. I've never had a fireplace in the bathroom before!
Unusually, the hotel prefer to serve breakfast in your room, ordering the night before. However, the menu offered is very limited. We preferred to have breakfast downstairs, and in the process discovered that the hotel were happy to provide a really good breakfast, with the items (eg fresh fruit, yoghurt, eggs other than scrambled) missing from the menu presented to you.
The dinner menu appears vast, and has today's date on it. However, when staying more than 1 night you quickly realise that it is actually a la carte even the vegetables served were the same in all 3 days if our stay.
The restaurant staff appear to be helpful, but they have clearly not been trained in many of the basics, eg not to walk around empty handed. Some of our meals were good, and portion sizes are large, but some items are disappointing, eg overcooked meat, very undercooked vegetables and potatoes still hard. For example, the duck was fine on 2 occasions, but tough on a third, and on the one occasion we had steak it was very tough, The choice of 2 or 4 courses also seems odd, while the prices are high for the standard of meals served. Also, I prefer just 3 courses, but this is apparently not an option.
The wine list was extensive, and reasonably priced, with carafes of house wine available.
The decorations are somewhat tired, and the hotel surprisingly lacks a comfortable residents' lounge.
Overall, compared with other country house hotels something is definitely lacking.
Nonetheless, because of the setting and the rooms, we enjoyed our stay, but will not be in a hurry to return

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have an excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed at Hassop Hall for the evening of 14tth Sept 2012, at a wedding of some friends of ours. We had never stayed here before, but were really looking forward to the hotel, wedding and stay and we wern't disapointed. The Wedding reception was in a special building across from the main hotel, which was equally elegant and built in the same character, with some 'quirky' rooms and stairs, but the dining room, was simply outstanding, like a picture from 'Pride and Prejudice's Assembly Room' it was beautiful and full of character. The food served was of the very highest quality, Chicken and Avocado salad, French Onion Soup, Lamb for main, Creme Brulee and as if we hadn't had enough Stilton and Chedder Cheese, all served with fine wines and quickly which is so difficult with 160 guests. It was simply the finest Wedding food we had ever had and unsurprisingly made the Wedding a very special event, just like the couple who got married, Charlotte and Steve. Our room in the main Hotel was Number 17 and was a larger or Superior Room costing a little picey £220 but was so big, with settees and chairs, a huge bathroom and all decorated in the 'Eyre & Pride and Prejudice Style' with a very comfortable four poster bed. Again simply superb, we just wish we had had longer to enjoy it. Finally a small hiccup was I had to work the next day, so needed an early breakfast, which we had missed the reception closing at 10.30pm, so asked a waitress called 'Katie' if she could help and of course as with all the service we received was sorted, no problem, Excellent. Then the breakfast came on the table, brought in and set up so we really felt like we were the Lord and Lady in Downton Abbey. We will be back for a 2 night midweek break in the near future, to more enjoy and explore the hotel, grounds and surrounding area, and we can't wait !! Possibly the best service we have ever had in the UK !!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank the_cadmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The weekday lunch was perfect.
On arrival the hotel was quiet and pre dinner drinks were taken in a beautifully wood panelled bar.
The meal took a while to order due to the extensive choice of wonderful dishes, a feast of possibilities.
When ready we were shown to a bay view table draped with crisp white linen.
Perfect service was provided throughout.
After the several courses we had coffee served on the terrace. No rush just excellent food and service in a wonderful setting.
And the cost? £25 per person. Really worth it. A place to return and enjoy whatever the season. Highly recmmended.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank besssie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed with friends in a walking party mid August.....7 people, 4 rooms.

Outstanding in every way, great staff, they made us so welcome and the food was to die for.

All my 7 people felt the same - this hotel is magnificent.

Highly recommended for walkers, wedding parties etc.

Room Tip: Viewed the ballroom/wedding facilities out of interest. If you are planning a wedding this facility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UK C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

The restaurant is disappointing. We went on a Saturday night and I understand it is better value during the week. The menu is prix fixe but there is a good choice with 18 starters and 18 main courses. I had the thai duck salad, which was unmemorable and my wife had the trio of cured salmon. which was very nice. For mains, I had the Derbyshire lamb, which was supposed to come pink but was well past that and my wife had the Chateaubriand, which was so tough it was inedible. To their credit, they replaced this with a fresh portion, which was good. However, the waiter should have known how tough it was though because it was carved to order!

The service was indescribably slow, for example, I had practically finished my main course by the time we managed to attract someone's attention to replace the Chateaubriand.

Basically, this is a very old-fashioned hotel style restaurant and we were left with a feeling of Fawlty Towers, only Manuel was missing to brighten things up.

The meal with pre-dinner drinks and wine cost about £140, which frankly isn't worth it and there are many better options in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Peter I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
2.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
395 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
4.6 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
705 reviews
8.7 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
14.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hassop Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hassop Hall Hotel

Address: Hassop, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Price Range: £98 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Hotel Hassop Hall
Hassop Hall Hotel Bakewell, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing