We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Unique”
Review of Hassop Hall Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hassop Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This hotel deserves 6 stars!! The staff are professional, welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The house is unique, very beautiful and homely. Our room was stunning with views over the formal gardens and a fabulous, huge bathroom, roll top bath with tv, walk through drench shower & fluffy robes.
The food is traditional and the menu is extensive, the chef deserves a special mention as every course of every meal we had was fantastic.
Our 2 dogs were made very welcome and there are lots of lovely walks near the hotel.
We had a small, intimate wedding ceremony in the Green Sitting room which was wonderful. Both Richard and Tom went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect for us and our guests.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this fabulous hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Quality... A truly warm and professional welcome, began our stay. Room 15 was beautiful, with several steps which require 'remembering' before partaking of an evening drink!

Choosing our menu prior to going into the dining room took some time; such a large, varied choice of all the courses. What an amazing feat to offer and then prepare such quality food.

The table was set perfectly and really set the scene for the outstanding meal.The service was just the right balance of professional linked with welcoming.
A tip. The dining room was really hot the evening we dined (February).Three of the four of us commented on it and two actually felt light headed. Advise layers of clothing to adjust to your level of comfort!

We slept well and the breakfast was brought on a table into the room and placed in the bay window, where the morning sun shone brightly onto us.

When we packed and left we vowed to return...maybe on a warm summer's evening when the dining room windows are open!

Room Tip: Room 15 is a bath with shower attachment. Amazing round window in the bathroom, but for a stand up s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank besssie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here one night while attending a wedding party in Eyam so didn't eat here in the evening. We splashed out on a superior room with four-poster (room 14) which cost us £230 + breakfast.
The room was huge with lovely views of the gardens and countryside, and a massive fireplace. The bathroom had been beautifully refurbished with a massive drench shower and a stand-alone bath, his and hers basins etc. The bed was very comfortable. Staying here really does feel like staying in someone's home more than a hotel. Yes that means that some of the furniture is a bit shabby, some of the service is a bit quirky but isn't that what is wonderful about a genuine country house rather than the bland consistency of a chain hotel? The places simply oozes character. I would definitely go back and next time take our Labrador as its wonderful dog-walking country and I'm sure she'd feel feel at home here. Be aware if you're staying here but partying elsewhere (or vice versa) that taxis in deepest darkest Derbyshire are hard to find!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraV_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Hassop Hall is a very special place. our favourite. Please do not let Alex Polizi get near it as someone suggested. The rooms are not your standard room its like staying in a stately home. With such attention to detail.
So many hotels are the same contemporary style, but not at Hassop Hall, We just love the furniture . the food is good English, Nothing is too much trouble for the wonderful staff. The gardens are superb. We have stayed in hotels all over the world Hassop Hall is still the best.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicelilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Yes, once again Hassop Hall proves it's still my favourite after all these years and hotels. It's not a spa. It's not impossibly grand with gilding on every surface. It is very comfortable with antiques and fresh flowers, excellent food and staff who really care. I brought my dog with me this time just for a challenge. He even got his own breakfast sausage! It's not the best time of year to come to Derbyshire but it's still beautiful. Give it a go!

Room Tip: Try and get a front or garden facing room for the enviable views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayerlingMignon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My husband booked a nights stay and evening dinner at Hassop Hall for my birthday. We haven't been for a few years, but I am pleased to say that the surroundings, room and service received was as wonderful as it ever was. When you visit Hassop It's one of those times where you want time to stand still, you are made to feel special, all round a truly fabulous experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed here overnight and would highly recommend the hotel and fabulous restaurant. The food at dinner and breakfast was excellent. The staff were friendly and very accommodating. 5 star accomodation, service and food- would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If it is for something special, or if you can get a seasonal deal the Superior rooms are excellent v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
2.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
2.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
421 reviews
8.7 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
14.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
2.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hassop Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hassop Hall Hotel

Address: Hassop, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Price Range: £94 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Hotel Hassop Hall
Hassop Hall Hotel Bakewell, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing