We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”
Review of Hassop Hall Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hassop Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Having been on a self catering holiday in Yorkshire, it was an utter treat to spend the last night of our holiday here on the way home. The staff could not have been more friendly and our bedroom was clean and sumptuous in glorious surroundings. We would thoroughly recommend staying here. We will return as would like to see both Haddon Hall and Hardwick Hall which appear not to open until midday on weekdays September!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabella_and_Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    63
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
108
230
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Hassop Hall excels at dinners for large groups celebrating special occasions. We had our wedding at the hotel and I have visited on a number of other occasions.

While there are more polished country house hotels, Hassop Hall has a charm and certain quality that is lacking in many establishments of this type. The setting is grand and impressive without being too formal and families with small children are made to feel welcome. The service is attentive and friendly, but not over familiar. This is a family run business and they have certain way of doing things which makes the hotel a special place to visit.

On every visit the food has always ranged from good to excellent. It makes a refreshing change to be able to have good roast dinner and traditional British dessert.

The bedrooms are quite varied and it is worth talking to the hotel about your requirements and expectations. Room 17 is a great choice for couples, huge and very traditional with an impressive four poster bed. The bathroom is a wonderful combination of old decor and new gadgets. Room 30 is a good option for families, because it has two double beds and a modern bathroom.

The charm of Hassop Hall makes it stand out from corporate competitors. Unlike the big chains, the hotel owners don’t suck money out of guests for every conceivable extra.

I strongly recommend anyone holding a wedding or other party to seriously consider this hotel. It is also worth considering if people want to stay in a countryside hotel that has charm and character. If nothing else anyone who lives within a reasonable distance ought to make a dinner or lunch booking.

I look forward to returning on many occasions in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Hassop Hall is the perfect country house hotel. It is beautifully situated overlooking rolling hills, and is minutes from both Chatsworth and Haddon Hall. We had a splendid room, spacious and extremely comfortable; it was wonderfully clean with a large bathroom (but no shower).
We ate in the hotel and the food was spectacularly good, with a huge choice and friendly and attentive staff.
The hotel is faultless: individual, characterful and welcoming.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have the best views, and light, but are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gianlorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

everything excellent, food and accommodation. nothing more to say. would recommend to anyone going tot he area. just a fantastic old building with loads of charector. just go for one night and experience the lovliness!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnLittle1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We chose Hassop Hall after the reviews on the site. We had room 27 which is at the rear of the hotel. The room was large and nicely decorated, the bathroom was next door, the whole room was spotless. This hotel is traditional in a good way, with excellent service and staff who are are attentive without being overpowering. If you have dinner at the hotel you are in for a treat, the food is of an excellent quality, but be warned the portions are generous you may need to pace yourself.
A lovely hotel, if I visit the area again I would stay here, perhaps opting for a room at the front of the hotel, purely for the view.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trewen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I cannot thank you enough for our wonderful three night stay at Hassop Hall. Words cannot describe how happy this place made us feel. It was the quirkiness of the hotel which did it. The house martin nests under the eaves... notes about bats and cluster flies. One minute the owner/manager was serving food, the next minute he was mowing the lawn. Sitting next to a field of mooing heifers... Chatting to the waitress about her career path... Above all the service, food and attention to detail was great. I will never forget our stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We attended a wedding at Hassop Hall..I can say it was the best wedding venue I have ever been to. The room..staff and food were exceptiona. But our bedroom (at £160 per night with out breakfast) was terrible..dirty, dead wood louse on the floor..filthly and worn matress..uncomfortable beds..we were left two tetley tea bags and three apples for some strange reson...there was so much bird mess we could not open the filthly dirty windows..what a let down..never againl

Room Tip: go to wedding do not stay ! check rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laneyDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
2.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
2.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
383 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
683 reviews
4.6 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
8.7 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hassop Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hassop Hall Hotel

Property: Hassop Hall Hotel
Address: Hassop, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Hotel Hassop Hall
Hassop Hall Hotel Bakewell, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing