We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Firm Retreat”
Review of Hassop Hall Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hassop Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

We visited here for a firm retreat that we booked after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor.

We were looked after superbly. The staff were attentive, friendly, and flexible. Service and food were excellent. Rooms were nice but the TVs didn't work. Still highly recommend.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank BillBrowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

when you enter Hassop you know you have entered a first rate establishment. The owner is always there to welcome guests and whilst generally we only visit to dine in the restaurant, we have stayed previously and the rooms really are luxury.
the food in the restaurant never changes and is faultless. We have dined here numerous times over the last 30 years and it is so nice to see the quality has always been maintained and especially nice to see it staying in a delightful family ownership. if you havent been, you must try it. you will not be disappointed!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank autopilot01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We have just celebrated out daughters wedding reception at Hassop hall hotel this weekend just gone & what a wonderful time we had! The hotel setting is just perfect within a fantastic location in Derbyshire! We found the staff exceptional, professional & very attentive. The food was wonderful...how they manage to achieve serving 112 guest with piping hot food almost all at the same time was brilliant! The Hotel itself we stopped for the night was cosy, warm & inviting!Where ever you went you would come across a lit fire that just added to the feel of the whole hotel. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough for staying to explore Derbyshire or to book a wedding reception. Thank you Hassop Hall Staff for giving us such a wonderful experience that we will never forget!!

Room Tip: All 13 rooms where taken up by my wedding guests & all said they loved their room so I recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We spent a night at Hassop Hall with a deal that included a 4 course meal bed and breakfast. The friendly attitude from all of the staff made an excellent start to our stay. We registered then went for a good walk to Baslow through to Chatsworth and back around to Hassop returning to a warm and comforting room to bath with loads of piping hot water in our very nice room. The evening meal was excellent with bottled water being replaced swiftly and efficiently. The food was of a very, very high standard and unlike some hotels, there was plenty on the plate! The selection of wines on offer was very good with unexpectedly reasonable prices. We had a very good Penfolds wine at a very good price. The choice of sweets at the end of the meal was wide with something for all, I was full and at first declined but when the trolly came out I succumbed! The breakfast was of an equally high standard with lots of healthy options and the obligatory cooked breakfast, this set me up for the day and I did not have lunch that day! The only glitch was in the bathroom in the morning when the taps would not work and the shower refused to go. I rang down and within in seconds a plumber was at the door. After a very short time he rang down and a key to the next room was brought to us to use the facilities there. A very slight inconvenience for which we received a large discount on our overnight price! (unasked for!) I would recommend this hotel as a very good base for the Peak district, for a special meal out or celebration as well as a wedding venue. I cannot praise the happy friendly staff enough. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the gardens is better than one with a view of the car park, but all are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank double07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We went to a formal dinner at Hassops Hall, and stayed overnight. We had a lovely stay: great food. ( both at the dinner and for breakfast the following morning) and a really characterful room. The description 'faded grandeur ' used by another reviewer fits the bill beautifully. The bed was huge and comfortable, the bathroom quirky, but functional and the main rooms were pretty and comfortable. Everywhere was clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The price for the night was far less than might be expected for a country house hotel. The only disappointment was that the weather was too wet and gloomy for us to explore the stunning scenery around the house. We hope to return in the summer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Obviously if you are rich this is your local eaterie. For the rest of us, this is a special treat. The hotel/restaurant is a delightful building in a lovely country location in Derbyshire. Stunning countryside although on this occasion we arrived in the dark! We went to celebrate a birthday so we were only visiting the restaurant, not the hotel. It was where hubby and I were married so a bit of a nostalgia trip. As befits a place of this standard, the service is very good. You are welcomed and looked after with quiet efficiency. The menu was excellent and we were hard to put to make our choices. The Chateaubriand was to die for. The duck and turkey went down well. The wine list was excellent. In fact everything was great except for one dish; the dover sole was not good and when it was pointed out to the waiter out no apology or redress was offered. It was the only negative point of the evening. Should have made a fuss but it was a birthday event and the guest did not want to spoil the mood. Shame the waiter did not offer to do something. The fish was pretty much uneaten.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank eileendover32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

A huge thank you to Helen and the rest of the Hassop team for our recent Weddng Breakfast. We , and our guests, were charmed by the Hassop experience - a very personal feel, gorgeous genuine faded country-house grandeur, superb food for every course and attentive service. Helen went to enormous trouble to accommodate our wishes, even allowing us to string family and friends photos around the sitting room. We spent a lot of money on flowers, which admittedly looked gorgeous, but actually the beauty of the Hassop table settings meant they were a lovely adjunct but not at all necessary. Dietary requirements were met with aplomb. We considered lots of lovely Derbyshire venues but are so happy that we chose Hassop, thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katechb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
2.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
2.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
403 reviews
4.6 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
14.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
2.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hassop Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hassop Hall Hotel

Address: Hassop, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Price Range: £98 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Hotel Hassop Hall
Hassop Hall Hotel Bakewell, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing